Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Square One Brewery & Distillery Reviews List

Square One Brewery & Distillery

We are committed to our guests with an obsession for unique brews and spirits, and a passion for good food. The setting is a restored historic building with large outdoor beer garden making our restaurant a one of a kind dining destination. Our menu is large and varied with each dish having a special twist to make it our own. Our on site brewery provides up to 12 beers on tap including ales, pilsners, imperials, cask conditioned ales and seasonal beers. As St. Louis' first micro-distillery we ferment and distill rum and vodka (both straight and with spices and all natural botanicals) gin, and some very tasty liqueurs to be tasted in our Spirits Flight or mixed into your favorite cocktails. We have a full service bar and an excellent wine list all available by the glass or bottle. Square One Brewery and Distillery is a fun relaxed place and a great way to indulge in all the aspects of a fine dinging experience.
See more Square One Brewery & Distillery details
103 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(103 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
(51)
4 stars
(36)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(51)
  • good for groups(43)
  • great for outdoor dining(37)
  • fit for foodies(33)
  • great for lunch(33)
  • great for brunch(22)
Square One Brewery & Distillery Reviews List
Review 1 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything was great. The hostess was a little rude and said I wasn't supposed to be able to make a same-day reservation through OpenTable on Sundays, and said it several times. I told her to take it up with OT. Then she took forever to seat us even though there were amble open tables.
But our waitress was very nice and efficient, and the food was good."
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great find!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"A new place to revisit as their menu has a lot to choose from and the food was very good. The Sunday night fried chicken was the best I have had and we are looking forward to trying the rest of the menu. Crab cakes were cooked very well."
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/21/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/21/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/09/2012
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hit the Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Whether you are wanting a beer and to watch the Cards/Blues game and share appetizers or sit down in the quieter outdoor patio, sip a delicious cocktail, and eat great food, Square One Brewery is for you. There is Mac Mondays, Late night bites, delicious craft beer and liquor made by Square One. The menu has a plethora of appetizers to share along with delicious burgers, salads, and soups (for meat eaters and vegetarians), as well as YUMMY entrees."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great old bar and beautiful garden dining options

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Visit was with business associates and it offered the perfect place to discuss things and enjoy great food and drink."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Staff super friendly; great vegetarian options .

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you want elegance, the elegance is in the food here. If you also want an old building with garden seating and happy diners all around you, you will get it here. Our server was smart and aimed to please making it a very enjoyable experience. Square One does not try to get by solely with its home brewed and distilled drinks. It is a neighborhood gem for sure and should be on everyone's list."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Easter Brunch every year from now on!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Easter Brunch was fabulous!!!! We will be back every year for Easter and Mothers' Day! Wide variety of foods, fresh fruits, grilled veggies, GREAT desserts. Took a while to get a waiter; but, thereafter was awesome!"
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was excellent and the drinks delicious. We always love trying new places and will be back here for sure!"
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Went for my daughter's 29th birthday for brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our reservation was ready when we arrived and our server was great. I wish I remembered his name. We had a 7 year old and a 4 year old and he really catered to their needs as well as us adults. Hope to go back and will recommend to others."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Kid-friendly, great food and amazing beer!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were very impressed from the start... Our table for 7 (2 adults, 5 kids) was ready even when we arrived several minutes before our reservation. Our server, Sarah, was wonderful! She had great recommendations and was friendly. The menu worked for our kids, although actual kid entrees were very limited. Our food came out quickly, and while we waited the incredible beer kept us occupied. The pale ale rivaled for the top spot on our beer list. The trio of dips was only so-so (chips weren't fried until crispy and were soft) however the wings, pulled pork, and pretzels were fab! I loved the atmosphere, even though it was very loud (to be expected with that many people). There was outdoor seating that we would've loved had the weather been warmer. We will visit again for sure!"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Reservations were on time, the hostess was attentive. Our waitress seemed to be okay the first visit. After that she didn't come back our drinks were dry and she was not very attentive or friendly. Her tip went from 20% to 10% sad to say. The pancakes were very good. I would go back and try lunch."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Wasn't impressed with the service, but it was a very busy time when we were there, and the server was genuinely apologetic. The food was good, especially the edamame hummus, and we all liked their beers. I would go back but just not before a game, or on St. Patty's weekend. The outdoor space looks nice too."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great service and very friendly. The host/hostess was able to accommodate us to a larger table (to include more friends) despite the last minute change. We appreciated their willingness, and ended up having a wonderful night among good friends we haven't seen in years!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First Time

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our first time to Square One. We met friends and had a great time. Food and drinks were wonderful. Service was great. Can't wait to return."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome for Valentine's Day

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"2nd year doing their Valentine's course, loved it both times. They don't try to cram in extra tables like other restaurants I've been to on this day which is a big plus. Food, beer, cocktails- all delicious! Not sure all the pairing were "right", but that's just the geek coming out."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great gem tucked into the city

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We chose Square One for lunch on our way to the Budweiser brewery tour and were not disappointed. The beers were certainly well thought out, but lean toward the hoppy side. My husband's sandwich was very tasty and filling, but my cajun chicken sandwich left much to be desired. The only redeeming feature was the sauce, which they happily brought more of. If we return, I certainly would not repeat that order. We were unable to enjoy the spirits due to our plans for the day, but look forward to a return trip to sample those as well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They were ready with suggestions and knew their beers and menu well. Overall, a good lunch stop!"
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Always solid but never over

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went here for dinner for Valentine's day. We were sat right next to the patio door so had to hear "thump" ever 3 minutes or so. Someone has to sit there, I guess, but when you make a reservation over a month in advance you wonder why you get stuck with the "worst" table.
The beer was good, as always. Barlywine was quiet good. We both got the pot roast. Which was very good. Portion was a little small. So small my girlfriend was still hungry afterword. So we ordered an appetizer after the meal.
Service was good. Overall a solid experience."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for dinner and beer

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The beer selection was outstanding. Everything available for people with various tastes. Menu had lots of interesting items. The food we selected off the daily menu was perfect. I can hardly wait to go back and try more of the beer and food choices."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Lunch/Beer spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Two friends and I went for lunch. The host was a nice greeter. The waitress was very pleasant and helpful with both the beer selection and food. We each has the bison burger. The bison was cooked exactly as I had requested. It was one of the best bison burgers that I have had. the beer reccomended was very good as well. We were there for about two hours and the waitress was attentive and pleasant. The atmosphere was quiet and decor was average bar atmosphere. Overall it was great experience and will be returning soon.
Keep it up Square One.
"
Dined on 2/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great place to meet up with family/friends for brunch on Sundays. The waitstaff has always been great with kids, and never makes us feel rushed."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, kid-friendly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food and Friendly, Fast Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"You won't regret visiting Square One. We had reservations for 7:30 and arrived early at 7:00 when we were promptly seated for my husband's 50th. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks and appetizers and then ordered our dinners. Friends raved about the duck and shrimp and grits. I and another friend had the mahi mahi tacos and crab cakes, which weren't the best in our opinion, but just okay. This wouldn't stop us from coming back though. The waitress was incredible and atmosphere was great as well. I'll just try something else next time! Beer selection was great as well."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Tried the Shrimp and Grits for the first time and I have to say it was delicious! Never diappointed when we visit."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food great and beer great. Always good. All around great."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The beer was wonderful and so was the service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a reservation at Square One but arrived early and we were seated right away. The restaurant and bar were very busy. Our server did a great job recommending items and the service was great. We had the beer pretzels with our first round of beer. There were two of them and they were warm and wonderful. They came from Companion Bakery so that explained why they were so good. Both my husband and I had large salads for dinner. He had the spinach salad with chicken and I had the cobb salad. What a treat, the greens in the cobb were so fresh and colorful, no iceberg here. I eliminated the bacon and cheddar cheese but there was still plenty of things to make it a hearty salad. Really enjoyed our meal."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I booked a reservation for my family (I'm from out of town), and we still had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated. Once seated we received what must have been the worst table in the restaurant. It was at the end of a hall do two of us had to constantly scoot into the table. We ordered mixed drinks off the menu, but the server mixed them up when delivering them to us. Our second round, although they we ordered the same drinks, looked and tasted nothing like the first round. Drinks and water glasses went empty throughout the meal. I could go on, but I think you get the picture. I like this area and really wanted to like this place, but I won't be giving it another try."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Casual & relaxed. Craft beer. Out door courtyard.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Highly recommend. Historic neighborhood. Excellent craft beer selection. Partially covered & heated outside courtyard."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Square One Brewery and Distilery Lafayette Square

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had the opportunity to talk with one of the owners before we left. Confirmed that the the Menu changes on a quarterly basis so what you see on Square One Brewery website may or may not be what is available once you order off the menu in the restaurant. Salad greens with apple cider whiskey vinaigrette dressing was a nice surprise. We also enjoyed the Bavarian Weizen Chicken and Wild Mushroom Ragout with wide flat pasta noodles. A very nice touch is that the staff will allow you to sample any of their handcrafted beers or locally made spirits. Vermont Night with an infusion of maple syrup is excellent."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good time

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were early for our reservation but still got to sit immediately. The server was attentive but not overbearing. Food and beer were very good! Loved the three varieties of stouts!"
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Too loud, out of food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My party of 6 collectively thought that the music was too loud; now we were seated very close to a speaker. The average age of our party is about 35 years old but I was the youngest and I am the one that strongly felt the music should be turned down. After asking our server to turn the music down a bit, we did not notice a change in the volume. The overall service from our waiter was acceptable. The server noted that the kitchen was out of several ingredients for dishes that several people wanted, so some of us had to choose other dishes. The price compared to the portions of food did not match; we all wished there were more food for what we paid. Besides the noise and being out of certain ingredients, we had a good time but would not go back for a group gathering."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Square One Brewery & Distillery
Based on the average of (62) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
52 out of 55 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic