Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Abattoir Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Abattoir

The latest dining venture by chefs/owners Anne Quatrano and Clifford Harrison, Abattoir is French for “slaughterhouse” and is an American chophouse specializing in the use of locally-raised proteins to produce high-quality, affordable food.
68 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(68 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
5 stars
(41)
4 stars
(19)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(39)
  • special occasion(22)
  • good for groups(20)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • hot spot(14)
  • romantic(12)
Abattoir Reviews List
Review 1 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/25/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/12/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/15/2012
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/11/2014
 2010
Dined on 10/11/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/11/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2012
 2012
Dined on 6/12/2012
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent in every way

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was excellent!! The service was nice. Try the chocolate chestnut pie and coffee. Also try the bread pudding. Absolutely the best!!!"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience, sad it's closing!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a great experience at Abattoir from the service, to the food, wine and recommendations, nothing disappointed and it was truly one of the best dinners we had out in a long time. I would highly recommend anyone try to experience a meal here before they close their doors in a few days as it is definitely not an opportunity to be missed!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

THE BEST

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have lived in Atlanta for 1 and 1/2 years now, after moving from Chicago: best food yet here in Atlanta and I have eaten at many of the top restaurants."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Catch it before it closes!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Was in town for my dad's birthday and was lucky enough to give this place a taste before it closes at the end of the month.
Very airy and spacious layout with fun and tasteful themed animal farm touches.
The bone marrow and sourdough was a great start to the meal, though the endive salad with blue cheese between the app and my main was pretty uneventful. The main lamb dish however was unbelievably tender and juicy with a nice risotto to soak up the juices. My father also had the lamb and my mother did the fish dish (trout?) which was very light and flavorful.
For sides we did the braised greens and the asparagus omelette which were both quite intricate and well thought out dishes for sides.
Service was friendly and unintrusive if a bit less formal than I was expecting. I'm actually not a huge fan of overly formal service so this was quite alright with us, though something to be aware of."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very nice. Pricey drinks

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A very good place to eat. Knowledgeable staff and some of the best onion soup I have ever had. I found their bar and wine prices to be a buck or two per drink more than they should be."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very good selections of charcuterie and great bread. We dined here before the theatre and it was perfect."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good choice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Well-prepared dishes to share; food was delivered hot to the table, in correct timing. Service was excellent-except wait staff interrupted conversation every time they came to table-instead of waiting for an appropriate entry. Good value wine choices."
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First time review, family of 4

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Overall the food was very good, especially the vegetable sides, crab cake, kale salad with sweet potato, and desserts. Strangely, my husband found a stray peanut in his onion soup. We wonder how it migrated in! The other members of our family liked the onion soup although my husband wasn't impressed. The service was extremely attentive and well executed. I would go back to this restaurant again."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was phenomenal and the service was great. Will definitely be returning."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Truly impressed!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We came here on a whim, and a search for some place new, this place was cool and something more than I expected.
The interior design was minimalistic and rustic.
We truly enjoyed the varied yet coordinated food menu and the wine selection."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Had a great evening on Saturday...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The menu was quite interesting - a lot of selections. Enjoyed pork skirt steak and the lemon tart. The 'cheese puffs' were very good as well and the bartender made two very good selections - their signature Manhattan and the American Whiskey were very good."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun date night

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife and I like to try something different when we have date night. Abattoir didn't disappoint. We selected a few different apps, split a dinner and then dessert. The food was full of flavor and very good. We will certainly go back again."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not worth the money

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sadly disappointed, not so much by any one dish, but just by the whole experience.
First the positives. The space really is quite pretty and there is a nice split between the bar area and general seating. Clearly someone paid a lot of attention to detail.
I met a girlfriend here and we decided to sit at the bar since the place was quite empty when we got there. It seems like it was largely overstaffed as there were people everywhere. Unfortunately that didn't help with the slow and generally inattentive service.
We started with the oysters which were honestly excellent. We then got the beef tartare and cheese plate. Both were very good; not the best thing I've ever had but quite good and I was pleasantly surprised. I will also note that the beef tartare was executed brilliantly with the most precise dicing of the tartare.
After our appetizers, we got the potatoes macaire, root vegetables, wilted greens, and sunchokes. This is where the meal went downhill. Everything needed major work. First, the potatoes were almost great but not quite well executed. The sunchokes were not quite done but might've had good flavors if they were not covered by a random and unexplained salad. The root vegetables were very good and I really liked the beets which are usually not my favorite. By far the worst thing we had were the wilted greens which I think were supposed be collards but were so bitter they were entirely unpalatable.
The only other thing I would note is that the service was disappointing. Although I will say that the manager came by twice to check on us and I just didn't have the guts to tell her the food was really not up to par and the service so poor we had to ask for everything from a knife to every drink we needed.
To Top it off, this entire meal it was quite expensive. Between the splitting of three appetizers two drinks apiece and Four sides, it was 150. I don't get the hype but clearly there's talent there so perhaps it will improve."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2010
Special Features: hot spot
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

New Chef has changed this place

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have been to Abattoir a few times and tonight was (sadly) probably our last. I am pregnant so there was one thing that i had to make sure of... cook my food more than medium rare and it didn't happen, the food came out as it would usually cooked, but thats ok I get it sometimes it happens, but no only was it not cooked as requested but the food just isn't as good as it used to be. The burger was almost half (literally) the size as they used to be. My husbands entree (lamb) could have been delicious but it was served lukewarm and what was supposed to be about 8 oz of lamb as told by the server was no more than 3 - 4. It was a sad, sad dish and very messily plated for a $26 dish. We aren't ones to ever complain, but this was just not good. No real apology for my food at all either.The chocolate chess pie was delicious and my husband said his crown and ginger drinks were nearly perfect, but the food was such a disappointment that what it is usually. Hopefully it gets better as the chef gets used to being there or else I fear for Abbatoir's future. It was just an overall bad experience."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Abattoir
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very disappointed

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There are too many excellent restaurants in Atlanta to settle for mediocre or even poor. We scheduled a night out with friends looking forward to what we heard was an excellent restaurant. Please know that Abattoir is VERY difficult to find. It is tucked away a the end of a strip mall/shopping area with a sign that is almost impossible to see. We drove around looking for it for quite a while and asked a couple of valet attendants at other locations where it was. We were one of several groups that had difficulty finding the place. That was the beginning of our frustration. They were out of a couple of items featured on the menu. That should never happen at a place like this. So don't expect whats in the menu to be available based on our experience. The food we got was certainly not up to the standards you would expect from a restaurant advertised as one of the top in Atlanta. I spoke to both the manager working that night and also to someone from Bacchanalia who happened to be there. They were very apologetic and gave us some dessert and offered us coffee to make up for the long and frustrating evening. However we spent $300.00 including the tip for a disappointing experience that could have been spent at other restaurants with more reliable food and service. I was also told I would be contacted but have yet to hear anything. Try it out...but do so at your own risk."
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Abattoir
Based on the average of (44) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
30 out of 31 recommend this product
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic