Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Marie Louise Bistro Reviews List

Marie Louise Bistro

Marie Louise Bistro is located in the heart of Mount Vernon and specializes in a blend of French, Italian, and Mediterranean cuisine at reasonable prices. The Bistro atmosphere is casual yet upscale, and offers an expansive wine selection to guarantee an affordable and enjoyable meal. We offer delicious quality fare using only the finest and freshest ingredients available.

We are open bright & early 7 days a week for coffee & pastries, and then lunch & dinner throughout the day. We serve breakfast Monday-Friday. We also serve brunch every Saturday & Sunday.

Stop in for a meal or even just a cup of coffee!
See more Marie Louise Bistro details
70 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(70 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
(19)
4 stars
(25)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(25)
  • fit for foodies(22)
  • great for lunch(11)
  • romantic(11)
  • good for groups(10)
  • notable wine list(10)
Marie Louise Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exceeded expectations

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Went for Baltimore Restaurant Week, which means a 3-course prix fixe for $35.00. The menu was over the top for a bargain meal. One of the appetizers (the Decadent Egg) was an umami bomb and included lump crab and caviar. Everything was really good. Add in a reasonable and interesting wine list (We had a Malbec from the French Pyrenees that was a revelation and a bargain. Disclosure: we know Marie personally and have dined here before-- but never so well."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/04/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Terrific meal!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My three companions and myself enjoyed deliciously prepared dishes at Marie Louise. Each of us loved what we ordered for appetizers and dinner. Service was prompt, professional and responsive. We will most certainly plan a quick return!"
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went before the symphony. Service was ok to good. The wine list was ok. They didn't have the bottle I ordered but the substitute bottle was ok. A little dry for my taste. I was looking forward to a nice, full, rich bottle of French wine. They did give me a discount though. The ambiance was great and the food was vey good. The bread was simply delicious. I ordered the beer and goat cheese salad with the salmon. Both were wonderful. My son had the steak and fries. The fries were stupendous. My husband had the Bouillabaisse and it enjoyed it. We will return."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Bistro style with a variety that can satisfy most.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Creative menu, terrific Bistro food such as bouillibase, duck confirm, and salade Nicoise make this worth a trip. Flawless service and a well conceived wine list add to the allure. They do the simple things that are the hallmarks of bistros one sees in France and they do them well."
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very good food, service a little slow

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Five of us ate there for an early Saturday evening meal before a concert. It was around 6 pm so the restaurant was not particularly crowded. The server was friendly and knowledgeable about the food - and he was right. The Beef Bourguignon was very tasty with a delectable sauce. Other diners were equally pleased. Service was prompt without being rushed.
However: no bread was brought to the table until requested, and no one noticed the basket was empty and offered to refill; we had to flag down another server when ours was nowhere to be found to ask a 2nd time to refill a glass of wine and beer; the Beef Bourguignon was delivered warm not hot so was sent back.
My complaints are minor, and I would definitely return for another meal."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/18/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent meal. Rather large portions reasonable prices authentic bistro food. Outstanding desserts. Be sure to save room. Large selection of wines by the glass with generous pours. Would go again and recommend it."
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

service was excellent. Food was very good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Marie Louis Bistro - Never Disappoints

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My group of theatre friends, up to seven of us, like to enjoy dinner before the show. We have our choice of places to dine in the Mount Vernon area, but Marie Louise is my favorite. The food is always outstanding, the wait staff is friendly and well informed, and they are sensitive to our needing to get to the theatre on time.
This past visit, several of us enjoyed their sea bass special. It was delicious and beautifully prepared in a melt-in-your-mouth lemon butter sauce. Those who did not order the sea bass also enjoyed their meal selections. We also ordered Tuscan Chianti wine at a great price point that was very good.
I hope the next time we go to the theatre that we choose Marie Louise for dinner before the show, as it's always my favorite in the Mount Vernon area. I highly recommend."
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Looking forward to our next dining experience -

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Still very good; but not so much a bargain

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to Marie Louise for an early supper after a downtown event. I had not been there for several months and was surprised to discover that while the ambiance and food are still great, the prices seem to have increased significantly. The menu has changed and now has less of a "bistro" feel... more of a "semi-fancy downtown restaurant " vibe; meanwhile, there are fewer selections. Our food was generally quite tasty, and the trout almondine we a particular treat. On the other hand, the slices of duck breast were rimmed with a good bit of fat, and they were not that big to begin with, so that was a bit unsatisfying. Dessert (as always at Marie Louise) was excellent."
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fine crab cakes, near Center Stage and Peabody

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We like Marie Louise Bistro for pre-theater dining when we are attending Center Stage (a five-minute walk to Calvert Street), and we were happy to see it again taking reservations via Open Table after being unavailable online for several months. Although the wait-staff seemed short handed during our visit, our polished waiter made a valiant, and generally successful, effort to keep a room full of diners happy. The menu seems to have been pared down since our last visit, but still offers a broad range of choices at a broad range of price points. Top honors go to the crab cakes, some of the best we have had anywhere in Baltimore, and that is high praise indeed. Francophobes need not fear that the Bistro may have tried to create a fancy French-ified version of our beloved Maryland crab cake; these are the virtually-all-crab versions that Marylanders love."
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent French bistro

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a beautiful French bistro located near Baltimore City Harbor. My husband and I enjoyed the tender beef short ribs and the pastries were divine. We will definitely visit this spot again!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always a consistently delicious meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been coming here consistently for two years. The meals are always well-prepared and cooked perfectly. A parking lot is conveniently located on the corner next to the restaurant. I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting a French bistro meal."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wonderful meal and our server was great. Try the dried-fruit bread pudding is the best!"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great French food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been to Marie Louise Bistro many times. I'm a foodie and I can say that trhe food is always tasty. I do recommend the beef bourguignon. The pate de campagne is good too. They have a nice selection of wine. The service was always great."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Hollandaise sauce orVelveeta?

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I met with a friend for brunch and while waiting I ordered coffee, which I found on the weak side. When my friend arrived she ordered an expresso, however this took a really long time to arrive and we had to ask twice for it. The restaurant was not busy yet and meanwhile we had both ordered brunch. The food took a long time and when the plates arrived at the table the food was pretty much cold. It was taken away and somehow reheated and after another while arrived lukewarm. Waiter was slow and did not check on us, we had to call other staff to the table. Otherwise food was OK, but I found the Hollandaise sauce on my Benedict more like Velveeta."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pretty good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went here for restaurant week with 8 girls. After some mixups with the menu (the waiter forgot to tell us things that were no longer on the menu until after we ordered them), we had a really nice dinner. All the food was excellent and we had a really good time. We felt very rushed out at the end. After we had only been sitting 1 hour and 10 minutes and had just received dessert, the waiter brought the check and asked for it twice before we had put our credit cards in. We didn't think we were overstaying our welcome since we were still eating, but it felt like they were rushing us out. Overall, good food and we would come back, but we wish the service was a bit better."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Marie Louise Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Worst Service Ever

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My experience at Marie Louis Bistro was probably the worst dining experience I've ever had. We were sat right away which is to be expected when you make a reservation but no one came over to the table for about 15 minutes. It took 25 minutes to just get water and bread. The server said they were short water glasses and needed to wash them. I ordered a bottle of wine and that took 20 minutes to arrive. Apparently there was only 1 bartender working but he was also responsible for waiting on 8 tables upstairs by himself. We opted not to get the valentines day menu and in doing so I could not order the soup. The only soup they had that night was reserved for the valentines menu instead of letting me pay market price. We were looking for another restaurant on open table when the server finally came to take our actual order. I would have left if we thought we could walk into another restaurant and be seated. When we did place our order I ordered a salad and the steak. The salad came out quite quickly which was nice since we had been there for 45 minutes at that point. 15 minutes later after I had finished my salad the server comes back and tells me they are out of the steak...at 7:30. A bit early in the night to run out of steak in my opinion. There were several other tables around us that had similar issues as far as waiting for servers to take their orders and get their drinks. Needless to say I will not be going back to this establishment."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>