Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace Reviews List

Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace

Enjoy Ship Tavern’s own micro-brewed beer on tap along with a large selection of bottled beers while watching sporting events on the plasma TV. Ship Tavern features a casual menu and the freshest seafood in town. This Denver Colorado restaurant is also home to the region’s best prime rib, Rocky Mountain trout, prime steaks, fresh seafood & the best lobster salad sandwich in town.
See more Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace details
336 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(336 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 336 reviews
5 stars
(158)
4 stars
(114)
3 stars
(45)
2 stars
(15)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(142)
  • special occasion(111)
  • fit for foodies(67)
  • neighborhood gem(66)
  • good for groups(44)
  • vibrant bar scene(41)
Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace Reviews List
Review 1 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great night out

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"No misses here. They recently changed their wine list and the wine we had seen online had been switched out, but they went looking for us and found a bottle. The food was perfection, cooked to order for our entire party, and we had a waiter who answered all our questions and gave us some history. We had exactly what we wanted: a great night."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointment at the Tavern

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I've been eating at the Ship Tavern for special occasions for many years including with my parents dating back 50 years even though it's expensive. The last two visits have convinced us we need to look for another special place. Our most recent visit, we were shown to a table crammed next to a cold, noisy window with no better alternatives in sight. Our waitress was busy and had to be hailed whenever we needed something and to top that, she forgot our soup. When she brought the entrees, I asked her about that and she said, "Oh, sorry." I asked that it be removed from the bill which she did. And that was that. In years past, someone would have visited the table and offered us a real apology and some compensation like a free dessert. Not this time. We had a similar experience a few months ago. The tavern just doesn't care any more."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A cool place to eat

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"First time eating at The Ship Tavern and it was excellent. Awesome food made even better with great service and a great vibe all combine for a great dinner. Reasonably priced for what you get. Crab cakes - possibly the best I've ever had (and I'm from the Chesapeake Bay area). Even the chicken wings were spot on delicious. Awesome burgers and well done drinks. Try it I'm sure you'll come away impressed."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Sports Venue for Old Folks

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My 76-year-old mother and I washed the AFC championship game in the ships gallery. We were there for four hours, and the service was terrific. The truffle fries were delicious! The wings are fried, and we didn't realize that, the sauces were good. Recommend this as a place to watch a game relative quiet."
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Marginal food. limited menu good drinks.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2004
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Wrong night

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We picked the wrong Sunday night to go to Ship Tavern. Don't know if it was over taxed because of stock show visitors (a lot of friendly stock show people were there) or normal for a Sunday night but the available staff was unable to keep up with the number of diners. We were seated late to our reservation and service was extremely slow. Evaluations from our party of four deemed the food a little better than average."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

historic Denver Fail

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Ship Tavern has been an icon of old Denver since I can remember. My family has been frequenting Shop Tavetn for decades. There was a time when the prime rib was cut table side and the service was stellar. Now it seems a sad, over run, harassed hotel dining room. Two of us had the trout (in the past it has been outstanding), it was dry and cold. One of us ordered the bone in rib eye medium rare, it was well past media and cold, a crime for such a gorgeous cut. One of us ordered the prime rib, which while cold was decent.
We did speak with the manager, she did take care of us; comped all the entrees and asked us to please return. This was our third trip to the Ship Tavern in as many years where the food has been poor. They will get one more chance... It is a party of history and the place to be during Stock Show. I hope it can return to its former heights."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2005
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not a good sports viewing place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The website said great for sports viewing. No. Not at all. 2 tvs and very pricey for brunch."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Fun restaurant in a cool setting. Great whiskey list. My steak was absolutely delicious. We will be back."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

good food excellent service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"had a great game time meal w friends. Our waiter (Don?)was awesome!"
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Service and food always great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dated.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The space is dated, and could be substantially nicer considering the location. The food was good albeit over priced. The surprise was the cost of a glass of wine, minimum of $12 for an average pour. Not sure if I would return."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/05/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The prime rib was overcooked and the service was just average. At these prices that is not acceptable.
We will not be going back."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Place for New Year's Eve!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"You can't go wrong by being at the Brown Palace on New Year's Eve! Dining in the Ship Tavern was a blast. It was great sitting in the cozy atmosphere of the restaurant, being wished, "Happy New Year!" by so many people and then dancing to the band in the lobby. We will definitely make this one of our New Year's traditions. The only thing we'll be adding is a room at the Brown Palace on New Year's Eve!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Service was a bit sloppy, though servers were quite friendly. It took over an hour to come out, and one of our meals was prepared wrong, twice.
Unlikely to return."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Christmas Eve

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Service was very good. It was very, very loud. Could barely have a conversation with the person next to me. I ordered the scallops. 4 a top a huge pile of buttery mush like something with just a few sprinkles of cut asparagus. It did not match the description in the menu nor the price. It also had no flavor. Those at my table who had the steak cuts were happy with their food. Staff was very kind. I did not ask to have my dish returned. I'm not one to do that. I suppose I should have. Our reservations were honored on time."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nautical Themed Bar/Restaurant in Historic Hotel

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This restaurant is in the historic Brown Palace Hotel in downtown Denver, which is currently operated by Marriott. My family of three ate Christmas dinner here while on a business trip to Denver. They had a piano player, which lent a festive air to the evening. The restaurant features a nautical theme, with a highly being a crow's nest standing in the middle of the restaurant. They may have added extra tables for the evening due to being one of the few open restaurants in downtown Denver that day, but the quarters were a bit on the tight side. The tables had checkered tablecloths, and the chairs were wooden and unupholstered. I thought this was a little casual given the price of the food. That said, the food, I thought, was excellent - tasty, and artfully prepared. We felt we had made a good choice."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not what I expected

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We reserved a table over 3 weeks ago and when we showed up they stuck us in a cold corner where the table had to be pulled out for us to get in. The food was OK but for a $55 a plate holiday dinner it was a disappointment."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Poor Value

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"My wife and I have eaten at the Ships Tavern in the Brown Palace on several occasions and overall have been pleased with the experience. We decided to et dinner there on Christmas Day and didn't feel the experience measured up to the cost. It was a busy day and the kitchen was slow, our waiter Frank did a good job of checking with us during our wait. We ordered a calamari appetizer which was nothing special and barely warm. My wife had salmon which she said was good, I had a New York strip which was not as hot as I would have liked and about a third of it was fat and grissel. I had a beer and my wife had water and with tip our bill was about $150. I kept thinking on the way home that I could have eaten three times at one of the restaurants near my home and had a better experience. We will probably try it again, not on a holiday and I probably won't order a steak."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Christmas Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Love the Ship Tavern for the ambiance and history, worth a visit if you have out of town guests. It's gotten a little too expensive if you are just going for a meal."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/18/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A forty year favorite!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Ever since I worked across the street at United Bank, I've enjoyed stopping in to the Ship Tavern. It's especially fun to combine a Tavern visit with a viewing of Christmas decorations in the lobby."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Ship Tavern at the Brown Palace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

overview

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"food, service, ambiance excellent. Parking $20/hr valet!"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>