Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Luce Nuovo Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Luce Nuovo

Lucé + Nuovo has a contemporary Italian/French menu that can be enjoyed both casually and formally. Every season our menu changes to ensure that you only experience the freshest ingredients; all the while, supporting many local farmers and purveyors. Our wine selection is extensive and chosen from the finest vineyards worldwide.
40 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(40 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(20)
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • notable wine list(15)
  • special occasion(11)
  • romantic(10)
  • good for groups(9)
Luce Nuovo Reviews List
Review 1 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

It's not what it used to be. Food was mediocre .

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Don't waste your Saturday night here. This used to be a hot spot. How hard is it for the kitchen staff to split a meal (additional cost is fine)? We used to be regulars...something has changed, and not for the better!"
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

avoid the bar menu

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Other than the expensive salad ($8) the bar menu was poorly valued. I had the 3 "shrimp cocktail" which are ordinarily jumbo shrimp, but these were U-30 (the kind you would find in a salad) for $7. Dinners might be fine, but after having the bar menu, I was afraid to try."
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lynn from Dublin

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We hadn't been to Luce in quite some time and thought we'd pop over for our anniversary. Everything was great... start to finish!"
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2013
 2009
Dined on 12/23/2013
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/23/2013
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, service, ambiance. Overall excellent.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Luce Nuevo is a fantastic restaurant. There is an overall exquisite feeling in its ambiance. The food is as grand in taste as it is in appearance. Highly recommended."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Saturday evening out

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went out with my wife, my daughter and her fiance. We wanted to check the place out for a possible wedding rehearsal dinner. They have two menus. One is the regular menu and the other is a bar menu. We were able to order from both without issues. My wife and I each had the tomato bisque soup and shared mini crab cakes for appetizers while they had a minestrone soup and a Caesar salad with the meatballs for appetizer. The food came out on time and was delicious. For the main entrée my wife and I had the Stromboli from the bar menu while they had the lasagna and the Vesuvius pasta which was penny pasta with pork and chicken in a pepper sauce. We had a bottle of red wine and shared a dessert. Everything tasted superb, the food came out in a timely manner and the prices were reasonable."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was good. Went there a few times last year and the food was great. The menu change was not for the better. I do like the atmosphere a lot."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pleasant meal with great service and food prep.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been to Luce twice and both times had a nice dinner. We usually split a meal and get salads and drinks. Salads were great, coffee and wind good, service and food preparation professional/courteous and the atmosphere fine. Thanks and we will be back again."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Inconsistent food experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was wonderful and the atmosphere was unique, classy, and comfortable. The wine was delicious. I ordered muscles for an appetizer. The muscles and sauce were absolutely delicious, however, the bread that was grilled and stacked on top was charred too much. The burnt flavor from the char marks very much detracted from the overall flavor. I ordered sirloin for my entree. I asked for it medium rare and it was almost well done. I was disappointed. The mashed potatoes and green beans were seasoned and cooked extremely well and very enjoyable."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Relaxed friendly and yummy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A neighborhood gem? Cozy quite atmosphere and good food."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great neighbourhood restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Consistently good food, creative menu, interesting specials; wines and food reasonably priced"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

What happened to this place?!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have eaten several times at Luce, and especially loved the wine pairing dinners. Chef Mason is a very talented chef! Unfortunately, he has recently been dismissed from the restaurant and what a shame. This place is still attempting to find itself. Now with the best thing they had going for it (the Chef) is gone, I think this place may implode. Four of us dined at the restaurant over the weekend, our meals were all over the place. The appetizers of mussels and crab cakes were very good. Two of the dinners were great, the filet and the steak pizza. But two of our dishes were almost inedible, the grouper and salmon dishes. One extremely cold and the other poor flavor. Desserts of tiramisu and amaretto chocolate cake were amazing. Service by Mile was impeccable. Oddly enough he even commented on the lack of direction of the restaurant. Also, I found that the traffic entering Luce to eat at the new noodle eatery where the wine cellar used to be very annoying. The kitchen is shared now between the two restaurants. Very bizarre setup. I hope this place gets it figured out as the area is hurting for fine dining. Bypass it for now!"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Much better than before

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"2nd time we've come since change, and it was great! Very diverse menu, select wine list, comfortable atmosphere. I'd describe it as casual upscale. We'll be back."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always enjoyable

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food, good service, near home. Great combination to keep on coming"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service good but we had 5:15 seating on New Year's Eve and when we arrived, there were 4 tables occupied and they wanted to give us an awful table back in the corner. We were moved to a better table but near the kitchen area which was noisy. Very few tables were taken by the time we left at 7:30...WHY did they not give us a better table since they remained empty our entire time? Food was OK but pricey. Fortunately, our server was great."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not impressed.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We dined on New Year's Eve and the restaurant was not that busy.Our server seemed a bit arrogant and not very attentive. We had to ask for bread twice. My entrée was shrimp risotto which consisted of only 3 shrimp with the tails still on. Someone else at our table ordered the filet well done and it was not. After trying to get the waiters attention for 10 minutes he took it and returned 5 min later with another. The waiter never returned to check and see if the steak was cooked to her request. She still had some pink and was unable to eat part of it. Now I know why it was the only place available on New Year's Eve that we could get a reservation."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Luce Nuovo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Luce consistently provides a delicious meal via friendly and professional service. I especially enjoy dining there in the colder months and sitting near their fireplace. It is very cozy."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Luce Nuovo
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
10 out of 14 recommend this product
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic