Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling Reviews List

Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling

Pete Miller's has been serving the finest prime-aged steaks, fresh seafood and the country's best live jazz to the Chicago area since 1994. The Pete Miller's experience takes you through the grand days of post World War II as live swingin' jazz fills the air while you feast on great steaks, pastas, fresh seafood and enjoy the world's best wines. Pete Miller's two locations in Evanston and Wheeling each has its own unique charm and character, as well as its own distinct menu.
See more Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling details
421 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(421 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 421 reviews
5 stars
(163)
4 stars
(134)
3 stars
(69)
2 stars
(35)
1 star
(20)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(193)
  • romantic(115)
  • good for groups(91)
  • fit for foodies(90)
  • great for outdoor dining(62)
  • neighborhood gem(62)
Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling Reviews List
Review 1 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/28/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/30/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2002
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2002
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Outstanding meal and service. Background music(piano and singer) made conversation difficult at times."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good streak and seafood

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Had the NY strip. Excellent steak done perfectly medium rare. My wife had seafood that she thoughts was very good. Never had a bad meal here. Would recommend."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2003
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great good! I love the ambiance!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We went there for my boyfriend's birthday. I'm a foodie with high expectations. I didn't find one thing wrong with anything - whether the restaurant, ambiance, music, waiter or food. It was perfect from start to finish. We will go back again for my birthday in two months."
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Fabulous. Food and services"
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent as always"
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

There Are Better Steak Houses

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2006
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"On a Wednesday night the place was almost empty. About four tables in a big dining area. The piano music was early 40's and 50's. Not very good. The food was not exceptional but good.
It was a special occasion which was not very special. We expected better live music. Maybe some jazz or blues or even rock would have been better."
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another great brunch.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Miller's helped make for a great Easter. Music was right on. Food head the spot. Oyster, lamb and shrimp were great. Crab legs were good if not a bit over cooked. Server did a great job despite returning from a late night shift. Our favorite brunch. Looking forward to Mother's Day."
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/19/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for a special occasion

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"When my dad was in town we needed a place to have a family dinner. Pete Miller's had a great menu andour server, Jennifer worked really hard to make sure we had an excellent dining experience. I will definitely go back."
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Awesome they were wonderful to is and our 9 year old!"
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good restaurant, Bad steak

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Good atmosphere, nice people, food is very average and pricey. I bought a kansas steak it was average, new york steak is impossible to chew, we returned it. Banana desert is nice, cheesecake is bad."
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Received poor service, and food was not that good.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

so disapointed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This was one of our favorite restaurants until last Saturday evening. We have gone there many times for their great prime rib. When I said to the server, "I hope you have some prime rib left." since they often ran out of it, she said, " We don't have it tonight." I was surprised to see it is no longer on the menu at all. It was a speciality there for years. We began going there and have been enjoying it for several years since Don Roth's Blackhawk Restaurant closed a few years ago. The Blackhawk was just a short distance down Milwaukee Avenue in Wheeling from Pete Miller's and had the best prime rib ever. I have noticed Miller's has not been as busy as it used to be. If they are trying to cut costs by discontinuing serving prime rib, it is too bad because we will not return any time soon. I did order a very delicious steak and my friend had fish that he enjoyed. Entrees are served with only one side and no salad. There are lots of extras available at an upcharge. I guess all good things end too soon."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Bad and good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The young man at the host station said nothing to me when I walked in. I stood there looking around when he started to say hello then a waitress walked up and he turned to her. I was the only customer at the host station and thought taking care of a customer would come first. I met a friend at the bar. The bartender Dave greeted us and took our order. He was personable. When asked about his favorite dishes he spoke confidently and went on to share the specials for the night. After seated in the dining room, we waited a long time for our waitress despite the place being less than full. She wanted to take our drink order then said you probably want to chat and went to leave. I had to ask about the specials before she left. Our entrees were great! We had to ask 3 different people and wait 15 minutes for more bread. Our waitress was slow to return to the table and ask about our meal. Not acceptable as the dining room was not packed by any means. Bad host, bad waitress, good bartender, good meal."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Avoid this locations, seems to have an issue

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Went there to celebrate my birthday with my wife. Arrived and it was extremely cold (less than 65 degrees by my estimate). Waitress agreed with me and said others she was serving had said the same. Spoke with the manager who said we could sit at the bar where it was warmer (not what we wanted and was not warmer in any event). We left, had dinner elsewhere and will not be going back. Have been there periodically in the past as well as the Evanston location. Always was good in the past. Surprised that it seems to have gone down hill."
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicous meal and excellent service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My husband and I shared a rib-eye steak and it was delicious and cooked to perfection. Our waitress (Jennifer may have been her name, not sure) was attentive and professional but not overbearing.
If you're looking to splurge a bit, and you like steak, this is the place to go."
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Going Downhill?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Early Saturday morning a group of us were looking for a place to dine that night. We checked reservations at our usual spots, but they were all full. No surprise. Same day Saturday reservations at good places in the Chicago area are hard to find. I know the area better than my neighbors, so I expanded the search. I remembered places in “Restaurant Row” on Milwaukee Ave in Wheeling. I remembered liking Pete Millers. We had been there at least 4 or 5 times before, but not for a few years. I was surprised to find several open reservations for that same evening during prime dinner hours, so I booked one. I thought “why would there be so many open times same day? Have they gone downhill?” Well, I found the answer to that was yes. The atmosphere is still nice. The jazz band was nice. The bad part - the servers and back servers were doing all kinds of service no-no’s, actually bordering on rude and seemed to care less that we were there, as if they were mad at someone, poorly managed and/or did not like working there. The main server was passable, but late, unpolished and doing a few things wrong. The point is, for that price range (I was surprised and thought it was pricier than before), you would expect the service to be in the better-than-average to stellar range. It fell way, way short of that. Lateness and rudeness, even from back staff, is not acceptable in a pricey restaurant, especially when you're not busy. My neighbor really liked his bone-in ribeye. His wife would not touch her lobster ravioli. We agreed the sauce was tasteless. My Delmonico was not good (too fatty and gristly), but I ate most of it because I was hungry. My wife liked the sea bass. The saving grace of the main server was that she arranged for a refund for the ravioli and offered a free dessert. Afterwards, my wife and I asked ourselves the usual “would we go again”. The answer was no. Not for those prices, iffy dishes and the thought of bad service."
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Classic steakhouse

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Pete Miller's is a classic steakhouse type of restaurant; prices are in line with similar places. Went on a Saturday night, food was very good, there was a small band ( they advertise live jazz) but it was easy to converse music wasn't loud. Saw previous day reviews that said service was bad-our waitress seemed actually to be trying too hard but was very attentive"
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2006
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I really like the ambiance at Pete's.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I really like the ambiance at Pete's. To me, it has a very warm feeling to it. Subtle light and very tasteful. Steaks were good and Fire Cracker Shrimp appetizer was awesome. The steamed asparagus was uninspiring though, I would much rather have it grilled or baked."
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service and noise level

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Our server was great at first, then he became unhappy with management (which we thought unprofessional of the server). Apparently upon making our reservation, we were supposed to be told that February 13th was a 1 1/2-hour-limit seating night because of Valentines Day the following day. We were never informed and were celebrating 2 birthdays. It was a special night that we do annually. Management was telling our server that he had to move us along as our time was almost up. We stayed anyway, having desert and coffee, but apparantely management was getting really upset and so was our server with management. Strange evening...
The room gets really loud when the band begins playing in the bar around 7:00. We forgot that they have live entertainment and couldn't hear each other talk. This is not a complaint, just what the restaurant offers..."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 2/12/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Rather disappointed..food was nothing special especially 4 the price. .I ordered a scotch neat and was automatically charged a 2 oz pour only bc it was ordered neat..sounds like on the rocks is a 1.5 oz pour..foods was nothing special. .tasted like something I could do on the my own grill. We sat in the bar..they had a lady on the piano which was nice & our server was really nice. .it's was a Wednesday after valentine's day & we were essentially the only ones in the place. .for what we paid I'd much rather just go into the city & over pay at one of the better steak houses"
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/16/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Manager not willing to reseat us when asked

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Dined on the Saturday before Valentine's day at 6pm with my wife. Checked in 10 minutes before our reservation and eagerly watched as "couple after couple" who arrived AFTER us were seated BEFORE us. When it was our turn to be seated, we were placed in the covered patio with 5 other tables, one of which had a screaming toddler; no ambience and a nice view of the parking lot. We asked politely to be re-sat in the dining area but were repeatedly told that it was not a possibility due to other reservations that evening. When I went into the dining room, I counted at least 15 tables that were open and at least 2 couples that were seated before us, where in the dining room. The manager gave us some run around about "each reservation gets assigned a table and she is unable to reseat". We were even willing to wait to be sat in the dining room, but she refused. We were very disappointed. We contemplated leaving, but it was our first date-night, as new parents, and already had a babysitter, so we didn't want to ruin our time together. When we finished dinner, I again, went into the dining room and found 5-10 tables open!!
The food and server were great, but the ambience and overal experience was poor and we were very disappointed that no one was willing to work with us. We never expected this from a high-end establishment.
"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Valentine day

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I'm not be back there. Restaurant been empty and we seat in the back of the room .
And food that day been overpriced .
"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very Ordinary / Very Overpriced

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Below average relative to the pricing. Great atmosphere w/ the live music and décor. But, the flavor and taste of our $40+ steaks and the tradional steak house sides fell flat. No one at our table of 8 said wow, or Yum, or Ahhhh. :( I was upset since I wanted my guest to have special meal.
For the price go to Gibsons, Hugos, Mortons, Chop house, or a dozen other choices locally if want to say WOW, that was worth it!
Even meat on the presentation platter did not look very appealing after we had to ask to see it? For me, it seems this place would be more suitable for an appetizer and cocktail with your better half while listing to live music to kill time.
Lets just say on a snowy valentines day night, with half restaurant at capacity if truly was disappointing for my mom and grandma I treated."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pete Miller's excels in all aspects of fine dining

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My wife and I visited Pete Miller's Seafood & Prime Steak - Wheeling for Valentine's Day 2016 and enjoyed a sublime experience notable for succulent steaks, exquisite wine, relaxing jazz, and attentive service. Arriving in a snow storm, we were pleased by the warmth of the ambiance and the staff, who were highly responsive and personable throughout the meal. I earned "guy points" (and gentle ribbing from our lead waiter) for taking advantage of the online reservation offer to have flowers delivered to the restaurant, which came off flawlessly and added to our enjoyment of the evening. My wife noted that this was the best Valentine's Day dining experience of our two decades together. Kudos and commendations to the Pete Miller's staff for getting everything right."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Pete Miller's Seafood and Prime Steak - Wheeling
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice Valentine's Day meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Went there for the first time on Valentine's Day with the wife and was not disappointed. Was not as crowded as I expected but that is fine. Everything on the menu looked delicious but settled on the carpaccio and the raw oysters for starters, and the king crab legs and the braised short ribs for dinner. Everything tasted great! The oysters were nice and fresh, and the demi glaze on the braised rib was fantastic. The service was attentive and courteous throughout. We couldn't really hear the live jazz singer from our table but as it was more of a background sound it made for a nice atmosphere for dinner. Might get a little loud with more people and/or larger groups though. Would definitely recommend to others."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>