Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Vermilion Reviews List

Vermilion

A global unique melding of contemporary Indian and Latin American cuisines. Lauded by Chicago Tribune 3 stars, Time, FT, WSJ, Gourmet, Travel & Leisure, Chicago, Bon Appetit, Esquire. Tapas, fusion entrees, regional Indian fare. Featuring marquis items by eight celebrity chefs for the James Beard Vermilion Women in Culinary scholarship and CFW program, as a woman led entity.

Heart of downtown Chicago, we offer a global wine list, artisan latin & signature cocktails (raves by Food & Wine, Wine Enthusiast), a fashionable lounge ideal for after-work. The perfect venue for social or corporate events with an eclectic twist to seafood, meats, tasting menus, and a custom vegetarian menu.

Our innovative cuisine includes tandoori skirt steak, lobster portuguese (#1 dish worldwide USA Today), chimichurri NY Strip, tamarind blackened ribs, seafood saffron paella, regional Indian fare, a custom vegetarian menu of over 20 options, & decadent desserts.
See more Vermilion details
256 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(256 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 256 reviews
5 stars
(101)
4 stars
(76)
3 stars
(38)
2 stars
(25)
1 star
(16)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(119)
  • special occasion(96)
  • romantic(79)
  • good for groups(61)
  • neighborhood gem(32)
  • hot spot(29)
Vermilion Reviews List
Review 1 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

real disappointment

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Given all the publicity hype on the website, we looked forward to the interesting cuisine laid out in the menu. Sauces were mediocre. Food arrived too cold to support the complex flavors. An interesting sounding blood orange salad was utterly boring, and not even properly dressed. There was one wait person for the entire restaurant so the timing of courses was way too slow, although she was happy to keep asking us about drinks. Maybe this place was good when it opened, but not at all worth the prices now."
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Latin Indian fusion like no other.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This is a unique fantastic restaurant bringing together the spice and taste of Latin and Indian cuisine. I have never been to a restaurant like this that is beautiful, best wait staff, great front house staff, and terrific melody of tastes with presentation. One of my favorite romantic spots in the Midwest."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A different menu

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We visited this during 'Chicago Restaurant week' and it was okay for the experience. The service was very slow in terms of getting the food or even for taking the order. Server was good when the order was placed came a few times asking if we need anything else, but in between the course orders no one will show up asking for the order. Best was the 'Tres Leche Cake' , Shahi Tukra was also good ."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fantastic! Love this place. Will definitely be coming again!"
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food and cocktails were both great! Service was very friendly if a little forgetful and slow."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Really neat decor and food."
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not Impressed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I went to Vermilion to celebrate my anniversary. When we got there we were escorted promptly to our table that was decorated with rose petals. It was a very lovely ambiance. Then we waited for 20 mins before any server approached us and the place was not even 25% full. After taking our food and drinks order, the waiter would come over for 3 secs and disappear before we pick up our heads. The food itself was nothing special. The appetizers were good, but for the main dish we ordered a veggie thali. It was probably the worst Indian food I have had in a long time and I have eaten in shacks in India. The paneer was rock hard, the saag looked like a smoothie, the papad uncooked and dal was go awful. I paid $150 for drinks and food and consider it a 1 time tax and reason to never return to this restaurant. There are 7000 restaurants in chicago and I would put this place as the 7000th place to try in my beautiful city of Chicago. Good luck, maybe you will have better luck...but i doubt it"
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Our experience at Vermilion was excellent. It's definitely a place to go if you like new food experiences. The melding of two different eating cultures (my two favorite) was excellent. In terms of the other parts of the experience ours was I think unusual because we went on Jan. 2 (due to wife's work) and since it was the day after New Years it was very empty. It's hard to say what the ambiance/noise level would be like if it were busier."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/31/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nothing worth to write..

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The Waitress needs to have better knowledge of food as she is front face before we get dishes.. Her knowledge is just limited to what you read on menu.."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious food but slow kitchen. Frustrating.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nicely spiced but cold

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We had dinner at Vermillion on a fairly quiet night, and enjoyed the recipes as such. Unfortunately, the actual cooking was quite poor. The first few dishes were lukewarm, which we mentioned to the waiter in the hope that he would pass this on to the kitchen. But then the mains arrived lukewarm. These we sent back. We then waited a long time, got back new plates, and found them lukewarm aa well.
I'm guessing that it was all prepared in advance and poorly reheated."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 12/14/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious Fusion

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Such an enjoyable visit from the delicious food to the personal service. We started with scallops as an appetizer, then shared the seafood soup and the tamale. All were well prepared and well seasoned, but the seafood soup was spectacularly delicious; a combo of coconut curry broth that has me planning to go back very soon. Miguel, our server, was delightful and made us feel as though we were his only concern that night. Such a lovely experience"
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Second time in 10 days

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was my second time in 10 days. My experience the first time was fantastic. So I suggested the restaurant to our friends. It was 7 of us. They got only two people's order right. I ordered the lamb shank nihari. I loved it so much the first time that I could not wait for it. They brought everyone's dinner and they brought ribs for me. I said this is not what I ordered. They said sorry we are out of lamb shank. I said why the waitress didn't tell me about it. They said she didn't know. At some point when the order was put in some one should have known. He apologized and said he will comp it. Two of us ordered chicken tandoori but got paneer tandoori. They changed the order but we had to wait. The other two replaced their side to rice but didn't get it. They did bring a bowl of rice but needless to say was later. The waitress constantly was up selling which was really really annoying. There is a line and if you cross it it will irritate you. She did the same the first time I was there. At the end they wanted to give us dessert we didn't want it, glass of wine we didn't want it. We asked for the bill. They deducted 5 items but put it back so nothing was reduced. We questioned the bill, the proceeded to argue about it which I found it very tacky. I was embarrassed of recommending the place. They deducted some at the end but not enough to make us to go back and recommend it. What a shame because they make good food."
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always excellent And different dishes

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Vermillion has changed menus and I suspect owners. The wine selected was not available - we were offered wine at 4 times the price of the bottle we'd chosen. The first and second choice of the meal were not available The staff were trying their best but the food was not really pleasant. Not worth the price"
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/27/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Indian/South American Fusion Works!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"When I read that this restaurant had Indian/Latin American fusion food, I honestly was not sure what to expect, but it came highly recommended, so we thought we would give it a try. We were just delighted with our experience. Our server was just great and explained the menu to us. You could order small plates, entrees, or a tasting menu. Some dishes are strictly Indian and some are Latin American, but I would say almost half of the items are a fusion of the two. We started our meal with two of the specialty cocktails. I had something called a botanical garden which was a mixture of gin, elderflower, mint, and ginger beer and it was definitely refreshing. My husband had the grilled octopus and I had coconut shrimp as an appetizer. My husband got the shrimp curry as an entree which was great. I opted for two more small plates of scallops and lamb chops. I just loved trying so many things and that was the perfect option for me. Everything was delicious, and beautifully presented and prepared. We split a delicious coconut mango flan for dessert. Our service was very efficient and our waiter was extremely attentive and helpful."
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service disconnect

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was very good, but the service was very poor. All four entrees arrived at different times, the last one close to 10 minutes after the third entree. The server tried to atone for this with drinks, but based on other reviews, this does not seem to be a unique experience."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, not so good service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was really good. But was let down by the service. Waiter rarely checked in on our table and when we wanted to order more drinks or extra bread, had to wait a long time just for the waiter to stop by. And by the time the bread came, the food was cold. And one of us got our cocktail after dinner !!
Also, a 20% gratuity was automatically added even though we were 5 adults and a child and the child did not order anything. I would not have cared for it had the service been good. But to give 20% gratuity for bad service ...... !!
I would still like to go back mainly for the food and maybe next time the service will be better."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Vegetarian Thanksgiving Dinner at Vermillion

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've gone to Vermillion a couple times over the years for Thanksgiving -- one of the few restaurants to offer an interesting vegetarian menu on this day. The food was very good, but I'd wished more than one vegetarian entree choice (it was 'Gobi', a chili glazed eggplant, which they did attempt to make spicer than usual for me). Despite being uncrowded at the time I dined, the service seemed slightly strained, understaffed. I'd experienced this on previous visits here, but was surprised to see it on a day when they had a set menu."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great, as always. Truly a treat!!"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food as usual! Love this place!"
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Vermilion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>