Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill Reviews List

The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill

Reservations are only accepted for ala carte dining in our Lake Room Dining Room. Reservations are not accepted for the Pump House Bar or the Dock's outdoor seating. Seating in those areas is on a first-come, first-serve
The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill is an Oakland Restaurant located on beautiful Lake Merritt and offers indoor and outdoor dining over the water. We serve a diverse menu of contemporary Californian food with a focus on seafood that's full of new takes on old favorites.
Several dining areas make up our restaurant and offer something for everyone. The Pump House is a casual indoor setting that offers our entire menu; the Pump House Bar is an 80-foot-long marble-topped bar that looks out of huge windows onto the Lake; the Lake Room juts out over the Lake and offers a more traditional dining experience; the Dock offers outdoor seating on the Lake with bar service and a limited menu; and the Gondola Room will host private events.

See more The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill details
208 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(208 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 208 reviews
5 stars
(83)
4 stars
(81)
3 stars
(27)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(170)
  • good for groups(104)
  • special occasion(99)
  • great for outdoor dining(94)
  • great for lunch(85)
  • neighborhood gem(83)
The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/04/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/30/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2006
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2014
 2010
Dined on 7/07/2014
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/07/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fabulous at sunset on a lovely day!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Delicious food and spectacular setting - especially with a full moon rising over the lake.
Service also pretty darn good. Glad I brought my friends to share the experience
"
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

painfully slow service

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It took 20 mins to waive down our server to greet us and take our drink orders. Then another 20 minutes before he came back to take our order. Then it took close to an hour for our food to come out of the kitchen. Not once did our server come over to check on us or let us know the status of our order. We had to flag him down continuously to refill our water or re-order drinks. Our server never looked over at our table so we could flag his attention. Instead we ask all the other servers to get his attention. AWFUL!!!!"
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2005
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good not great

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enjoyed a nice brunch. The view of the lake was nice. Food was pretty good, not quite as good as the prices might make you think it should be. Wait staff was very attendtive and friendly. Only real complaints are having to pay $7.75 for their valet parking, plus tip of course. And the cost of the drinks. Sorry but $13 for a Bloody Mary is ridiculous."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were there for dinner and enjoyed a very positive experience.
The only downer was there was background music which amounted to noise simply because we couldn't hear it above the normal sounds of conversation in the dining room. It would have been better to have no music at that point.
The Crab-cakes & Buffalo Wings were excellent! Our meal, service & all else was excellent & will definitely return & recommend you to family & friends."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful Evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was a "thank you" dinner for my mother and all of her support. I selected the Lake Chalet because I thought it would be a wonderful experience for the both of us. From the time we entered the valet parking, to the host at the front desk, to our servers, everyone was so friendly. It made us feel very special.
The wait staff was very accommodating with suggestions for dinner and desserts. The food was amazing, my hat goes off to the chef. My mom had the scallops and I had the salmon, OMG, delicious. Afterwards, we weren't going to have dessert but we changed our minds. They have mini desserts which are amazing little bites of heaven. I had the butterscotch pudding with carmel, salt and whipped cream.
So, if you are ever at Lake Chalet, you will find that it is a wonderful place to go for any occasion with family or friends."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lake Merritt Gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sunday brunch/lunch looking out over the lake was perfect. The fish tacos and the pulled pork and egg dish were delicious; we will definitely want to go back (across the bridge from SF) to experience more of the menu. And the outdoor dining area looked very inviting--for a slightly warmer day. I can imagine that evening dining would be beautiful, especially preceded by cocktails out on the extended deck."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never Dissapoints

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came for the fish and chips and we were not disappointed. As usual, the food was great, the atmosphere was beautiful and the service was fantastic. So glad the dock is open for outdoor dining again."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

lunching out

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was just bland. The seating was mixed up and not what I had requested when I made the reservation (though it was available, but not offered). Food was OK, but lacked imagination, bland and room temperature. Fish overcooked"
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delightful lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"restaurant with large windows giving wonderful views of Lake Merritt and real Venetian gondolas. Excellent attentive service. I had the best Cesar salad with delicious flavorful grilled salmon. They offer a variety of appetizers, seafood, salads, etc. There are regular and mini desserts. I had the latter: pear sorbet with almond cake and poached pears. The flavors were marvelous. Valet parking is available."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Four for a Sunday brunch serviced on deck - absolutely delicious eggs benedict, omlets and excellent drinks. Quick service but had to order at inside bar and bring utensils to our table because of deck closure for repairs. Would definitely go again for brunch or lunch as a twosome or a group."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Valentine's Day makeup

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We really paid extra just to be seated in a less traffic area. The view was through windows and the staff looked at us as though we didn't belong. We could hear the happy hour crowd but we couldn't order from that menu. My burger was great. Nothing special. I support Oakland that's the only reason why I would recommend this place at least go once in your life."
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Anonymous

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The views from the restaurant are beautiful, especially if you go just when it's beginning to get dark outside. The twinkling lights add to the atmosphere when you are dining or just having a drink. This is a good place to hang out after work for a quick meal and a drink. But it also has many places to dine, upstairs or outside which can also make your dining experience a night to remember. I would definitely recommend this place if you are in the Oakland area."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This place in amazing. Mixed drinks was the only slight flaw."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great service but

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food is really subpar. Service is great, though. Good view."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

beautiful views of Lake Merritt and good food.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great spot in Oakland. Good food, good drink selection and wine selection great views of Lake Merritt. Valet parking....not free."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Valentines dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ambience and service were superb. But the quality of the food left us both wanting more. The price you pay is for the view, not the food itself."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our second visit to The Lake Chalet. We drove in from Santa Rosa to meet a friend there for Valentines Day. We had expected the place to be jammed at noon, but it was not. We had requested a window table when we made the reservation, but were instead seated at an inside table. Our very helpful server Nyra got permission to move us to a window table. On our first visit our food took forever to arrive, so this time we ordered bignets to nibble till the food arrived. This time the food arrived quickly, without a bignet in sight. Our server Nyra apologized profusely for the scheduling error in the kitchen, and we had the bignets for dessert instead. Nyra kindly took them off our bill. I ordered Eggs Benedict and my two friends both ordered the Lake Merritt Breakfast. The food was good, nothing spectacular, but competent. It's a nice dining room to linger over brunch - not noisy, and a great setting and view."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

WONDERFUL AMBIENCE, GREAT FOOD, BEAUTIFUL VIEWS!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excitement was in the air the moment we entered this place. Friendly, top notch people from Nico, the General Manger. to our waitress, and the other servers. Food was extremely delicious, service was excellent and I so enjoyed the pomegranite lemonade; yum! Great place to just relax and the enjoy anytime of the day or night. We're planning our next gathering soon."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Valentines Day Disappointment

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went on Valentines Day and was seated in the over flow section. The service was extremely slow and the lighting was bad. This section was clearly an after thought and we felt it. Even our 5 year old commented on how long it took someone to get her a fork. Our family Valentines tradition has been eating dinner at the Lake Chalet. We my need to find a new restaurant next year."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, abysmal service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Two visits within one month convinced me that a great kitchen, creative preparations with the finest ingredients cannot overcome an unmanaged dining room, painfully slow service, and what can only be mass confusion among the service staff. This is not just a situation where the service staff is inexperienced; it seems that some of them have waited tables before. The dining room is simply unmanaged and haphazard, and very very slow. Did I say that? Arrived with reservation. Half full dining room. Greeted but waited for someone to take us back to table. Beverages ordered, long wait, then 10 minutes later server comes back to say they're out of that brand. New beverage ordered. Another 10 minutes. Very long wait for food, which was great, but poor service ruined dining experience. Asked for Tabasco for fish dish. As food was getting cold, just ate it without requested condiment. Didn't order dessert because didn't have the time."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service was bad and too slow for lunch.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It too 2 hours for them to serve our "workday" lunch. That's even after we remind the waitress we really had to go back to work 3 times."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

amazing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent food and drinks and a reasonable price. The building is beautiful and the view can't be matched. Good service all around."
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wanted a relaxing lunch, laid back atmosphere and delicious food. It was great. Minor issue with seating at a table that was just too cramped for our party, but the staff was able to seat us with little delay."
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had a reservation and were seated promptly at a window table as requested. Service courteous but erratic. Food frankly ordinary. A pleasant but not memorable dinner."
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

You have to go to this restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The setting is spectacular, the food is very good, the bartenders and wait staff excellent. This is a hidden gem in the heart of Oakland, Outdoor dining here is highly recommended but inside is beautiful as well."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot on the lake

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good looking place with increadable views, menu is nothing to write home about"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, but slow service detracts

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came for a Sunday night dinner with a party of 9, celebrating a big birthday for my Mom. The restaurant was able to accommodate a change in our party size from 8 to 9 with 30 minutes' notice. But then we were seated at a table for 11, which I brought to a server's attention, figuring that when that party showed up, they'd be unhappy. Sure enough, we were at the wrong table. Service for the remainder of the evening was v e r y s l o w. Long waits between ordering drinks, getting drinks, ordering food, and getting food. I think we didn't order food unitl 45 minutes after being seated (the first time). Everyone enjoyed their meals, however: clam chowder, seafood linguine, salmon, fish tacos, pulled pork sandwich. I love the pretty nighttime view of Lake Merritt, which is partly why I chose this restaurant for my group, which included 5 people from out of town. Would've been a stellar experience had we not had to wait so long."
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had to get the beignets to start our meal and shared the sunshine omelette as well. Our server was outstanding, attentive, and accommodating."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Grandmas 92 year Birthday

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my Mother for her 92nd birthday and we were received by a staff that was gracious helpful, and caring. All three of us had different items on the menu from starters to desert and none of us
were disappointed in our choices. The food was outstanding and our service was impeccable. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. I would meet the needs of almost everyone.
"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great local spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"great spot for intimate lunches or dinner. not noisy and excellent service , great menu choices and food was served hot"
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Romantic Lake Chalet

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I enjoy going to the Lake Chalet as I think it's romantic, and I love the views. There is something to be said about sharing an evening with someone special and looking out onto the water and the reflection of light. My favorite is the seafood appetizer with a glass of white wine. The staff always make me feel special, and I've always had a table with a view."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Birthday Celebrations

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Waitress did not Introduce herself to our group. I asked for a non pulpy non alcohol beverage and the waitress recommended a drink but when it arrived it had seeds and was very pulpy. Waitress apologized and provided a good substitute. Restaurant week menu was minimal fish or short ribs as entree and they were out of short ribs! They did not offer any substitute so I ordered off of the main menu ribs that were good. My moms mashed potatoes were watery, not enough veggies on her plate. Chicken must have been really organic because it was the size of a Cornish Hen (still on moms plate). My son ordered chicken strips and fries and he was not happy with his meal. My wife was not happy with her meal. She did not want to send it back for fear of old school food tampering. Something strange happened while we we eating. Our waitress dropped someone's credit card at my dads feet without knowing it. My dad had to stop the waitress to let her know and he handed her the customers card. Overall experience during restaurant week was a D+ C- experience. We could have spent our hundreds anywhere and this place did not make me want to come back."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely spot for drinks

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I would recommend this for drinks any time. They do the classics well and are generous. The dinner menu is a bit on the boring side, but the food that results is good. I had salmon with wild mushrooms that was delicious. My companion enjoyed the burger. However, there always seems to be some glitch in the evening---The manager graciously made good on them, but in each of the three visits I made for dinner, there was something to correct (price on bill, food overcooked, drinks very late). Still, the view and cocktails are worth the visit. Really a superb location and architectural gem."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The view here is great of Lake Merritt on a nice day, nice bird/people watching. The food is just so-so and considering all of the great brunch places around that area, a little disappointing. This spot is nice for when you have visitors in town."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great lunch!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"As always super friendly, gracious and welcoming staff. We both had cups of the squash, apple and Brussels sprout soup which was delicious and beautifully presented. Both of us had crab Louis salads which were a little on the small side, but delicious with a little kick of jalapeño in the mix. We ended w perfect coffee drinks. Always have a great experience here!"
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The location makes this place

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2005
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The location on Lake Merritt makes this place special. Nice decor, good music outside on a sunny afternoon. However, the food is just average. Had the scallops which were tasty if a bit salty."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The waitress we had wasn't very friendly. It seemed as though she was having a rough morning. The waiters at other tables seemed to be much more friendly and helpful"
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Professional and courteous

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The seafood here is great. Opentable screwed up our gift certificate somehow, but Lake Chalet made everything right for us. If you want a nice romantic evening, this is the place to go."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Elegant dining on the lake

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have been here many times and have always had a great meal. Perfect place to go as a couple or as a large group. Food is American. Portions are large. I would appreciate less fries and more rice or other kinds of starches, quinoa or bulgur maybe? Not the best Cesar salad. Beet salad is very good, though. Really like the blackened chicken sandwich, fish and chips, ribs, crab cakes, burger, steak for lunch. Had Thanksgiving there last year and it was delicious. A nice place to take out of town guests for a special occasion. Kind of noisy like most restaurants these days. Great views of the lake and the pelicans, ducks and geese."
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

What a View!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Now, if the food, I don't necessarily mean the menu choices, were of a little bit higher quality and better thought out, I would take my friends there anytime. but, as it is, this is not the place to go when you are looking for a well executed cuisine. Change the chef and work on the menu concept more and you will have an Oakland treasure. The location is amazing."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Made rservation, did not get the window seat as requested, but overall experience was great."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went for New Year's Day brunch with a large group. Had a wonderful lobster sausage, pork shoulder…great menu, great service. And a good kids menu!"
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Gorgeous view, great service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Loved the views and excellent service at our early (6:15) New Year's eve dinner. Scallops were delicious, too. Duck special, not so much---drowned in tasteless white gravy. As one of three New Year's Eve specials, it might have been a little more, well, special. Not disappointing enough to ruin the evening, especially as my sweetie shared his scallops."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always our pick for a pleasant New Years dinner!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Always our pick for a pleasant New Years dinner! We had a great time. Thanks so much."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It was great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My friend and I went to the Lake Chalet for dinner New years Eve. It was wonderful in every way. Great food, good service and what a view! We had been there before and enjoyed, but this time was even more special. This restaurant has all the components for a great eating experience. Will go again soon."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>