Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

proof. Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

proof.

We're still at Baum Blvd. We still have great food, stellar service, and a bar you can cozy up to. So why the name change?
With Proof, we want to show you what's in our hearts, on our minds, and most importantly, filling our plates. Chef Mark Samson wants to show you his heritage through crave able dishes with a hint of Southern twang. Bartenders Jon and Dawn want to present an innovative cocktail list, trend-forward beer selection, and a wine program to make Toast proud. And our dynamic front-of-house staff want to transform your old date night standby into your new go-to spot.
76 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(76 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
5 stars
(33)
4 stars
(30)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(42)
  • neighborhood gem(33)
  • notable wine list(30)
  • romantic(29)
  • special occasion(23)
  • hot spot(12)
proof. Reviews List
Review 1 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/18/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/03/2013
 2011
Dined on 8/03/2013
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/03/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2005
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for proof.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun place with reasonably priced wine list.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is a fun place with an interesting and reasonably priced wine list. Thursday nights are burger nights. For only $12 you get a delicious burger, a domestic beer and a shot of burbon. What a deal.
There are of course add ons and options. I had the "Cornbread Crusted Buttermilk Pie" and it was amazingly delicious.
Highly recommended!"
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We just took a group of 8 to Toast! and had excellent time. Since we were a large group, we were able to sit in a more private room upstairs, which was really nice. Our server was amazing - very knowledgeable about the menu & very friendly. Every thing that we ordered was delicious - especially the cornbread, fried chicken, and shrimp & grits. Yum!!!"
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great little place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Let me begin by stating that the service was AWESOME ---- the food AWESOME ---- the atmosphere allows you to hold a conversation --- it is a cozy little spot.
Wine selection was AWESOME .... highly recommend"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for proof.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/18/2014
 2008
Dined on 10/18/2014
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was fine, nothing exceptional. However, it was accompanied by service with an unpleasant attitude. For a place that calls itself a wine bar, we thought the selection was quite limited, with maybe 7 choices for white wine, most of which tended toward sweet. The server responded rudely when I commented on this, but then upon returning to take our order, encouraged me to taste two different selections. It was still uncomfortable. We have too many other options in the East End (with refined service and excellent food and wine) to return to Toast."
Dined on 10/18/2014
 2008
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous find!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant is a hidden gem! The food was amazing especially the brussel sprouts! Our waiter was so friendly and made wonderful suggestions. We would definitely return!!"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for proof.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great special for restaurant week

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great apptz ..yummy brussel sprouts, cheese plate and corn bread!! The onion soup with crab was fantastic and a reason I may need to go back!!! Everybody enjoyed their entrees. Mine the mushroom was great!! Though there was a forgotten salad at our table and to fet somebodies attention was difficult."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very nice evening.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Excellent food and great service made the evening an overall good experience. Definitely on our return list."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for proof.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Everything was average, at best. Service was slow. Hamburger ordered rare was well done. Ambiance was marginal - music louder than necessary. Would not go back."
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2006
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Overall excellent experience. Food and service were outstanding."
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Cozy little place with great food and specials

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is a cozy little place with a freindly staff and great specials. My wife and I have been heer twice now and it has not disappointed. Thursday Beer, Bourbon, and Burger night is unbeleivable. Great burger and a great price, make sure you get reservations because it will fill up fast. We want again on a Friday so that we could try other selections, I had the Nashville fried chicken and my wife had the shrimp and grits. They both were exceleent choices. The chicken came with 3 big pieces of chicken with just a toach of heat and it was complimented nicely with the sweetnes of the molasis and the greens. The mac and cheese was great also. The chicken was cooked perfectly and the protion was big enough that I had to get 1 piece of chicken to go. My wife loved the shrimp and grits. I cannot give you too much of a review as I only was able to steal a taste of the grits. We cannot wait to go back on a Wednesday for 1/2 price bottle of wine. Only downside was that there is limited parking."
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for proof.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great but...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our experience overall was really good. The ambience, service, and food were really good. Having said that there were some downfalls. The meals were disproportionate. The Nashville Fried chicken was excellent but there was enough to feed a small third world country, while the Hanger Steak left my husband hungry and he ate again when we got home. The upside is that they source locally and make items like their sausage in house. They have a very limited bar, featuring about 20 selections of wine, which is very over priced. The bottle we bought was $36, the least expensive on the menu. We found that same wine as a special order online at $7.50 a bottle when you buy a case. Overall, really good food, nice intimate place and our server was great. On the downside, parking is very limited on Baum, but free after 6, menu is over priced - well prepared but disproportionate, and bar is limited. I was disappointed they had no artisan Bloody Mary's."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for proof.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Awful!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The waiter was the very worst my husband and I had ever encountered and we eat out at Pittsburghs finer restaurants, Eleven, Casbah etc., We asked what vegetables were offered that evening and he suggested we read the menu. Reservation for 12 at 6:00 pm. Waiter never took our order till 6:35 and food did not come till 7:15. We had company come in from out of town and this dinner was most embarassing. We had 2 empty bottles of wine and 7 empty wine glasses on the table for over half an hour befor the waiter ever came around. By that time we just wanted out!"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for proof.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went for New Year's Eve. Did the che'f selection with the wine pairings. Had to send two out of four courses back. The lamb was overcooked and extrememly fatty. However, the skate was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious. Wonderful to see that on a menu as it's hard to find, for some reason. The lemon cannoli missed the mark, however.
Service was good and the bar area very cozy.
"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yum!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was really good and the service was excellent. If you aren't paying attention when you order a glass of wine, you might end up spending more than you thought."
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for proof.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Toast?

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Drafty restaurant with poor service, just average food but highly priced wines in an old building that could have been decorated by Morticia Adams. Be careful if you dine on the second floor, the steep and narrow stairs could be lethal for patrons with cardiac disease or after imbibing too much wine!"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for proof.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Toast

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sommelier was knowledgable and eager to match food with wine."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for proof.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2012
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food for the price great service would go back and recommend it to our friends large portions of food."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for proof.
Based on the average of (55) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
41 out of 46 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic