Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Avalon Restaurant - West Chester Reviews List

Avalon Restaurant - West Chester

Avalon Restaurant and Bar, located at 116 East Gay Street in historical West Chester, Pennsylvania is best known for its romantic ambiance and rustic Italian menu. We are a full service restaurant and bar decorated with European elements. Our accommodations go beyond the main dining area. If you enjoy dining al fresco, street cafe, lined with lush plants is perfect for you and your guests. Avalon also provides private dining rooms open most weekends for a more quiet and romantic experience and available during the week for private parties of up to 45 guests. Enjoy our Giro del Menu "Tour the Menu". A four course medium plate offering available daily $49.
See more Avalon Restaurant - West Chester details
271 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(271 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 271 reviews
5 stars
(98)
4 stars
(112)
3 stars
(42)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(9)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(106)
  • neighborhood gem(97)
  • good for groups(64)
  • special occasion(62)
  • vibrant bar scene(55)
  • romantic(45)
Avalon Restaurant - West Chester Reviews List
Review 1 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always very good!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Have been going to Avalon for years. The food is always excellent and the service very good!"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Avalon Restaursant Review

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The clam sauce needs more clams....and NO chick peas. And the portion was very small. The gnocchi however was delicious. but again, way too small for Italian style dining. Very nice restaurant...on the pricey side. Increase portion side and lose the chick peas. Otherwise would have been excellent."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We had a great dinner with our teenagers

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We went for dinner with our teenagers--had a great time. The food was delicious! It is a great value for money-- no sticker shock but great food. Loved the wine and my other half loved the beer selection. We had a combination of the bar menu and dinner menu. Highly recommend to anyone in the West Chester area. Outdoor seating on the street very pleasant in warm weather"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've never had a bad experience at avalon."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never disappoints

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My husband and I have been going to Avalon Restaurant on average three to four times a year for several years now. Only once can we say that the food was not superb. If it was the first time we had been there we would have said we would definitely be going back.
No matter how busy or short staffed they may be the quality of food and service has never suffered. The servers are attentive without ever being intrusive. If we could choose only one restaurant to return to again and again it would be Avalon. We leave feeling relaxed, happy, pampered and well fed."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Night Out!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We went to Avalon early on a Saturday night. Our servers were attentive, friendly and able to easily recommend meals to fit our tastes. We had the beet salad, caprese salad and calamari appetizers - all delicious! Our dinners ranged from steak, to pasta, to the fish specials. Again, all delicious! We finished the night with delicious creme brulee and croissant bread pudding (a must have!). We can't wait to go back. We had a wonderful meal!!!"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A nice little Italian place. I was disappointed that the escargot is no longer offered (but remains on the menu), but enjoyed the spicy crab and lobster pasta. The calamari appetizer was as tender as can be."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/07/2014
 2012
Dined on 10/07/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/07/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best of West Chester

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Chef John’s 5 Course Tasting Menu tickles every taste bud! Each artfully prepared course is perfectly paired with each wine and the experience is out of this world. Avalon consistently delivers the best food and service in town which means this special menu is truly extraordinary."
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Finish to 2016

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We dine often at Avalon and usually spend New Year's Eve there. The only exception this year was that we are early with our young granddaughter. Their prix fee menu was delicious with the veal ravioli being a real highlight, while our young charge enjoyed her burger and mashed potatoes and the nice way that she was treated by the staff. Jen, Alejandra and their colleagues provided excellent service. We look forward to more good dining here in the New Year."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good experience!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Overall, we had a great time. My husband and I went for the special New Year's Eve dinner and the food did not disappoint - excellent as always. The portions were very generous and we both left feeling stuffed!
However, there were two things I found... odd. First, we had a reservation. I had even confirmed it the day before. But when we arrived, there were two hostesses who appeared extremely confused about where to seat us. We stood at the door for a VERY long time (while other patrons kept entering, making the door area extremely crowded) and never once did they explain to us what the problem was. Every time we thought they had it figured out, they pointed at the computer screen again under more confusion. I suppose it all works out though, because they put us at a table for 4 instead of one of the tiny tables meant for 2 :)
Secondly, there was a prix fixe menu that night - only a small number of items to choose from. I did not understand why there was so much time between courses. Our reservation was at 7, and we didn't leave there until after 9! I am very familiar with fine dining and the time involved in specially prepared meals, and ordinarily I don't mind at all. But with this type of menu, it seemed like the chefs could just be constantly preparing meals to serve - it's not like we (or anyone else) ordered anything obscure or special that would take longer.
Also, there was a live band that night which was a little too loud for us to have casual conversation, even in the next room - although I do know that comes with the territory of live music.
Overall, Avalon is still a favorite of mine (although i DID enjoy everything about the Downingtown location much more!) and we will definitely go back.
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good service, nice atmosphere and excellent food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great food and great service. Lamb Bolognese was outstanding."
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/22/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ambiance and food was outstanding.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

7 Fishes

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"big meal. Only glitch was too spicy lobster/crab fettuccine. Reported to waiter who returned bowls to kitchen and returned 25 min later with same course but mild & delicious. We found 7 Fish special to be very filling."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2002
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2002
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

It is now more bar than restaurant

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had heard good things about Avalon when it was a BYOB, but its move into a larger space where the bar dominates apparently has taken a toll on the food. All 3 entrees our group had were very over-salted, making them difficult to eat. And the bill was astronomical with only a couple glasses of wine added. Will not go back."
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2006
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"5 course chef tasting was amazing. portions were much bigger than I expected for a tasting like that and the good was incredible. I'm always impressed by Avalon and was blown away this last time. seriously one of the best meals, start to finish, I've ever had"
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent service and food. We will go back.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Hands down one of the better restaurants in WC. Been there several times and will continue to go back. Always good service and good food. Thank God they moved and expanded!"
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Avalon has long been a favorite of ours and the meal this past week was great. We had the whiskey-cured salmon, terrific pumpkin ravioli and the lamb bolognese - all tried and true favorites. Service, as always, was prompt and friendly. In fact, I can't relate to some of the Open Table comments about sub-par service here. Not our experience at all."
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Continued success

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Having had time to shake off the challenges from their move into the new spaces awhile ago, the quality of service, menu selections, and performance stays at the high level for which they originally became known. Very nice bar scene to start or end the evening. Good drink selections. The mussels appetizer continues to be excellent - I never look elsewhere. Pappardelle with Lamb Bolognese another consistently great selection. My father loved the Beef Short Ribs and ate more than he intended! I thought the Eggplant Parmesan was excellent though my wife said the cheese was not right (the eggplant was perfectly cooked). Desserts were good - the olive oil cake was delicious though the gelato was a little frozen to start."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great times to spend with family

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Avalon club, West Chester Pa.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was given a 100 dollar gift card for the restaurant. Arrived early, sat at bar for a few pre dinner drinks, solid beer and martini menu, big screen TV, live music (talented singer/guitarist), table ready on time, comfortable seating (no-one on top of each other), friendly/knowledgeable staff, delicious food, reasonably priced. Decided to save the gift card as we will definitely be
returning.
"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

slow

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we had an 8:15 reservation got seated at 8:30 they did not acknowledge my reservation in open table,
drink order was slow, meal was slow to come out and I was served a dish I did not order
I do not intend to return anytime soon
"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Avalon Restaurant - West Chester
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not impressed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2005
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our food took forever, portions were small, and we were sitting close to a vent which was pumping out freezing cold air, in November. Several complaints regarding how cold we were and nothing was done. Slow service and food coming out to the table was also slow. Expensive for the small portion size"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>