Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed Reviews List

17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed

*17 is dedicated to offering guests bold, unpretentious food while focusing on the freshness, seasonality and origin of the ingredients. Since opening, the restaurant has received outstanding local, regional and national recognition including: Bon Appetit, Food & Wine, Gourmet, Town & Country, Travel+Leisure, USA Today and “Best New Restaurant” by Esquire. Texas Monthly rated #1 Where to eat now, “I like just being in *17, with its glittering crystal lights and sleek chocolate-and-white color scheme set off by froufrou red wallpaper on one side of the room.”





Restaurant may be contacted at

832 200 8994
See more 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed details
32 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(32 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(8)
  • romantic(7)
  • notable wine list(3)
  • fit for foodies(2)
  • good for groups(1)
  • great for brunch(1)
17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed Reviews List
Review 1 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Would have been a better experience if we were not the only table there on a Saturday night."
Dined on 5/10/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/06/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Limited breakfast menu"
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2007
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

S L O W, I mean S L O W

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Somewhat surprisingly, there were only two tables filled at noon. You would expect that this place would do a brisk lunch business given its proximity to the courts and many high rise buildings. The room is nice and the food is quite good for a hotel restaurant. The problem is -- and it is a big problem -- is the service. We arrived at noon and all three persons at our table ordered the same thing (simple ravioli). It wasn't until 12:45 that our food arrived. Even for dinner this would have been slow, but for lunch it is completely unacceptable. While there obviously is some talent in the kitchen, this restaurant is poorly managed. No doubt, many others had discovered this long before me given that there was hardly anyone else here."
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/21/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Non-existent service and sub par food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had to ask for a wine menu and was informed there is not a wine menu. During the meal I asked for rolls or bread and was informed by the server they were out, but he could check to see if there might be some back in the kitchen. Throughout all of this, there was a max of four customers, one table with two and us. I declined the sevre's offer to go search for bread. We ordered a crab cake and it had a crabby odor. As seafood lovers know, this is not a good thing and makes me question the freshness of the ingredients. The only food highlight was tomato ravioli with cream sauce. I ordered a steak that was chewy and flavorless. I ended up eating no more than half of it and the server did not even ask about the meal. Fortunately, I was offered the last of the ravioli.
We received our check, I placed my card in the receipt tray and signed the receipt with the gratuity. So many minutes passed that I didn't realize the super re never came to get the tickets and ran my card. Not knowing this, I put away my card and we left to head to the theatre. As we nearing the end of the block, I hear someone saying "sir, sir." It's the server who rarely came by the table who said the credk card had not been run through. I give him my card, we walk back to the restaurant for him to run my card.
So I get back and ask if we were checking in for our OpenTable app. He doesn't even know what that is and asks if we use It to pay for meals. I gave the hostess my name and she checked us in.
$90.13 will get you an appetizer, one glass of wine and two entrees at 17. That's it, you get nothing else. No customer service or concern about the quality of food.
Do yourself a favor and pass on this restaurant. Unless of course you can't find an establishment in downtown Houston where you can get quality food, quality service, or even both for this amount or less.
"
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It's easy if you're staying in the hotel

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We started at the bar across the hall inside The Sam but they would not come to the table and ask us for our drink order. The bar tender hollered out "if you want something you'll have to come to me." So... We walked over to the bar (because there wasn't another soul in the place) and said "we were looking for a place to relax (party of six) with my clients and I didn't want to be jumping up and down for drinks, could he please send someone over?" He said "no, there isn't any one". That wasn't the kind of place we were looking to gang out so we walked.
We walked across the hall inside the hotel, at *17 and sat there instead, we had dinner reservations there in a half hour anyway. We ordered apps and drinks, no one else in the dinning room. Quite place, nice little girl to serve us, food was good we each had a salad (I had the baby wedge, it was excellent - I mean really, really good) the rest of the group had various other soups (cream of mushroom soup was watered down) and salads along with our apps (most of it was good, not great, but good). We decided to eat some dogs and pizza at minute maid ballpark (or see what food was being served in the company suite).
We were on our way to a Stors game and staying at The Sam, and although stark in its appointments, the staff was exceptional and they had a comp shuttle ride to and from the ball park. It's only 8 or 9 blocks but it was very hot that afternoon so we took the shuttle - we tipped the guy $20 each way but to avoid the hassle of getting in and out of the park we would have been happy to pay double or triple - super nice driver and very easy in and put of the game.
By the way.... Have you ever been in Dallas and tried to get out after a Rangers game? Forget about it!"
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/15/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Resturant lacks the qualities of fine dining

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Before my visit, I reviewed yelp and it gave it horrible ratings. Nevertheless, I proceeded because I visited the restaurant in 2007 before it was remodeled and was impressed by the service, food and professionalism. This visit was horrible. It was my wife and I 4 year anniversary; we were the only one in the restaurant, its apparent that the restaurant staff, management and valet could use a course in proper etiquette for services in an upscale hotel environment. The presentation of the food was horrible as well as the taste, this was not a culinary chef. The valet driver didn't provide curbside service; I had to remind him to open the door for my wife. The music selection to set the mood and lighting were terrible. This is the Sam Houston hotel, no hotel guest ate in the restaurant, and were seen leaving or sat in the bar. I know this hotel reopened , surely you didn't have your service expectations considered. I was so embarrassed and disappointed. I hate to be harsh but allow me to provide examples: The waitress has never worked in a fine dining restaurant. The bread and butter plate was empty until I reminded the waitress; I ordered the medium well New York Strip with spinach and potatoes. My steak was well done and the spinach never arrived. I notified the waitress, she brought it as side dish, and the Chef must have wasted the entire salt bottle on it. The triple chocolate cheesecake was actually a New York cheesecake with chocolate icing on it. The cake tasted like it was made from my daughter's easy bake oven. The wedge iceberg lettuce was awful. I elected to taste and keep the food on the plate until the end of the date. I tried to keep the event humorous, as my wife suggested that this was an entertaining 4 year dinner and she sorry that it didn't go well. The valet attendant was rude and nonchalant. Please take this review as constructive criticism and provide your staff training in hotel services."
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good place for breakfast although menu is a little limited"
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great quiet restaurant.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The hotel is awesome, and the 17 restaurant is just as great. Treated very well. Large seelection of drinks from the bar. Prices were surprisingly reasonable also"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Quiet because nobody is there

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2015
 2004
Dined on 2/03/2015
 2004
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"For being the only ones at the restaurant it took forever to be served. The food was just mediocre. I'm sure its better for for breakfast as most hotels are."
Dined on 2/03/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Poor service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"17 is a good quiet place for a meeting when you need to discuss business. The food was decent, but the service left much to be desired. Our service didn't come check on our coffee or juice. We had to chase him down."
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Chef made the difference

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Umberto (Chef and relatively new to 17) brought a personal touch to our dinner.
His Braised beef dish was excellent with a his recipe for seasoning that
reminded me of the rubs (his is unique) from historic Memphis.
I would recommend 17 as a good place to converse with the Chef and make sure you get his
braised beef dish.
"
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Quiet Place

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very quiet, mostly because we were the only ones in the restaurant. I had a hamburger, which was slightly above average. Their chicken soup was great because it tasted like it was home-made. My guest had a roasted chicken plate which was much more food than he could handle. Service was very good because the waitress was very nice and personable."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 17 at The Sam Houston Hotel-Houston - Permanently Closed
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
2.8 / 5
(Good) 2.8 / 5
2 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Service 
2.6 / 5
(Good) 2.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate