Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Wild Grape Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Wild Grape Bistro

You may know local restaurateur, Troy Greenhawt from Flemings Prime Steakhouse or Ruby River Steakhouse. Troy & Jessica Greenhawt have created the Wild Grape, New West Bistro, with a vision and a conscience. Wild Grape Bistro is an award winning restaurant Wining Utah’s Best Chef Cook-off 2009 and receiving awards from Salt Lake Magazine as Best New Discovery, Utah Business Magazine as Best Kept Secret, written about in Sunset Magazine and numerous smaller publications. This is a great achievement from such a young restaurant. Envision traditional made-from-scratch cooking from an old west cafe brought up to date by a modern and creative chef. Envision the extensive use of fresh, sustainable, locally produced often organic, products. Envision the smells and tastes emanating from an authentic wood-fired grill and smoker. Envision an extensive wine list featuring amazing bottles from some of the West’s small and creative winemakers.
57 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(57 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
(24)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(34)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • great for brunch(16)
  • great for lunch(11)
  • great for outdoor dining(11)
  • romantic(11)
Wild Grape Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2013
 2014
Dined on 8/18/2013
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2013
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2014
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2014
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was great. Loved the buffalo burger and truffle fries"
Dined on 11/07/2014
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Once Great, Now Disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend and I made reservations and went her for my birthday brunch. We were seated promptly and then we waited....Finally a young lady asked if we had been helped and we told her no. She then said she would find our server. We waited again. Finally she came back and apologized and said she would just take our table. She took our drink orders and came back some time later with them. She then took our food order and said she would comp our donut holes for the wait. Our food came out about 45 minutes after we ordered. Our waters weren't refilled and we we never asked if we wanted more drinks in that time. The manager came out at the apologize and said that they were trying to get things back on track for the restaurant. He also said he was sending out drinks for us...which never came.
I used to love the Wild Grape. I would come her all the time for breakfast, brunch, and dinner. I am so sad that this establishment has gone by the wayside.
"
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food made visit worth it

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is usually great here and proved to be consistent. The staff was an interesting bunch. Greeted and sat promptly. Server seemed to be trying his best, but was hesitant and unsure of himself at times. Another employee cleaning tables nearby was a very unique individual, and didn't seem to be very cognizant of her surroundings. She seemed fairly careless about the patrons nearby and lacked the professionalism that I would expect at an establishment such as this one."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

slow... but overall good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I loved the atmosphere - and the food was great... When it came out. Our server was kind and considerate, but couldn't overcome the wait - something like an hour and a half+ for our food (45 min to apps, 20 to drinks). It was fine because we were a group of five and highly entertained with conversation.
I highly recommend the salads, flatbreads, and burgers.
I don't recommend the Sgt. Pepper (which is a pint glass of sour and whole peppercorns with a shot of whiskey, called a whiskey sour on the menu with no clues as to it's actual size), I also can't recommend the mussels (surprising, I know, don't have the mussels at a restaurant in a landlocked state), or dining here when you're in any kind of hurry."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, bad service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2008
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had reservations and we were seated right away. Once seated, we waited 15 minutes before anyone came to our table. After he took our order, it took another 15 minutes to get our drinks. When he finally came with the drinks, he brought mine but forgot my husbands beer. We got the cheese plate which was AMAZING then I got the Salmon which was ok and my husband got the burger which he was obsessed with."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've had better dinners at the Wild grape Bistro. The waiter was new/ok-the meal was ok,
the appetizer was served after the soup. It was a ho-hum experience.
"
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food but slow service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Made a reservation on Valentine's Day, and when we arrived we were promptly seated...at a terrible high top table, next to the door. When we inquired about a different table we were told all the vacant tables were reserved for future reservations (which did not arrive until close to the time we left). We waited nearly 15 minutes just to be served water, and when we were served water we did not know the girl pouring our water was our waitress. She stood there and then said, "Do you know what you want?" This girl is in the wrong business, she needs some training on how to approach and talk to other people.
We placed our order and proceeded to wait a half hour more. Yes it was Valentine's Day, but the place was not that busy to be as slow as they were.
Finally the order came and we were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. I had read several negative reviews on Yelp that made me question going here And after the slow service and lack of personality waitress I was starting to believe those reviews.
However, the food was fabulous! I had the braised beef gnocchi and my husband had the tea crusted salmon, both of which were delicious.
We definitely will go back and give the service another chance....I just hope we get a waitress with a personality and the service is quicker.
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OK

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was tasty. Service was good when server was there. (He was absent for stretches on end. Don't know if this is your MO or if the restaurant was unusually busy or some other reason.) Too noisy to be romantic. Too much booze to be kid friendly. Too far for us to drive often."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Highly Recommended for a great evening

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A great environment where you can have a conversation with your date. Great service, good food and reasonably priced!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food. Inattentive wait staff."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Braised short rib is the bomb

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Greeted immediately, amazing waiters/waitresses the food is delicious"
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Infrequent visitors.....but that's on us!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've always enjoyed this restaurant; we've eaten here with others, ourselves as a couple, and for both lunch and dinner. The food is very VERY good, as is the service. Ambiance and decor are unusual but pleasing. Excellent specialty drinks and wine list. Prices are moderate; portions are generous."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

average

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I got the buffalo ribs. I got one rib with about 1/2 cup of meat and about a 1/2 cup of fat. I don't need a BBQ house portion of food but I was expecting more than that. The other side portions were the same, kind of lacking. It was just OK, nothing to write home about. Sorry."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great starter salads. Gnocchi was excellent and bison burger had great flavors but slightly overdone. Very attentive service."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New Year's Eve dinner with kids!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were visiting Salt Lake for skiing over the week of New Year's, and we needed a nice restaurant that was "kid friendly"... this fit the bill! The food was delicious and the ambiance was great. The kids menu on New Year's Eve was extremely limited, as we were informed when we sat down that they weren't doing any burgers that night (which was 3-4 items on the 5-6 item kids menu). But the mac and cheese that they got was really good, and our food was fantastic! The service was a little off... our waitress was not very sympathetic to the lack of burgers or that they were practically out of prime rib (the special... at 7:45!!), but I think that that may have had more to do with us having kids on a primarily adult night of the year. Overall, very tasty, and we would try it again!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, great ambiance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was amazing. We had the filet mignon and prime rib. Both were cooked to perfection. The menu was concise, which was refreshing since I have been to restaurants lately that have overloaded menus. There were about 5-8 menu items, all of which sounded fantastic."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very slow service, but great food at Wild Grape

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We apparently had a server who was having an off night. She took our orders and informed one of our party that they were out of the special, but over the course of the night, we saw that other customers received the special. The drinks came at different times. The appetizers came out at an appropriate time, but the entrees didn't come out until about 30 - 45 minutes later. Just before the entrees arrived, the Floor Manager took the opportunity to apologize for the slow service. We noticed at this point that other tables that were seated after us were finishing and leaving, which indicated to us that the problem was probably with our particular server, not the restaurant as a whole. Then we ordered coffee, which also took quite a while to arrive. The Floor Manager again came to our table to apologize and said next time to call him ahead and that he'd "fix us up" to make up for the poor service, but he didn't offer us anything then and there (I think he should have comped our drinks). Our server never came to our table again, rather, we paid the bill with the Floor Manager. We arrived at 7:15, but didn't leave until about 10:00 p.m., a bit too long. However the food was excellent."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very disappointed

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Have eaten here a few times with a pretty experience. This last time the food wasn't good--even my daughter didn't like their mac and cheese which I didn't think was possible. My soup was under-seasoned. We told the waiter that we were in a bit of a hurry to catch a show, but it still took 40 minutes to get our food. Won't be going back."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Wild Grape Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tasty brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had the eggs ranchero and the Grape benedict, both of which were done perfectly! Even though my first plate came out incorrect, the staff did everything possible to fix it and made it worth the wait. They were the best eggs benedict I have had in a long time. Thanks for a delicious Black Friday brunch!"
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wild Grape Bistro
Based on the average of (36) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
29 out of 31 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic