Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Brandy Ho's Hunan Food Reviews List

Brandy Ho's Hunan Food

Serving San Francisco since 1980, Brandy Ho's restaurant is one of the most popular landmarks on the San Francisco dining scene. Acclaimed by numerous Bay Area food critics, it has also been hailed by publications around the world as a "must visit" when in San Francisco. The food at Brandy Ho's is prepared with only the freshest ingredients, using a minimum of oil and sugar. Absolutely no MSG, artificial chemicals or flavor enhancers are used. The cooking at Brandy Ho's is based on the peasant style found in the Hunan region of China. The distinctive dishes are authentically hot and spicy, using traditional Hunan spices and lots of garlic. Brandy Ho's offers a wide selection of tasty hot and spicy vegetarian dishes. To please every palate, any meat or vegetarian dish can be ordered as mild as you like, or not hot at all.
See more Brandy Ho's Hunan Food details
76 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(76 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(30)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(11)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(23)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • fit for foodies(22)
  • great for lunch(22)
  • kid-friendly(10)
  • late-night find(6)
Brandy Ho's Hunan Food Reviews List
Review 1 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Has gone down hill

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It has been over 5 years since I was at Brandy Ho's. It seems to have changed owners. I took friends from out of town hoping to give a great SF Chinese restaurant experience. The calamari dish my friend ordered was basically a plate of stir fried onions with a couple of pieces of calamari in it.
I won't be back."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Order the fried dumplings!!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Dumplings were the best part. We had vegetarian and they were rich with mushrooms and just the right amount of tongue tingling spice (medium). Smoked duck as entree is an acquired taste (they warned us). Beef with green onions was excellent. Arrive before 7 to beat the crowds."
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Christmas Day Gyp

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Not only did they make us wait 30 minutes even though we had reservations, but they had a Christmas menu with elevated prices. Plus, the portion sizes were small. This place is off our list"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food good but not the...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Hot and sour soup. Skip it. We enjoyed the shrimp w walnut glaze, string beans, steamed veggie bun, and chow mien w shrimp."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"While it was Christmas day and I expect crowds, I don't expect to be seated at 8:15 for a 7:30 reservation. The food was much too spicy (we requested mild) and there was no chinese tea offered or available."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

food was good, rather noisy, servers seemed rushed

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 12/19/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/24/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for lunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food and service, we never felt rushed. Long time customer."
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was personal and accomodating. The Hunan flavors were exciting and the varieties awesome. We always come back for family get-togethers and always have a good time."
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, informal ambience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was delicious, and the service attentive (contrary to the experiences of some other reviewers). It was noisy enough some of the time that people at the ends of our table of 6 could not really hear each other, but you could hear the person next to and across from you. Yummy cold noodles with peanut sauce. You can ask them to adjust the level of spice in any of their dishes, so no need to worry it will be too spicy for some."
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2000
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best General Chicken

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very tasty, flavorful and overall delicious. Mall the dishes we had were excellent"
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

8 person group no problem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"made a reservation ahead of time- we sat at 7:30 and the restaurant really filled in by 8:30. ordering family style is the way to go. the food comes quickly and it's all delicious."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Columbus Avenue Hunan

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We loved the onion cakes. Everyone raved about the peanut sauce which was fair. Most of the other dishes were overly salty on this day. Also there was very little meat in the meat dishes whether it be seafood or beef."
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Authentic Hunan cuisine

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Authentic Hunan cuisine. Highly recommend, all dishes adapted & make to order."
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We read such wonderful reviews online that we couldn't wait to try out Brandy Ho's. While our server was delightful, the food was not. My husband's dish tasted a little stale and mine was just not very good. I feel a little sorry saying we will not return to dine here, but only because our server was very sweet."
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tasty and fresh food - no msg added either.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Tasty and fresh food. Delicious sauce and great sides. Advice was provided on the level of spice required for your palate and service was prompt and attentive. Great vegetarian options too - I recommend the bean curd dishes."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very casual place and atmosphere. Noisy, but really really good food. Tasted fresh and authentic. Quick service (as is typical in Chinese restaurants) but they didn't rush us at all. Would definitely return."
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was looking for a more authentic chinese menu, so I was a little disappointed. The menu looked to be for a Caucasian clientele, so we decided to have a drink and steamed dumplings only. The steamed dumplings were delicious and were definitely handmade. The owner was disappointed that we only had an appetizer since he has to pay Open Table for our reservation. We gave him the money to cover that fee."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2004
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great quality food!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love that there's no MSG in anything they make. The egg rolls were awesome, big portions, and we both enjoyed our meals."
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Brandy Ho always great.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been eating at Brandy Ho since it first opened or close to it. Always consistent and excellent. Great staff, great food."
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"An outstanding meal: a great value and absolutely delicious -- we will definitely visit Brandy Ho's again. Tasty and delightfully prepared, with excellent service, our meal was accompanied by a perfect wine selection. This restaurant is unquestionably a neighborhood gem."
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Brandy Ho's Hunan Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Spice, Taste, Charm

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have lived in the Bay Area our whole lives, and traveled to SF for dinner numerous times, but had never tried Asian cuisine until now. Wow were we missing out, and now we can't wait to go back there. From the moment we walked in the door we were greeted immediately and treated like you how you expect if you are a VIP. The owner is very hands on and the staff was attentive but not overbearing. We had the pleasure of having Winnie as our wait staff person. She knows her menu inside and out and helped us with the selection process and explaining what Hunan style is. Hands down one of the favorites was the Chow Mein. We had chicken but I'm sure they are all great. Kung Pao chicken another table favorite as well as the combo fried rice."
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>