Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Crush Wine Bar Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Crush Wine Bar

Located in the heart of King Street West's Entertainment District in a turn of the century warehouse space, Crush Wine Bar + Kitchen offers an extensive wine by the glass program complimented by French inspired continental cuisine. The lively atmosphere lends itself to the casual and corporate clientele alike, and appeals to weekend socialites for drinks and appetizers in the bar + lounge.
74 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(74 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(43)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • notable wine list(47)
  • fit for foodies(34)
  • romantic(28)
  • good for groups(25)
  • special occasion(25)
  • great for lunch(13)
Crush Wine Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 27/03/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 27/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 28/03/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/06/2015
 2013
Dined on 26/06/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 26/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/09/2013
 2009
Dined on 17/09/2013
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 17/09/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Awesome meal with great service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The fennel salted chips are a great appetizer with your cocktails! The beef was nicely done!"
Dined on 25/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2013
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 16/06/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 16/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 08/03/2014
 2011
Dined on 08/03/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 08/03/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 04/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 28/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 24/05/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 24/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, very good wine list - always reliable

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 23/05/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 23/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 06/03/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/05/2015
 2013
Dined on 19/05/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 19/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for Mother's Day brunch, which they don't normally have. The food was delicious though but since they are not normally open for brunch, it was a bit quiet this time. We found out that they have really good Caesars that they make with their own homemade mix and a bring your own wine for a $1 corkage fee one night a week (I believe on Monday's) so we will be back to try that out."
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The service was amazing & the food was incredible

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 07/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

My wife and I had a great time and a lovely meal.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 20/04/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 20/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 08/11/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great romantic and amaxing atmosphere!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"So I went there on a date and the food and wine was really good! I mean for a wine bar you would hope so but the servers were really helpful with the pairing options and the service was really quick. If you are there late enough they even have live music with a person playing on a piano!"
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice Thursday night dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was the best I have had in along time.. Food and drinks were great and overall we had a very good dining experience."
Dined on 09/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love this place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The roasted bone marrow is to die for! And my steak was made to perfection - just the way i like it! Love the ambiance, our server was amazing, the place is kid-friendly. Would definitely go back!"
Dined on 15/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good restaurant

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was a little bland this time. I have been twice before and it was great. I assume this was just an abberation. I will go back."
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Valentine's day dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Although Crush had a set menu for Valentine's day, the regular menu was also available, which was awesome! Erin our server was great, found an awesome wine to match two plates that were substantially different and overall ensured that we had a great time.
I highly recommend it.
"
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Portions

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great portions for food! I loved it! Went with my girlfriends for a night out and enjoyed the food, setting, atmosphere and service. Only thing that could be improved is the lighting as it is mostly spot lights and can be a little hard on the eyes."
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great food, great ambiance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"wasn't expecting too much from the food since the place is known for its wine, but we were pleasantly surprised. the seafood stew was spiced to perfection and packed with a healthy amount of mussels, the scallops on barley were decadent and creamy and the dessert, oh the dessert. perfection! i had the peanut butter chocolate tart while my friend had the pot de creme and wow. if you like reese's you'll love the tart - the filling insanely buttery and satisfying, with a good amount of peanutty saltiness to balance out the sugar. the pot de creme was fluffy and flavoured lightly with caramel, perfectly paired with fresh, sugary fritters over top. the wine was of course, wonderful, and the waitress was very helpful in selecting pairings for the food. the space is beautiful with a great ambiance, and while the next table over did get a little loud and giggly - it is a wine bar, we didn't mind. one thing we found surprising was that there were a fair amount of larger groups there, and they were very well accommodated. not many upscale restaurants in the core are good at this, so this is definitely a place to consider if you're going out with a bigger group. overall, a nice surprise! we'll be back again, maybe even just for a few glasses in the gorgeous bar out front."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Interesting WInterlicious menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a late dinner here last Friday and enjoyed it overall. I've always found the space to be warm and interesting. Nice music (piano vocals) in the lounge. The Winterliciuos menu was more interesting than most, featuring a seafood stew as a first course and a scallop dish as a main. Quirky rule that all diners at the table must either opt into or out of Winterlicious, but server explained it had to do with timing of courses. Interesting wines on offer, price by the glass a bit high, but it was great to be able to choose interesting things by the glass instead of the usual three or four predictable choices."
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

5/5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great restaurant. Amazing food, from starter to entree to dessert. Friendly staff. Great live music. Love the environment and decor. Would highly recommend to others!"
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2011
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Crush should consider moving their bar dishwasher. This was my second time at Crush. On the first trip, we were seated close to the bar and directly downwind from the dishwasher and overwhelmed by the strong detergent smell. We asked to be moved but it didn't help. This time we were seated on the other side of the room but the smell was still so strong. Food was great but because of the strong smell of chemicals in the dining room, I likely won't go back."
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A++++

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Menu is great, so is the resturant staff. Would recommend to anyone else."
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Crushing on crush...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Whats not to like? Great cocktails, intriguing wine flights, fabulous oysters...worth it!"
Dined on 20/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Crush Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious dinner experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went to Crush for dinner this past weekend. It was a last minute choice because another restaurant in the area was fully booked. But after dining at Crush for the first time, I would definitely come back. Came with a group of friends and family and we ordered a variety of menu items. Started off with a round of cocktails and some of us got oysters to start. We also got an appetizing charcuterie board to share.
Later on we got a great red wine recommendation from the waiter, and a fantastic selection of cheese (Cheese and wine - definitely a winner in this restaurant). Yum!
Most of us were pretty full at this point :) but we did try the mushroom bolognese from the appetizer menu and a lot of the group also got mains. Heard great comments about the duck confit and the bison strip loin.
I saw a few comments here about slow service, but I guess we were lucky - the service was great, no complaints. All our orders came out on time and we did not have to wait long between courses. Overall it was an unexpected, delicious evening and I would highly recommend Crush if you're looking to have a nice dinner on King."
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Crush Wine Bar
Based on the average of (39) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
33 out of 34 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate