Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Georges Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Georges

Georges in San Francisco's financial district is dedicated to offering sustainable seafood and locally-grown organic produce in a friendly atmosphere at fair prices. Georges will be open for lunch and dinner and is a great place to gather after work.
81 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(81 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
(35)
4 stars
(30)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(31)
  • great for lunch(17)
  • neighborhood gem(14)
  • special occasion(10)
  • notable wine list(6)
  • vibrant bar scene(4)
Georges Reviews List
Review 1 for Georges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good all around

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I literally licked the bowl after ordering the cioppino, got every crumb of the calamari and enjoyed the sandwich.
George himself served us, was friendly and made our lunch very enjoyable. Nice place"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Georges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great for seafood

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"we ahd a terrific dinner - first time there - too bad it was the last night - closing for new owners and new name. Too bad - chefs going elsewhere!"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Georges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"No silverware at my seat. Twice. The wine I ordered out of stock. Twice. Table was not served bread. Grilled artichoke appetizer very good. Trout good. Monkfish drowned in broth."
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Georges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good but didn't live up to the reviews. Parking on a side street at a meter was inconvenient. Wouldn't go back"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Georges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2008
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The host and server were attentive. The food was excellent. The noise level was not too high that I could not hear my friend."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Georges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Financial District gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"One of my favorite restaurants for lunch or dinner in Financial District...great seafood, salads & appetizers. Warm, hospitable staff. Popular happy hour meeting place."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Georges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Friday special soup - to die for!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Every Friday they prepare a fresh cioppino soup (italian seafood/tomato based). Its delicious, has a little spice kick, and absolutely filled with seafood.
From now on, I know where I will be spending my Friday lunches."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Georges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2000
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2000
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I've been to Georges twice - once for happy hour and this time during restaurant week. Food was great and our server was outstanding! Only complaint I had on food is that their lentil patty was bit greasy but their albacore Tuna was outstanding!"
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2000
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Georges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent service!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went here for Dine About Town and really enjoyed the food! The service was great as well. We'll be back!"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Georges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Why don't more people know about this place?

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 1999
Dined on 1/10/2015
 1999
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Georges is great. It is right in the heart of the financial district and therefore deservedly busy at lunch. We went Saturday evening before a movie at the Embarcadero (a half-block away) and it was half empty (downtown is dead). But the food and service were excellent. The sea bass and spaghetti with tuna meatballs were full of flavor and very satisfying. They make a great Caesar ; the calamari was light and fresh, and the oyster shooters were a surprising delight! Each time I've been there, the front-of-house manager has been most welcoming an helpful: this was no exception. Great find!"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 1999
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Georges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice spot in the financial district

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Don't be put off by the location or outside appearance, this is a great place once inside."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Georges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tasty Appetizers & Great Desserts

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had dinner at Georges in December and ordered a few appetizers which were all very good. We had the whole dungeness crab, the line caught Hawaiian Ono ceviche, and the goat cheese, wild mushroom, and arugula pizza. My husband, daughter, and I shared these items and enjoyed our meal. However, the waitress who took our order was quite cold and not very accommodating. She basically seemed quite snooty and not very customer service oriented. We still had a nice time because we enjoyed each other´s company and the food. As for the desserts, they were very good especially the fennel panna cotta with berries. Yummy!"
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Georges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved it!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were staying the night in SF and wanted good food, but nothing too fancy for our kids. Found this restaurant on Yelp and was able to get a table right away. its not a kid place, but we went early and they took really good care of us. We all loved the mussels, calamari and artichoke apps, our entrees were great, and they even made a cheese pizza for the kids. Super good service too. Our server had us fed and happy in about an hour, which is perfect for two tired kids. I would definitely recommend George's...kids or not."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Georges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and service!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Small restaurant but the food was great and attentive service. Some unique menu items . Oyster shooters , Hawaiian Ono ceviche, mint spaghetti with tuna meatballs- all amazing! Recommend highly"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Georges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent place for lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They have a great menu. It's a little noisy but they took very good care of my party. You can watch them cook-all is done perfectly. And it's pretty!"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2004
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Georges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent menu and food brought down to very good by too much salt! The artichoke appetizer was excellent. Mains were marred by way too much salt. Good wine list, including wine by the glass choices."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Georges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Slow and uneven service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I cannot recommend this restaurant, at least to young clients or if you value prompt service.
We came into the restaurant, got our pre-booked table immediately and ordered two cocktails and main courses (+ some wines to go with the mains). The main courses took 20 minutes to arrive, the cocktails took 25 minutes. We asked for our cocktails twice during that time. Faced with the choice of either having our cocktails or wines get warm or our mains getting cold, we chose to drop the wines. Once we had finished our mains, it took 15 minutes and two waves for the waiters to spot us despite our table being right next to the bar. Needless to say, we didn't order dessert.
The strange part is that a group of ladies (30+ years older than us with multiple Vuitton bags each) sat next to us a bit before our mains arrived (that is, 10+ minutes before we got our cocktails we ordered 15 minutes ago) and were served their aperitifs immediately.
The food was good, the cocktails averaged at "decent". The other one had too much alcohol peeking out of it, the other was good.
The atmosphere is noisy - be prepared for that. The waiter and my wife had trouble hearing me (I do have a soft voice, but I usually get heard).
Also note that the menu at Opentable is an old one and doesn't reflect the current one.
Addendum: we're a ~30-year-old married couple who dress neatly and dine regularly at good restaurants. Does this count or why was our service this bad?"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Georges
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"30-minute wait in spite of a 12:30 lunch reservation; $17 for two small pieces of fish in a fish taco. No reason to return when there are so many options."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Georges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Dining in Financial District

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Georges is an upscale downtown restaurant with a sophisticated and light/fun atmosphere. The food is fresh, beautifully presented, and delicious."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Georges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pleasantly Surprised

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were headed to the Punch Line for a show and we found this place nearby. The food was fantastic, especially the gnocci and calamari. Service was a bit aloof and it took a long time for our food to come out."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Georges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Noisy restaurant and slow service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went To Georges for lunch because we didn't want to wait at Tadich. We should have waited and skipped Georges. The citrus kale salad was excellent but I should have asked for dressing on the side because I like only a tiny amount. My husband complained that his Caesar salad was not really traditional Caesar salad. We both ordered a half crab and it took a long time to arrive at the table even though it was a cold dish and they only had to put lemon and melted butter on the plate with it. The restaurant was extremely noisy and not too comfortable. The best part was a Gin and Tonic made with local Terroir gin. It is an acquired taste but I am happy I acquired it!"
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2010
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Georges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Enjoyable!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"When I first walked in, the atmosphere seemed more like a coffee shop than fine dining. But George's had been highly recommended by the hotel concierge and other sources, so I gave it a shot. And I'm really glad I did. The food was awesome and both the hostess and the server were very nice and did their jobs perfectly. For dessert, don't miss the "artisan gelato." I eat gelato all the time, and this was the most flavorful pistachio I've ever had."
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2003
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Georges
Based on the average of (59) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
33 out of 37 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic