Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sandrine's Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Sandrine's

Nestled in the heart of Harvard Square is one of the warmest, most inviting French restaurants in the Greater Boston area. The restaurant prides itself on serving classic French Cuisine with an Alsatian influence. Sandrine's is an unpretentious Bistro with a national reputation for excellence. Shortly after the restaurant opened, Esquire magazine named it "one of the 25 best restaurants in the U.S.".
95 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(95 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
5 stars
(39)
4 stars
(34)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(44)
  • fit for foodies(37)
  • special occasion(37)
  • romantic(33)
  • great for lunch(14)
  • notable wine list(11)
Sandrine's Reviews List
Review 1 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2012
 2009
Dined on 3/15/2012
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/15/2012
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2013
 2011
Dined on 6/16/2013
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/16/2013
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Au Revoir, Sandrine's

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to Sandrine's for one last visit after learning unexpectedly that it is closing for good on Tuesday, March 31st, 2015. The place was packed, many seemed to be regulars coming in for one last plate of escargots or a steak-frites. We've loved this place and are very sad to see it go."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Haute Cuisine combined with rustic Alsatian fare

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have visited Sandrines time and again during the last 7 years, dining with professors from Cambridge or abroad, with politicians and with my wife, and have always enjoyed the refined atmosphere matched by really good - and even not so pricey - food, usually pared to good wine. I' ll return there at the next fitting occasion, and again afterwards."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

A sad disappointment

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sandrine's has been a favorite place for a special dining experience. The Alsacian menu was unique to the Boston area - a blend of two of my favorite cuisines, French and German. With service and ambiance that had been top shelf, we loved dining here.
That has all changed. Sandrine's is under going what seems to be an implosian of some sort - a recent article told me about the recent Chapter 11 filing, departure of Chef Ost and the imminent sale of the restaurant. But all these things didn't deter our most recent visit. Why should they affect the food? They have.
Two of the classic Alsacian dishes, Flammenkuchen and Choucroute are no longer available. Much of the menu was not much different from many other French restaurants therefore nothing that made it unique anymore. Even the beer menu was lacking the somewhat rare French brew or at least some good representative Belgians.
Positively, the escargot were delicious. But anything drenched in enough butter & garlic would be. The food we had was well prepared and presented (hence the 3 stars for food).
I suspect that this was my last visit to Sandrine's. Unless there is a significant turn around in its situation, it will be just another eatery in the crowded Cambridge market.
"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mostly good.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Duck was first-rate, saucing likewise; one of the large scallops was underdone and put that diner off her feed for the evening, almost. Other dishes and sides without fault. Pricing pays some attention to value, especially the wine; otoh, our poor server was clueless about wines in general and in particular, and having a real sommelier about is going to mean higher prices overall. (There must be a middle ground.) Not quite the experience we had anticipated, but close, and they surely have their rhythm down better by now."
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delish!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We liked a lot our meals and cocktails. The place is a little noisy and crowd, but a nice location, great food, and wonderful hearty service. Will go again :)"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A pleasant evening in Harvard Square

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Unlike many restaurants in Boston and particularly in Harvard Square we had enough space to enjoy our dinner without having those around us intrude. Service was excellent, helpful and attentive without being annoying. We were steered to the right wines and we enjoyed our salads and entrees, which were done and presented beautifully. We'll be back."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Overpriced for the experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I really wanted for this to be our go-to romantic French spot in the Square. But the prices of nearly everything here simply aren't warranted by the mostly so-so food and cramped tables. The pumpkin and butternut squash soup was superb, but our mains (gristly steak-frites and bland lobster provencal) disappointed. For this kind of cash the food has to be amazing and/or the atmosphere has to be delightful. But Sandrine's strikes out on both counts."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Valentine's Day

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went here with my fiancée for Valentine's Day, and had an absolutely lovely time. The atmosphere was romantic and beautiful, and the food was wonderful ― I especially liked the crème brûlée, and my fiancée said the escargot was the best she'd ever had. The service was also stellar (which was especially impressive because it was the night before a big snowstorm): when I mentioned to our waiter that I did not drink alcohol, he prepared us a special (and delicious) frosted glass drink just for the occasion."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Valentine's Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Valentine's Day was snowy and freezing cold but we made it to Sandrine's for dinner. It was lovely. The restaurant was about 70% full due to the weather and we had a lovely window seat. The menu was custom for the holiday and all of the items looked good. I had the beet salad and diver scallops and both were perfect. My husband had the lentil soup and roast chicken which he raved about. We shared a dense, warm chocolate cake with ice cream on top and it was fabulous. We will put this into our restaurant rotation. My only disappointment is that I was dreaming about Steak Fritte and it was not on the menu that evening. No problem. Next time."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

So sad

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Sandrines used to be incredibly romantic, a visual feast, with attentive service and a wonderful ambience... It is now reminiscent of a high school cafeteria wasteland, with the same prices, food OK, high prices.... No visual appeal, small cold granite tabletops, no reason to ever return, unless for a lunch because there were no tables at any other restaurant... So sad a loss to the Square."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Traditional French Excellence

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sandrine's offers traditional French cuisine and it knows exactly what it is doing. The wait staff is thoroughly professional and attentive. The French wines are outstanding. We chose a rich mushroom soup and a daily special lentil soup for appetizers, followed by the sea bass, perfectly prepared, and the roasted duck breast. There is nothing startling about this friendly, competent restaurant but there is much that is pleasurable. This is the perfect spot for a romantic dinner (young couple to our right) but also for an academic search committee eager to impress the candidate (behind us), or for a tasty, reliably punctual meal before going to the theater (us)."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant has been our favorite for lunch for years, but since new ownership took over last fall it has declined considerably. What once offered consistently great food, menu choices, service, and a european bistro atmosphere now is mundane on all counts. Fatty steak with (good) frites, oldies playing loudly in the background, tired looking menus--we're so disappointed with our last two visits that we probably won't be back."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Normally great, but not this time!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been to Sandrine's on a few occasions and normally it's great. This time they really fell down on the job. I was there with a friend for lunch. We had 1 PM reservations, and arrived on time. Our first course soup was good, and didn't take too long, but it was a full hour from when we sat down before we got our lunch entrees--a burger for me and a flatbread for my friend. When it did arrive it was not terribly hot. Our waiter never came over to tell us why we had to wait so long, forcing us to chase down the woman who was serving the table next to us to track down our meals. No one ever came back to the table, and we had to chase down other servers for extra ketchup, etc. Not sure what happened but it was close to 2:30 before we finally got out of there, and not by our choice. They said they were busy, but at the least someone could have apologized."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Perhaps because they weren't very busy on a cold winter Thursday, they generously allowed us to be 45 minutes late for our reservation. We were seated along a busy aisle but nevertheless service was very slow - only one soup was delivered and it took ages for the 2nd to be prepared, and the wine wasn't served until they were reminded. The food is very good, and that's really the point!"
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The lunch menu was much reduced since the last time I was here. I would have liked more choices.
What I had was delicious, though."
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quite good, very traditional

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had dinner there last Saturday night. The menu was quite traditional -- onion soup, escargot, duck breast -- which was what we were looking for. I wouldn't expect too many interesting surprises here, which is a shame. The place could probably benefit from a few more adventurous selections.
My husband thought everything was under-seasoned, and he might have been right. A few grains of salt did perk up my meal.
I was happy to see a fair selection of beers."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not meeting expectations.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I hadn't been to Sandrine's for sometime, and I am curious if a change of ownership has taken place during the last couple of years. Where I recall there was an open kitchen, it is now walled off.
The menu was less than exciting. Formerly, there were some wonderful Alsacation items on the menu.
It certainly doesn't qualify to be a destination restaurant, but one of convenience."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A pleasant splurge

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sandrine's is a favorite with a Franco-oeno-phile college roommate with whom I have lunched weekly in our mutual retirement. We normally choose a less elegant and pricey place, partly because of another classmate who couldn't get out of his house post-Juno, so we decided to treat ourselves. We made a reservation, got a table in the window, and were seated in some French and some English by the maitre-d'. Our waiter appeared, a man of grad student age, who recited the specials and other information in a French (Algerian? Libyan?) accent so thick as to be impenetrable even by my fluent friend, although I caught much of it. My friend had soup and an omelet; I chose a turkey sandwich; we drank a pedigreed Burgundy that was worth it. The waiter warmed up to us once we chose the wine, and became positively chatty in (unaccented) English once we liked it, and my friend shared his thoughts about other vintages &c. My taste of his butternut-pumpkin soup was superb; my sandwich was unexceptionable; my greens were lovely and delicately dressed. Despite a certain sense of tourist trap, I enjoyed our meal, the conversation, the wine and the ambience completely, and should I return to the care of the same waiter, I shall solicit his opinion of the specials in French."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

SAVE THIS PLACE!!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sandrine's is a classic Harvard Square restaurant providing a charming, quiet refuge with excellent food and service. The neighborhood does not need another loud, sports bar catering to students with fake IDs. Keep the character, quality and atmosphere the neighborhood has depended on for years."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A lovely, delicious evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We loved our dinner- delicious meals artfully presented. The ambiance is delightful- it has a lovely European feel- hard to believe that you are just a few steps from Harvard Square. The service was perfect- attentive, not pushy, and paced to what we wanted. We had the rack of lamb and the steak frites- both were prepared to perfection and followed the beet salad and onion soup. Finished our meal with the cheese plate. A great trip to France, without the 6 hour flight!!
Our reservation was are on Open Table and included a special request which was honored- we arrived on time and were seated immediately. It couldn't have been a nicer evening."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ambiance.Check. Food.Check. Waitstaff. Check plus

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sandrines is pricy (our meals and drinks came to about $200 for a party of 3). I expected the food to be good, it was - not mouthwateringly 'I-have-to-come-back-soon' good, but good enough to meet my expectations. I expected a nice ambiance, it was. The waitstaff impressed me most of all, mostly because they were quietly respectful of our business conversations. There were several times when they unobtrusively removed plates, refilled water glasses, etc. without interrupting our conversations. By the end of the evening, I realized that all 4 of the waitstaff present had served us in one form or another, all with a grace and positive professionalism that is far above the norm.
So, would I choose to go back for a romantic or business dinner again? For the food, maybe. For the ambiance, maybe. For the service, yes."
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Years Perfection

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Every aspect of the new year menu, ambience, drinks, wine and service was perfect"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Christmas Eve with grown kids.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was as lovely as ever. Sensed the waitstaff a bit hassled but not sure why. The sequencing and pace was not up to the usual. Given it was the holiday, but also given the place was not totally full, I was just a little disappointed in service. Staff was gracious enough, but not on top game.
Will definiltey go back again for sure.
"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not as good as I remembered...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I used to go to this restaurant about 15 years ago when I lived in Cambridge (when the place was much smaller), and liked it a lot. I no longer live in the area, but this past week I chose it as the place for a Christmas eve dinner with my son, who I was picking up at the airport, and my girlfriend. It's quite expensive (even more than I remembered: $300/3), but I was willing and able. As it turned out, the service and ambiance were still first-rate, but unfortunately, the food was not. I will not be returning."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Favorite Cambride/Boston restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Always delivers; never disappoints. Despite current cashflow problems, service and food continue at high standard. One hopes that a new buyer will keep the current enterprise going along these same lines."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sandrines a bit too quiet on Sunday evening

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Perhaps due to the upcoming holiday. Entrees were good."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Really thoughtful staff

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had lunch to celebrated my engagement with my fiance and her family. The food was fantastic and service was great. At the end, our waiter came and offered us champagne because he saw that we were celebrating. Such an amazing way to end the lunch. Definitely made a special day even more memorable!"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Gone Downhill.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was an interesting Alsatian restaurant. The food was excellent and the slant on French cooking was worth pursuing. Now the needle is shifted toward the bar business and standard French fare. We are all the poorer for this. Perhaps inspiration will strike, or sanity will reasserty itself. We hope."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sunday After 'Lessons and Carols'

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Maybe Sunday is not the best time for a dinner at a restaurant in Harvard Square. The dining room staff consisted of two waiters and a bar attendant. In spite of some rushed service --the two waiters didn't have time to spare-- the food was good, the drinks tasteful and the wine well priced. However, this review is from a long term patron of the restaurant who is inclined to like the place. Perhaps it was Sunday but the menu seemed limited and, as mentioned, the wait-staff were working hard. Of course I will go back; I always have."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Our second visit

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was our second visit. The first was fine and we made a note to ourself to return. This time, we were disappointed in the food. The chicken was ordinary, our guests scallop meal looked miniscule, the escargot uninspiring. The chocolate cake desert was outstanding however. The after dinner coffee was cool so we just sent it back and passed since didn't want to wait for another pot. Not sure we will return although location very convenient for Harvard Square events."
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

tls

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Prices too high! But best scallops I have ever eaten. However my husband's steak was subpar. Poor cut of sirloin and smothered with some unidentifiable sauce.
Prices way too high for the quality of food. We live in Providence, RI where you can eat better food for much less on any night of the week.
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Sandrine's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great Food! Highly recommend! The duck, escargot and linguini were excellent."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sandrine's
Based on the average of (61) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
46 out of 53 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic