Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

JiRaffe Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

JiRaffe

JiRaffe offers market directed rustic California/French food with seasonally inspired classic cocktails in a casually chic environment. The service is relaxed yet articulate and as elegant as the coastal community of Santa Monica.
127 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(127 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
5 stars
(74)
4 stars
(47)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(79)
  • special occasion(57)
  • neighborhood gem(56)
  • romantic(41)
  • notable wine list(14)
  • good for groups(13)
JiRaffe Reviews List
Review 1 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/08/2014
 2006
Dined on 9/08/2014
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/08/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A true gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Terrific dining experience thanks to suggestions and expertise of our server Chris.
Hope the owner has a change of heart and will continue on and reopen as another
outstanding restaurant.
"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ji Raffe is THE BEST

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"JiRaffe is so amazing in every way. The food is UNBELIEVABLE...........I've been coming here for over twenty years and it is consistently totally delicious, all ingredients are super fresh and prepared with great care and expertise. The service is wonderful........very professional and friendly. I love the ambience........it's lovely inside and its so fun to look out onto the "city view" and watch the L.A. sights. This is my favorite restaurant in Southern California and I'm devastated that it's closing. In this era of "small plates", unreadable, difficult-to-understand ingredients, JiRaffe stands out as a gem...........simple food prepared with fantastic sauces, dressings, glazes that are oh so flavorful. BRAVO to Raphael, Chef-Owner. Thank you for all the years of exceptional dining. Well follow you wherever you go!!"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Absolutely amazing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to JiRaffe for an early dinner and found it to be absolutely amazing. The food was outstanding. Everything from stuffed quail to pork chops and a salmon was exceptional. Our server was very attentive. Because we were the first patrons at the restaurant at 5.30p.m., the atmosphere was very nice and quiet. We will definitely come back."
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was a great lunch to have for DineLA. They were opened for lunch on Fridays for lunch only to serve the DineLA menu. Very enjoyable, food was delicious. Sorry this place is planning on closing, it will be missed."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A wonderful evening with Raphael and his team ...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food and service ... it is unfortunate to learn that after 18 years JiRaffe will be closing ... we are already looking forward to Raphael's next venture at 5th and Santa Monica ..."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been going to Jiraffe almost since it opened 18 years ago. And now it's closing! My wife and I were very sad to see it go. It's been one our favorite places. Food has a always been well prepared, imaginative and delicious. The warm, bright atmosphere was friendly and inviting; it was comfortable. Thanks to Raphael Lunetta for all the great meals. He and Jiraffe will be missed."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The best I ever had!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"For many years I wanted to go to this place but didn't, cause it was "too expensive for my blood" now on dine LA restaurant week I had to go, I'm beyond words, the best service and best meal I EVER had!!! This is not from this world... it's heaven on a plate! I can say that I would come back again and again but the waitress gave me the bad news, after 19 years they'll "call it quits" after "Valentines Day" what a shame!"
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderfull food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our second visit to this restaurant and the food was outstanding both times and we will try to go anytime we are in Santa Monica. The salmon dish outstanding. My only criticism is they seem to try and rush you through so they can fill the table again for some lucky customer."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2000
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Cheers to 18 Years “JiRaffe”!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Looking forward to chef Raphael Lunetta's next adventure...good luck!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Average experience

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It seems that though the restaurant is closing in one month and the service showed that. I would expect better service from a restaurant of this caliber. Server was a bit condescending and service was average. I should have tried something else. Also the dine la menu and prices on actual menu are similar, not necessary a deal. Steak was tiny!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Every aspect was done very well

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Shame this one is closing but looking forward to trying out the new place."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was very good, as was the service. I scored lower because it was too noisy, and because the wine list is way, way overpriced. Otherwise, a very nice evening."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The best!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Jiraffe, from the day they opened their doors eighteen years ago, has never faltered in serving exquisite cuisine. We bemoan the fact that they'll be closing soon. Every single meal we've ever had there has been nothing less than stellar. We had my mother's 90th birthday dinner there, we've taken friends from out of town, etc. - and it has always been nothing less than spectacular."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

JiRaffe is consistently great.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The swordfish paillard starter was wonderfully unique, followed the stuffed quail legs which were the best I've ever tasted--all part of the DineLA 2015 lunch menu. Professional staff and lovely ambiance."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Final Days Going Strong

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"JiRaffe is closing in February 2015 for a major re-do. But dinner on Monday was as strong as ever. Fantastic roasted quail on a bed of risotto as the appetizer. Tend, moist, and great flavors. Tasted my companions' carpaccio and must say every bit as good as any I've had in Italy over many trips. sensational lamb shank. My guest, a first-timer from New York, was very impressed. Get there now! Dine L.A. menu and prices are the real deal."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Friendly staff...amazing friendly concerned chef

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2006
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"SOrry it has taken us so long to leave our neighborhood, and hope it reopens soon with this special chef!"
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A neighborhood Gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was excellent and the service good. We are sorry to learn that the restaurant is closing in mid-February, but eager to learn what will come next."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sorry to see it go

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Closing Feb 14 after 19 years, JiRaffe will be sorely missed. I look forward to Raphael Lunetta's next venture"
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Two Words: "Sound Engineer!"

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very rare that a restaurant so small is so loud...made worse by the laughing Hyena at next table who cackled through dinner, hers and mine. I was very hopeful having read so many positive food reviews for many years. I was overdressed for a casual place; unprepared for the noise level; and chagrined at the time it took between courses on a Monday evening. My jidori chicken dish was tough and flavorless; my friend's lamb rack was tender but also tasteless. Very disappointing for a $168 bill for two...."
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2000
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

JiRaffe was Awesome!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went here with my girlfriend (now fiance) after proposing on the pier in Santa Monica. They had a lovely table for us on the second floor with the bottle of Rose I requested, well chilled and ready for us. Even though they said they don't do flowers, they had rose petals on the table which was amazing. Food was beyond delicious and the service was top notch!!"
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our favorite restaurant of all time. We enjoy dining out and have checked out most restaurants in Los Angeles and other cities. JiRaffe has never disappointed over the last 11 years. This is a place to celebrate any special occasions or entertain your guest who truly enjoy fine dining. Raphael has always been very passionate in his fine work of art. Great job!!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A fantastic experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Jiraffe was the perfect spot for a New Year's Eve dinner. Chef Raphael put together an innovative and flavoursome meal - 4 courses and yet we did not feel heavy at the end of the meal. The service was elegant, friendly and very professional. What a shame that it is their last season. We wish the entire team all the best for their next venture."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"As always, the restaurant space was warm and inviting. From the welcome mini cup of mushroom broth offered by the waiter straight through to the dessert, the meal was fabulous and served by a caring staff. The onion soup was beefy, sweet and satisfying, the mushroom ravioli was delicate and savory. I had the 1/2 rack of lamb with Yellowfin potato samosas and curried vegetable moussaka. All of it was a treat for the taste buds. The lamb was pink and in an excellent sauce. The samosas were flavorful, light and crispy, and the moussaka was delicate. My husband had the Jidori chicken, which was also in a wonderful sauce, served over perfectly cooked vegetables and fingerling potatoes and was moist and flavorful. For dessert we split the chocolate truffle cake and vanilla ice cream. It was just enough. They were also nice enough to steam milk for my coffee."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never Disappoints

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Love this place. The food was fabulous, the service better and Raphael, the owner was gracious. I suspect his new place will be great, but I will miss JiRaffe (but not the spelling)"
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Too bad they are changing the menu, decor etc in Feb, was a very good food experience. Service and the items chossen were very good."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Excellent food.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Big, bold flavors-small portions. Got in last minute in a Friday night which is great. Scallop appetizer was fantastic-but only one. And it was luke warm. Beautiful citrus sauce but, again, only one. Corn stuffed pasta with a truffle cream sauce was divine. But, again, luke warm. Something could have been added to the corn filling to cut the sweetness but anything w truffles.... I had the filet. Not my first choice as I prefer fish withy a sauce, or a boulibasse, but he menu was heavy on meats. Very rich, w a tasty sauce. Two small pieces. Oddly it was served w 2 types potatoes: mashed and a gratin. Neither anything special. Husband had Bronzino served w a good sized portion of linguine and clams in the side. Very fresh tasting. I think homemade pasta. I forgot to ask."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sad to see you go

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"JiRaffe has been one of my favorite rtestaurants since it opened 19 years ago. Tonight, my date's food was fabulous, two special appetizers (duck confit & diver scallops) that were tasty, complex and perfectly balanced (so she said). I ordered two items not on my usual list: an onion soup which had meat (a bit salty for me) and a seafood with broth that, while interesting, was not my style; not bad at all, just not to my taste. Still, I have reservations again Monday."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent! So sad they are closing

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great once again - delicious food, sampled several entrees including the gnocchi and steak for 2. All delicious."
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sad to see JiRaffe will soon close

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have love JiRaffe since it opened 19 years ago. The chalk board with specials is long gone, but the food never disappoints. The wait staff is friendly but professional. I will miss JiRaffe when it closes February 15, but I look forward to what Chef Lunetta comes up with next."
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have never had a bad meal at Jiraffe, the meal Saturday was awesome. Invite friends that had never been before. Now they are hook."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ever wish you can taste the dishes on Top Chef?

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I love JiRaffe! The food is so delicious! We enjoyed each course on their menu: complex flavors, fresh ingredients, and presented beautifully! The organic mixed greens salad was crisp, fresh and perfectly dressed. The crab cake was awesome, and the raviolini is to die for! Our seafood entrees, the Scottish Salmon and the Loup de Mer, were fresh, delicious and perfectly cooked. Also had some amazing fresh pasta with clams. Sticky toffee pudding, one of my favorite desserts, was the best I ever had! Carmelized sugar on the ice cream, and the toffee was fluffy, warm, and topped with warm, toasted nuts. Great service, and we were warmly greeted upon arrival. Will definitely be back!!"
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food. Stale bread?

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"From the salad to the desert the food was outstanding
However the ambiance was rushed , and noisy as if we were in a european train station .
The bread was nearly stale and cold.???
Details, details that is what sets good to great
I would hate to see one the best restaurant in Santa Monica loose it's class because of it
"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had the special appetizer and the special fresh fish entree. Both were excellent. Staff were attentive and helpful."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the best in Santa Monica!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Always excellent, Food & Service!! Probably one of the most underrated restaurants in the City. The daily specials is what I go for or ask the chef and server and you can't go wrong. The quality and extra care of the ingredients and preparation shines in every dish and I'm always left thinking why don't I come here more often. Upscale Bistro cuisine."
Dined on 11/18/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for JiRaffe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exceptional

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've dined here several times and have never been disappointed. This time around we asked that the chef create a tasting menu for us and it was wonderful. It started with an oyster on the half shell and a glass of champagne followed by the Hudson Valley house cured duck prosciutto
then the black linguini with red deep sea crab, lobster saffron lobster nage. The fish was the crusted John Dory, chanterelle mushrooms, sweet white corn,roasted red peppers, organic spinach, creminis,and the pan roasted rack of lamb, yellowfin potato vegetable moussaka, thyme scented lamb jus, and the dessert course, lemon souffle, Halsey mousee bombe and chocolate truffle cake. We pared the menu with a bottle of Kosta Browne Pinot Noir from home.
"
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for JiRaffe
Based on the average of (89) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
64 out of 65 recommend this product
Food 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic