Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort Reviews List

Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort

The stylish southwestern Palo Verde restaurant at the Boulders Resort is a popular stop that isn’t just for resort guests, but for local residents and visitors alike. Comfortably casual with warm décor in colors inspired by the desert setting and breathtaking views of the resort’s 6th fairway, the legendary south golf course, with scenic duck pond and dramatic rock landscape.
See more Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort details
50 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(50 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
(20)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(21)
  • scenic view(21)
  • special occasion(19)
  • romantic(15)
  • great for brunch(11)
  • fit for foodies(10)
Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort Reviews List
Review 1 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

We expected more

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We felt the menu was very limited, although the food was good. The wine list was what you would expect at a chain restaurant--very disappointing for a resort. Although our wait person was attentive, we felt rushed."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/10/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great experience close to home

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our first time dining at Palo Verde Restaurant and we will definitely return. The warm crispy rolls and butter that arrived first were so good, we had another basket. The Appetizers ( crab cake and red chili shrimp) were wonderful. My husband had the Scallops which he really liked and I had the Flank Steak. My portion was so big, that I took half home. Enough for Lunch the next day. The service was attentive and the manager welcoming."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Small menu, but quality food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great restaurant in Boulders Resort. Dining room appears to be a bit dated, but sitting outside was great. Nice view of boulders and golf course. The menu is not very big, but the food was excellent. The kale salad was one of the best I've had. Entrees were moderately portioned, but very good."
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Palo Verde at the Boulders

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had dinner last weekend at Palo Verde. The view is quite beautiful, sitting on the patio. The service is excellent. I did have to send my filet back as it was overcooked, but they brought another one that was perfectly medium-rare and delicious. It was accompanied by foraged mushrooms and fingerling potatoes in their special Palo Verde sauce. I enjoyed the sparkling wine, Chandon Brut, which is from the area I live in. The crab cake was full of lump crab, and almost no "cake". The chipotle sauce on it was very good."
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2004
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very pleasant evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was very good with ample servings.Wait staff very pleasant and timely"
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

so happy we chose Palo Verde

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were delightfully surprised at this great restaurant tucked back off the noise and chaos of Phoenix. My husband surprised me with dinner there for our anniversary. We were highly satisfied with all aspects of our visit from the moment we walked out of our car until we were assisted back into it by the valet. Great food excellent service and a wonderful peaceful atmosphere. Not to mention the breathtaking views. My thanks to the waiter and the lovely manager that ensured we had an excellent night. Can't wait to return."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Palo Verde - Southwest Breakfast Old School

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Palo Verde Restaurant is in the Boulders Resort in Carefree, Arizona. It is one of the main dining rooms. I went there for breakfast with 4 colleagues while they were staying there for a business function. Make no mistake, the food is good. But I think it's a bit "Southwestern Dated". It may be because I live in the area but the menu reads like any one of a 100 menus from 80's. Visitors will probably be happy, locals may think it's a throw-back.
I had the Pork Green Chile Breakfast Enchiladas special which was tasty. The others were satisfied with the Breakfast Burrito, Sonoran Eggs Benedict and Huevos Rancheros. Sides of Fruit, Pastries , Bacon and Sausage were good too. The service was attentive and nice. Price points were a little high but for a resort environment, fairly reasonable I think. All-in-all, an OK experience for me and a good one for my guests."
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Southwestern Charm

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have dined at Palo Verde twice in the past two weeks and must say the food was great! While the menu is small most noteworthy are the crab cakes that are loaded with crab and not filler. Meats cooked perfectly to order, delicious Ranchers salad and warm crusty bread. Service was swift and attentive. Its a lovely restaurant in a high end resort which I wish they would enforce some basic dress code. While I know most travelers do not want to get dressed up, cargo shorts and flip flops are unacceptable."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My new neighborhood favorite.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We live in (far) North Scottsdale and are always looking for good neighborhood dining choices. We frequented the restaurants at The Boulders Resort in years past but moved on. We're back! We've dined at Palo Verde and The Grill several times and on each visit, every member of our parties expressed satisfaction with the food, service, beverages and ambience. The e manager at Palo Verde is very attentive and assures a great time is had by all. And it's only five miles from home which is a real benefit."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2006
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant needs a huge renovation, as well as the staff. Even though we were one of three tables in the entire restaurant (on a Saturday), the service was not good...!!!"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Below expectations

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"For a Waldorf Astoria resort, we had greater expectations of dinner here. The restaurant is well appointed, service was very good, nice ambiance, but food was just in the 'fair' category. I had the bison short rib which was a bit tough and chewy, and not as flavorful as I would have expected. Overall a disappointing meal."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food was very disappointing.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"All our food was very disappointing. French Fries and Sweet Potato Fries looked like they had been cooked the day before. Food was highly overpriced for what we got, desert were very poor and highly overpriced. We were sorry about the food. Service was good."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bottomless?

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"There for Christmas Brunch. Entrance, valet, and host staff were right on their game. Wheels fell off the service cart in the dining room.
We ordered the "bottomless" mimosas. They must have been bottomless because they were always empty. Server would walk by the table, look at the empty glass, and keep walking.
When we got the bill they had one of the entres wrong. We pointed it out and were told my wife ordered a new item on the menu and they did not know how to enter that in the computer, so they charged us for something similar.
Palo Verde has the potential to be a great place. Much of the hard work has been done well. But they need some serious training in the dining room. If they can get this fixed it could be a world class resort."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was outstanding as well as the service provided by Sarah."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

First visit

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Nice arrival and easy valet parking- Poor food - Chef unable to manage a pepper sauce for my wife's fillet steak. Steak undercooked and poor presentation. Will NOT re-visit nor recommend."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Saturday morning, late breakfast, out on the patio, great buffet breakfast, beautiful sunshine..."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Palo Verde at The Boulders Resort
Based on the average of (18) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
15 out of 17 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic