Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Plant - Cafe Organic Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Plant - Cafe Organic

Michelin recommended. A California based Organic restaurant company, we offer all healthy dishes, fresh juices, salads, sandwiches, soups, entrees & desserts as well as Sustainable seafood and 100% organic poultry.

Extensive lunch and brunch menu with a distinct full dinner menu seven days a week.

We follow a farm-to-table philosophy relying on quality local produce. In many cases, food has been grown only a day or two before it is served to our guests. If it is not available locally, we search the globe in our quest for the best organic, natural or artisan quality ingredients as reflected in our coffees, teas, and spirits.

We host a full bar with organic cocktails and local, sustainable wines. We pride ourselves in offering food for all including sustainable seafood, local organic poultry, specialty pizza and delicious vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free choices.
140 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(140 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 140 reviews
5 stars
(58)
4 stars
(54)
3 stars
(20)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(66)
  • scenic view(60)
  • great for lunch(57)
  • fit for foodies(55)
  • great for brunch(32)
  • good for groups(25)
The Plant - Cafe Organic Reviews List
Review 1 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2014
 2014
Dined on 9/19/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 9/19/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2013
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/04/2014
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious organic goodness

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had to wait for a table since we didn't make reservations, thou the restaurant was able to accommodate us especially with special events going around in town.
Small space, though felt large due to the modern and minimal decor and high ceilings.
We sat at the back which I enjoyed so I can see everyone in the restaurant and also allowed us ample space for leg room and can hear each others conversations.
Service, friendly and professional. Thou a few times, we did have to waive our waiter to come over.
In any event, food is delicious and savory. I don't remember what I ordered, thou there was nothing left. Perhaps, due to the minimum portions and for the value of the dishes, a little pricey.
Overall experience, enjoyed the atmosphere of the place & it's good vibe."
Dined on 10/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2011
 2009
Dined on 10/23/2011
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/23/2011
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Horrible service, over an hour wait after being seated for breakfast? Insane."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Healthy but more to be desired

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The mole chicken omelette was delicious, but the eggs benny was ok. the english muffin was not toasted, and the potatoes were dry. The sunrise juice was delicious. Views were of the bay, and the heating lamps created a warm place to enjoy them."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An SF favorite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Plant is a great place for dining when your group includes vegans, vegetarians and someone who eats meat (not red meat). The food is always great and fresh and the attention to dietary needs appreciated!
The Plant Burger is always a great option. Unlike any other veggie burger. AND Delicious!"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food, Bad Service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent food, atmosphere, service was lacking. We found stickers on the peppers in our appetizers and no one even apologized or said anything after we pointed it out, they just said they would tell the chef. Also our drinks sat on the bar for an easy ten minutes in between rounds, but the waitress could have just been busy. Would definitely go back but I would have expected better service at 5:30 on a Tuesday."
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The vegetarian options on V day were very small portions and also very bland. It seemed like little to no effort had gone into them, especially for a $50 prix fix menu."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good for a Healthy Bloody Mary

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food, poor service. They messed up my reservation as well and were not that accommodating upon my groups arrival. The food is good quality but pricey. Service is slow and haphazard."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent place for a meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was my second visit and I brought new friends. We all had a wonderful meal and would all recommend this restaurant to others."
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for special occasions!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2002
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Really enjoyed our Valentine's Day fixed menu with outdoor dining. Bar staff were enchanting to watch as we waited for our table, even offering us a free sample of their special cocktails for the evening."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2002
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My go-to spot for visitors

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Childhood friend visited so I had reservations made at my favorite spot...Plant! And as expected, she loved it as did her 21 yo nephew. My only complaint is that I don't live next door. Thank you to all the kind staff for consistently providing such a pleasurable dining experience."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice restaurant for health concious people.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"If you are luck enough to get one of the few outside tables, it has a great view. If you get a table inside, it can be VERY NOISY. Once the restaurant filled up a lunch time, I could barely hear the people across the table from me talk."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2003
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great as always!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've come here on various occasions over the past 3 years, and the Plant Cafe has never disappointed me. The food is consistently creative, delicious, and fresh. I had a family friend visiting from out of town, and taking her here for dinner was a no-brainer. Thank you for being you, Plant Cafe!"
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Plant...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been eating at Plant for a number of years...it always satisfies the palate. Sitting outside, by the Bay, is lovely, and the sound level allows for light to deep conversation."
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We will be back.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our third visit. Food excellent, and very tasty. The Plant - Cafe Organic is a great alternative to over-priced spots nearby at the Ferry Building, and has good options for vegetarians. Lovely views of bay, if you can sit outside (but only parties up to four can be accommodated at outside tables)."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great duck confit!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent. I highly recommend the duck confit salad! Dig the laid back but stylish decor. Service was very good. Just wish they were open later."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Healthy Fare Overlooking the Bay

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"While meat is on the menu, The Plant is a great place to take your discerning vegetarian friends. Vegetables are excellent and prominent on the menu. This was my first time having the chicken and mango sandwich, which was very tasty. I was dining with a friend whose health is fragile, so we ate indoors. For a full blast of Plant charm, I recommend eating outside with the bay right beside you."
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Healthy Food Presented Beautifully

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always love The Plant, and this location is my favorite for taking friends from out of town. If you can score a table on the patio you overlook the bay. On cool days (most of the time) the zip up the clear rent around the patio and it's well heated and comfortable. The Plant burger is always great and this time I tried the green curry which was also very good and not overly spicy. Great, friendly staff to top off the experience."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2002
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2002
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a big group and the service and food was great."
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fresh flavors, great location

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is my fourth time at The Plant and it is becoming a destination restaurant for me in SF. Can't beat the location and view from Pier 3. On a nice day the outside seating is great.
The food is bright, colorful, tasty and fresh. There are so many good choices it's hard to decide. I've had something different each time I've been there and all have been excellent. My friends love it too and have become repeat customers as well.
The service is quick but not pushy at all. The wait staff are helpful and very nice. All in all a great find."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2001
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A favorite on the Embarcadero

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food is always good, imaginative, and wholesome. The signature plant burger is always a good choice."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2006
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great vegan options. Loved the beet based burger and the red curry entree. Ate here twice on vacation and wish we has one near where we live!"
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New years dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Everybody in the staff seemed to have a big hurry to get home"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

All Time Veggie Favorite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The location on the Embarcadero is an excellent spot for high quality and tasty vegetarian food. This location has plenty of tables, I am always able to get one on short notice. It's close to Bart and downtown which makes it an excellent place to take people for an afterwork dinner. I'm not a vegetarian, but do enjoy eating in vegetarian restaurants about once a week. The Plane Cafe is a long time favorite, their menu contains a wide variety of dishes sure to please most.
The veggie burgers are great, not fried, and made from scratch. I highly recommend them. The kale salad is also a popular. I love the BBQ tempeh. Tempeh seems to have lost favor recently, as it is a strange food, but the BBQ sauce they use in the dish goes very with the tempeh. It's my personal favorite here.
If you like vegan deserts, the chocolate cake is excellent."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved the food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our server was outstanding, and the food was incredible. The vegan cheesecake was to die for! Will go again in a heartbeat!!"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"very tasty indeed -- the two of us enjoyed every bite"
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2001
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Favorite when I'm in the city

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We love The Plant! Our friends live in San Francisco and they took us for lunch some years ago and it has been one of our favorite spots ever since. Great location, love the outdoor seating even in the winter, and the food is terrific."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My Go To for out-of-town visitors

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"For starters there is the heated semi-closed outdoor deck for water-side dinning. I love the quality, originality and variety of the food. The ease with which they can accommodate a variety of eating styles is a big plus. If that weren't enough, the presentation is always artistic, and the wait staff pleasant and helpful. And then there is their vegan cheesecake which just melts in the mouths of non-vegans as well. All round thumbs up."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant is on the Embarcadero so has a beautiful view. Our server was pleasant, but the service was extremely slow. They may have been short-staffed because the servers seemed extremely busy. Two of us went for brunch and both orders were cool, or barely warm. I had Salmon Benedict and the salmon tasted as if it just came out of the refrigerator, so cold, and the eggs, muffins and spinach were barely warm. My friend had a different dish and she said hers wasn't warm either. So it seems that the biggest delay may have been from the kitchen. Also it was difficult to get a refill on coffee. After flagging down the server to ask for a refill, we waited at least 10 min before asking again, and then it took another 10 min. We had finished eating before she got her refill. The server did ask us how everything was soon after we began eating, so we told him that the food was cold/warm (some ingredients were cold, others warm) and he did offer to take it back and get us another plate but by this time I had already eaten enough of it that I didn't feel it was worth waiting for a new plate--and I had no confidence that it would return any better. My friend felt the same way. All said, I was enthusiastic about going when I made the reservation, but I won't go back."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not much to give thanks about.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2009
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was a very bad Thanksgiving dinner experience. Service was rushed, even though the restaurant was only 25% full - one course after another without any break. e.g. pre-dinner cocktail was served and immediately followed by the soup. When we voiced our objections we were told that this was the way the courses were supposed to be served, without any coordination. After we were able to slightly delay the soup, it and the salad were passable but the main course of turkey and the trimmings were all tasteless, and/or dried out, and the desserts were tasteless as well. For $50 prix-fixe (extra for the drinks and wine) at a nice location we expected much better."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2009
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2006
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2006
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The location is lovey, but the food is over-priced and not up to SF standards.
very disappointed the food is very ordinary, bland.
"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2006
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My favorite cafe in San Francisco!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I love to eat at Plant Cafe because their food is clean, organic, local, sustainable and they offer gluten/dairy free options. I like the variety of dishes and service is consistently good."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Full range menu

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"really good food for nonvegetarians and for vegans."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fresh, Healthy and Delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was an excellent place for fresh vegetarian and vegan food. The choices were great. The juices were wonderful. The wait staff were very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu, Highly recommended!"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Plant - Cafe Organic
Based on the average of (101) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
68 out of 75 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic