Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sushi Taiyo Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Sushi Taiyo Restaurant

Sushi Taiyo features a full sushi bar in our comfortable modern dining room as well as a full menu of Asian appetizers and entrees. This is all complimented by a wide ranged of sake and cocktails.
28 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(28 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • good for groups(4)
  • great for lunch(3)
  • late-night find(2)
  • special occasion(2)
Sushi Taiyo Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2014
 2008
Dined on 7/11/2014
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sushi... Near Mag mile

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This palace was good. With good sushi. My biggest issue was slow service."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was very attentive. We received our food very quickly, which was great because we ordered rolls two at a time. There wasn't really any waiting around, which was great for me. The rolls were very unique and tasty. I would highly recommend Sushi Taiyo."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

went for valentine's day

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went for valentine's day and this place was perfect. Not overly crowded and I could easily hear the person next to me. Our waitress was quite amazing she got our order spot on correct and didn't even have to write anything down. Fresh fish and everything tasted delicious. I will definitely be coming back"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Bad, very Bad.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very bad! We waited 10 minutes to order, 10 minutes to serve, and 5minutes for the check. The servers are not very friendly, and they said we cant use the offer entire 10% off when we have lunch here... Will never come back again..."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

overrated

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had half frozen half warm edamame for an appetizer, and the sushi was nothing but mediocre. Service took over an hour and waited for check longer than 20 minutes and the facility was not busy that Saturday night. I do not recommend to people in Chicago wanting a sushi dining experience."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the best sushi spots in Chicago

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Made a last minute call to eat here before my holiday party. Was pleasantly surprised. Sushi was really good quality, generous portions and beautifully displayed. Also enjoyed some wine and a delicious seaweed salad."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Reliably great

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've been going to Sushi Taiyo for years and it's always fantastic. Never extremely busy, the service is fantastic and the sushi is fresh and fantastic. It's slightly more expensive than some of the all you can eat places up North, but I would trade that for a reservation and ambiance. I've only had the sushi/sashimi, so I can't speak for the other huge menu, but I would imagine it's just as good."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good sushi, bad service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"First point of confusion - the door. The entrance is technically to a different restaurant (Top Wok), but apparently they're housed under the same roof. Our waitress eventually came around, took our orders, and miso soup came out promptly. The 3 rolls, however, took at least 20 extra minutes (after the soup), on a Wednesday night. After we ate, the check also took quite a long time to arrive. Service aside, the menu features a variety of signature rolls at average prices."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
Based on the average of (18) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
7 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic