Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed Reviews List

Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed

Abbot Kinney's Fine Dining pioneer, Joe's Restaurant celebrates our 24th year featuring Farmer's Market-fresh, California/French fine dining in a comfortable,classy neighborhood atmosphere. Your affordable foodie haven, Joe's is an award-winning Michelin-Guide rated, Zagat/Gayot fave and Citysearch Winner for Best Brunch. Our $23 gourmet Lunch Prix Fixe is the best deal in the whole city!

A classy old-school original,come see why Joe's is the perfect place for a business lunch/dinner with clients. We pride ourselves on discreet, professionally snappy service for hand-shakers & deal-makers alike.
See more Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed details
692 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(692 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 692 reviews
5 stars
(398)
4 stars
(194)
3 stars
(67)
2 stars
(22)
1 star
(11)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(420)
  • neighborhood gem(355)
  • special occasion(271)
  • great for brunch(198)
  • great for lunch(186)
  • romantic(182)
Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed Reviews List
Review 1 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sad they closed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I really enjoyed dining at Joe's. It was a great fit on Abbot Kinney. They will be missed."
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/01/2006
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went here for brunch. The food was pretty good, but the mimosas were outstanding. We took advantage of them being bottomless and may have had a few too many."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/14/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/12/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We're so sorry to see Joe's close.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"It was a complete delight to dine with Joe on his final night of service at the iconic Joe's Restaurant in Venice."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This was a really terrific restaurant.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We will always love Joe's and will miss it very much. This was a terrific restaurant with a marvelous chef and a truly great staff. A Venice institution."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Venice loses Joe's, there goes the neighborhood

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"It's ironic that this review is about the penultimate night at Joe's. Joe Miller, a chef who introduced the kind of imaginative cooking using fresh ingredients other chefs have been copying for 24 years, has closed Joe's. First, dinner was a procession of flavors and cooking that my Dad, also a cook, would have pronounced "soigne" which means subtle and delicious. I had cauliflower bisque with rock shrimp, grilled tuna on rosti with foie gras and a porterhouse with the sweetest small onions and crispy artichokes, and mashed potatoes. I am still thinking about the dessert flyte, passionfruit meringue, moscarpone cheesecake and the coup de gras a chocolate ganache square with crunchified walnuts. Joe's has been a bastion of cuisine that grows in variety and technical accomplishment. I will never forget seeing Joe ladle liquid in a china cap that night, this is a hands-on restaurant with a chef who always did the work. Joe never dialed in his cooking, he did it with his crew. I could wish for you all who love accomplished cooking to "Eat At Joe's" but no, Venice is in a current spiral downhill where best beloved, POPULAR, well-patronized local restaurants are being leveled by greed of speculators. I could wish for you to know just how your appreciation of tastes and flavors could be boosted by Joe's ever changing, season-oriented (and well seasoned) menu. I could wish for you to have a happy brunch with breads that you enjoy eating for flavor, savory and sweet selections of egg and pancakes. I could wish for you to know what it's like when you have a reservation and remember during the days before "We're going to Joe's this week *_*" Joe's, high quality ingredients and technique for good value. Joe's, combinations of greens and mushrooms, scallops and polenta, Christmas Eve dinners that celebrated Winter cooking, Joe's a place where the cooks and crew went out and brought your dog treats and water while you were inside for brunch, Come back Joe, please!"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good bye Joe

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We love(d) Joe's and are very sorry to see it go. Best of luck on their new restaurant Pintxo"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sad to be seeing Joe's closing.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"A pioneer of California Cuisine and a mainstay of Abbot Kinney long before the street and the surrounding neighborhood became what they are today. While the street is much more vibrant than it was when I started dining at Joe's, Chef Joe Miller and his restaurant will be sorely missed."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2004
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2004
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing after all these years

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My wife and I were saddened to see that Joe's, formerly one of the most consistent, high quality and civilized places in town has deteriorated pretty significantly since we were last there about a year and a half ago. We have been dozens of times over the past many years for dinner, brunch, as a couple, with family and with larger groups. And, it has always been reliably good with pretty professional service. I understand that it was the night before Valentine's Day--we thought that by booking the night before we might escape the mediocrity that many restaurants resort to for the large crowds--but we had to endure the limited and mass produced prix-fixe menu as our only option. It was just okay. The biggest surprise was the off-hand and disinterested service, though. That used to be one of the best qualities of the restaurant but our server, who was getting married in just a few weeks, was clearly far more tuned into her wedding than working that night. I don't know that we will be back."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Exit stage right at the height of your skills...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I was privileged to enjoy the Valentine's Day pre-fixe menu at Joe's second to last dinner serving. The food was fresh, delicious and composed of high quality ingredients. Their custom cocktail of the evening - My Bloody Valentine - was both topical and tasty.
Service was a bit inattentive and odd, but it was also the day before they were closing, so the staff gets a pass.
Joe was taking laps around the restaurant making sure everyone was enjoying their meals.
I'll miss Joe's, but I'm glad I got there before it was too late."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What brunch should be like

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My family and I had the opportunity to visit Joe's just before they closed down. The place was packed; there was still a lot of energy and it was really nice to see all of the staff throughly engaged. Our food was executed perfectly. We also enjoyed the bottomless mimosas. Cheers to Joe Miller!"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Thanks for 24 years of wonderful memories ..."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Joe's Restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I wish I could recommend Joe's to all my friends. I am so sorry that it is closing."
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Lost Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Joe's was fantastic: great farm-to-table food prepared in creative ways, with great service and a nice atmosphere. It will be sorely missed."
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love Joe's sorry to see it close.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"They were "backed up" so we actually didn't get seated until 30 minutes after our reservation which was ok but I rushed to get there on time, so that was a bit of a bummer but they're closing so I had to let that go. My dining companion thought it was a clever upsale to tell us the kitchen was backed up and she recommended getting an appetizer-- turned out to be $15 for a beet salad. Which was amazing! But I could have eaten the Free bread and been ok. Other than that, everything was excellent! Gonna miss that place."
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Was here about a year ago and came back

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I was here about a year ago with three friends from NY. The service was so slow, I was so embarrassed and kept telling my friends how sorry I was. I decided that I would not come back again., I mean who has that kind of time? However, with the restaurant closing, I decided to give it another try. This time it was worst than the time before. It took 30 minutes to get my bottle of wine and I arrived at the restaurant at 6 PM when they opened so there was no excuse for how long it took. I also had to keep asking for someone to pour my wine once we did get the bottle. Also, we ordered the Chef Menu and when they brought us our desert they failed to mention that hey did not have what we ordered and brought us what they had in stock. Not cool. If they were to remain open, I would never dine there again."
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sadly, this neighborhood gem is soon to close

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I got to experience Sunday brunch during the last week that Joe's is open. Hurry and experience it before it closes."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sad Joe

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We are so sad that Joe's is closing. It has been a favorite for us since its opening. We loved it especially for brunch and lunch on the patio. So we decided to go with friends for a last visit before its February 14th closing.
The patio was lovely as always. Our salmon benedicts were perfect. Eggs poached just right, delicious salmon. However our friends fish tacos were not good at all. Because they are allergic to t shellfish, they asked if they could have salmon instead of shrimp. This seemed to be a problem for the server but reluctantly she made inquiry of the kitchen and they had the salmon tacos. But the tacos themselves were merely a tiny piece of salmon and some coleslaw on a tortilla, no sauce, nothing else. They were quite disappointed.
So our last trip to Joe's was not as special as our first but we will remember Joe's as it was when we first became its patrons."
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/05/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Very Sad Farewell

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My friends and I are heartsick because Joe's is closing. For 24 years we've had almost every family and friends' celebration at Joe's -- not to mention any other time we wanted a superb meal at an affordable price. I hope Joe will be back soon with another fabulous restaurant... Thanks for all the wonderful memories, Joe!"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 2/07/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

goodbyejoe

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"So sorry to see Joe's go. Always good reliable and a great happy hour at the bar. Friendly service and good food what more can you ask for."
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/03/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/05/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2005
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2005
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2003
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Joe's is closing.....

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Very sad that Joe's last day is 2/14. It''s such a wonderful restaurant and having eaten there for many years, we will miss the restaurant."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Joe's Restaurant - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>