Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Carmichaels Steakhouse Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Carmichaels Steakhouse

Carmichael's is a true gem located in the revived West loop. It is old Chicago with real style. A phenomenal culinary experience with a fabulous outdoor patio and a hearty Steakhouse dining room. With scrumptious bread baskets and beer cheese, to mouth watering BBQ shrimp and most delicious Certified Angus Beef Steaks. Of course no meal is complete without the delectable desserts our Chef prepares. Our centrally located restaurant is right off 290 and 94, complimentary Valet parking for every guest who dines at the restaurant. Located just a few blocks from the Opera House and the Theater district, a few minutes to the United Center, it is always nice to take advantage of our complimentary Carmichael's shuttle to and from all events at the United Center. Within Carmichael's we have 3 private dining rooms ranging in size for special and private dining. The comfortable atmosphere, inviting staff and the impressive dining experience will be one you will only find here at Carmichael's.
240 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(240 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 240 reviews
5 stars
(143)
4 stars
(63)
3 stars
(24)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(124)
  • good for groups(102)
  • special occasion(92)
  • great for lunch(56)
  • fit for foodies(55)
  • great for outdoor dining(52)
Carmichaels Steakhouse Reviews List
Review 1 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2013
 2012
Dined on 8/21/2013
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/21/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/15/2014
 2005
Dined on 10/15/2014
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"How I miss this place."
Dined on 10/15/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/29/2011
 2011
Dined on 6/29/2011
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/29/2011
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2014
 2006
Dined on 4/21/2014
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/21/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2014
 2013
Dined on 8/22/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/22/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/02/2013
 2009
Dined on 12/02/2013
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food! The steak was my favorite."
Dined on 12/02/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/31/2011
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2008
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2009
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2013
 2009
Dined on 10/10/2013
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/10/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2009
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/25/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/04/2013
 2010
Dined on 6/04/2013
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/04/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/09/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/09/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/09/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2014
 2010
Dined on 3/29/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/29/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I love Carmichael's we are so sad that it closed down. We went there Thursday the 19th to say goodbye."
Dined on 3/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great, GREAT service and food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I would love to recommend to friends, but unfortunately they closed for business as of 3/20...so sad...they will be missed!"
Dined on 3/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hate to say goodbye

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The West Loop lost a good one with the closing of Carmichael's. My wife and I dined with friends the last day of reservations, and had the honor of being invited to a final farewell party held for family/friends/regulars the following night. We always had a great meal, whether it was a casual burger in the bar (with our usual glasses of Malbec), or an always perfect steak in the dining room. That said, the employees are what made it special, and the biggest reason we looked forward to our short walk to the restaurant."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Gonna miss Carmichael's

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always great food and waiter/waitresses. Free parking always a plus. You never know who will see eating the GREAT food!"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Was a neighborhood and a city treasure

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have found Carmichael's to be one of the best steak houses in Chicago. Not only are the steaks excellent, but all of the sides and appetizers have always been great. Besides the steaks, they also had additions on the menu that were equally, as good. it is a real shame that tonight 20 Mar 2015, Carmichael's will be serving their last meals. It was a great run and they'll be sorely missed."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Closed forever on March 20, 2015

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wonderful place. exceptional steaks and sides, right up to our last meal there (last night). We'll miss the ambiance, the large outdoor garden and the professional, genial waitstaff. Goodbye, Carmichael's. Today is a sad day."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I will miss this fine steak house. The food was consistently good (not always great), but the service was always excellent and the venue nice and fun."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love Carmichael's

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We will miss Carmichael's! We have been coming here for several years and we hope they re-open!"
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sad they're closing down. It was truly a neighborhood gem."
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Closing :(

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"So sad this place is closing - my family and I have been coming here for years, ever since I can remember for special occasions, birthdays, anything! Food is always amazing, drinks are quality and potent, and the service is always friendly. Great Chicago staple and such a loss to the West side neighborhood."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Too bad they're closing!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Got in a last meal in their final week. We started with the crab cakes, they're a nice size, perfect for 2 people as you each get one. I skipped the aged cheddar butter and bread they serve you as I was saving room for my entree. Husband got the filet with 5 peppercorn crust, cooked perfectly. I ordered the meatloaf tower - 3 slices of meatloaf layered with mashed potato, tomato, topped with a sauce and crispy french fried onions - I wanted to eat as much of it as I could (and what I couldn't finish reheated well). It was moist, flavorful, had some great things going on, but not too much, the meatloaf was stlil the star. We shared asparagus and creamed spinach. My husband let the waiter pick a cabernet to drink and it was perfect with dinner. We shared the apple pie for dessert and coffee with a shot of Frangelico for an end to a perfect last meal at a great establishment."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place........too bad they are closing........NO other options around United Center!!!!"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

SAD

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"So SAD that Carmichael's is closing. Trying to get there as often as I am able.
Great spot. Great food. Great location.
"
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

closing.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2005
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"What a shame. This neighborhhod gem will be Closing on March 20."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Restaurant was a perfect choice before the Bulls game"
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best STEAK ever!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you love a good piece of steak -- this is the place to go. I've been to others in the area and I have to honestly say the steak here was the finest I've had. Word to the wise, reservations are definitely a plus when dining here especially if there is a Hawks game going on. I think we were the only ones in the restaurant who wasn't going to the game LOL
The side items are plentiful. Enough for 2 to share. We had plenty of food to take home as well. Carmichael's did not disappoint. Will be going back for sure."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a great experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I love it here, we so sad that it's closing, the food and service is always great."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The bar area was so small and very cold. The service was average, and the amount of the bill we signed was put through our acct for 50 dollars more."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

With a heavy heart ...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"So, we have had our last meal at Carmichael's ... ever. This place has been a favorite of our for years. Very good food at a very fair price. A warm and inviting atmosphere. They have always had awesome outdoor space when the weather allowed it. Oh well. BTW ... I cannot think of an alternative. The River North spots are great and they have great food ... but the cost of the meal, plus parking is pretty steep.
My dream is that they have a deal to re-open in whatever is going to be buiilt on this property.
"
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sad to see them close

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This may have been my last meal at Carmichael's since they will be closing on March 20. I am very sad to see them close, as this has always been a great place that is close to work, easy parking, and always a great meal."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Such a Shame it is Closing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was my first time to Carmichael's and I'm so glad that I had the opportunity to experience it. Unfortunately, it is scheduled to close March 20th to make room for some new condos. Really, really, such a shame!
I had one of their specials which was an 18oz ribeye. It was cooked to perfection, for my taste anyway. The waitress was thorough in getting my input on how I like it. When it came out I wanted to take a picture of it so I could just show it to the waitress the next time I ordered a steak out."
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a treat

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Never disappoints. Staff is always accommodating and nice. So sad that they're closing."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

it's leaving...and won't be missed.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The last few days just didn't measure up and I tried twice. On the first visit, the steak was burnt and on the second visit, the buffalo spring rolls just didn't quite cut the mustard. Oh well."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

lovely spot great food and fabulous service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My sister and I dined her on a Saturday night prior to attending a concert at the United Center. From the moment we arrived the valet was so welcoming and friendly, he really set the tone for a beautiful experience. The food was great. We ordered desert, which we never do partly because of our great server. The evening ended with a joy ride on the shuttle bus to the United Center. The driver was a cool cat with great taste in music. Wonderful dining experience. Thanks Carmichael's!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our favorite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Carmichaels is our favorite Chicago steakhouse and we're sad to hear they're closing. The Kansas City strip was the best I've had. The porterhouse was also delicious. Thanks for the great memories Carmichaels!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice but cold seated next to outside window

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Customer requested this place. We all got something like a burger or salad for lunch. I would recommend that they consider a lunch menu that might include smaller steaks. We were seated next to a door/window which was too cold for the winter, so next time I'll request a more interior situated table."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Rosie

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Overall experience was excellent!! Sad to hear they are closing...would definately recommend to anyone to go before they close & enjoy an excellent meal!!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Gathering Place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"we have so enjoyed your restaurant over the years and you will be greatly missed in the neighborhood and in Chicago.
Great food! Great Staff! Great building and outdoor space!
"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Carmichaels Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Closing March 20, 2015 :-(

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Unfortunately, Carmichaels is closing on March 20, 2015, because they're tearing down the building to build some residential properties at that location. Over the past 3-4 years, Carmichaels has become one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago. We hadn't spent much time in that part of town for dining, so only happened to discover it when we got a gift certificate from an out-of-town friend.
It's a fairly traditional steakhouse - my wife loves the Bison filet, which you don't see at most restaurants except as an occasional special - that also has a great menu of appetizers, salads, seafood, etc. A lot of people seem to like it for dinner before attending events at the United Center, but we'll go there every few months for a treat even if we aren't going to the UC. Outstanding menu with great service and great ambiance and a nice space. During the summer, they have a nice outdoor seating area.
It sounds like they've decided not to reopen elsewhere, which is disappointing, but understandable given the rising cost of real estate in the area. They probably can't justify offering a free valet lot and a shuttle to the arena if they have to invest in a new building. They've established a great name and reputation."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>