Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Straits Restaurant - Burlingame Reviews List

Straits Restaurant - Burlingame

Singapore for almost 200 years has been at the crossroads of Southeast Asia, where many cultures and nationalities live, work and more importantly, eat together. Singapore's cuisines logically reflect this cultural diversity. The four major culinary cultures -- Malaysian/Indonesian, Chinese, Indian and Nonya -- are in fact a blend of each other, creating a new cuisine that is unique and more complex in flavors and fragrances. Straits offers a menu that features the complexity of all these Singaporean cuisines in chef Chris Yeo's unique interpretation. This Asian-Zen inspired Burlingame location opened in August of 2004.
See more Straits Restaurant - Burlingame details
154 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(154 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 154 reviews
5 stars
(42)
4 stars
(68)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(12)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(48)
  • fit for foodies(40)
  • neighborhood gem(27)
  • hot spot(25)
  • vibrant bar scene(23)
  • special occasion(22)
Straits Restaurant - Burlingame Reviews List
Review 1 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/27/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2004
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2000
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2000
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Quick Bite Before Catching Flight from SFO

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had a quick bite here before catching a red-eye from SFO - the waiter was very attentive to bring us our food/drinks quickly and everything was delicious!"
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2005
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/21/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Hovering service staff

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"3 times the waitress asked if we liked our food, which we did.
The busboy kept hanging out by our table to clear it quickly when we were finished. Even though there were many open tables it felt like they wanted to turn over our table.
"
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Family Favorite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This is our go-to place for my son, who fell in love with Straits a few years ago. We've dined here to celebrate special occasions, including his high school graduation, and of course had to have a special dinner there before he flew back to college the other night. This is our special place, and it never disappoints. There is something for the entire family, including "picky" eaters. Servers are attentive and offer great suggestions. It can get loud in the dining room, but that just means everyone is having a fab time."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Hainan chicken is poached - not fried.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2002
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2002
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The food was prepared stupidly, the wait staff worked hard"
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food and service - we had the satay and duck sliders which were amazing. My chicken with lemongrass was exceptional! We will be back!"
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/30/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, but poor service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went on New Years Eve, at sbout 9pm. Although the restaurant was not full, it was a good 20 minutes before our waiter showed up. Food came fast though. Loud backgroind music that I thought was fun, but it is tough to have a conversation over it"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/12/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have dined here often and have our favorites! As always it has been very tasty: Murtabak appetizer, beef rendang with rice - love it love it love it!"
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/04/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 11/30/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very Dissappointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service and quality has dropped significantly.
When we entered Straits, the phone was ringing, the restaurant was almost empty, and it took about 5 minutes to get seated. One of the cooks seated us after we approached the kitchen area.
Our waitress was rude and abrupt. When my lunch companion ordered hot tea, the waitress scoffed and said, "Well what do you want me to do with your glass of water?" We replied, "we will drink it."
We ordered the chocolate lava cake at the same time we ordered our entree, and she reacted as if we were crazy. We replied that we eat at Straits often, and we love the lava cake, and since this is a business lunch, we want to order it, so we can enjoy it before rushing back to the office.
The butter chicken has no white meat, and was sinewy. The waitress came to clear our plates and asked if we wanted anything else. When we mentioned the lava cake we had ordered, she said, "Well that is going to take 15 mins."
We reminded her that we placed the order for the cake the same time we placed the food order. She threw her hands up in the air and said, "Well I've been busy and pointed to the rest of the restaurant (which had about 15 people max)".
When we clarified on her response, she said, "No I forgot to order it, do you want it or not?" At that point in time, we decided, since this was a business lunch, we needed to get back to our office.
Another attendee gave us the check. We waited another 10 minutes, and our waitress refused to look our direction. Finally I walked the check to her and asked her to run my credit card.
Straits needs to do better hiring, training, and coaching their staff if they expect to stay in business much longer. We have been sending many people there for business meetings. But after that experience, we will not anymore.
We left disappointed."
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wonderful for a Sunday brunch/lunch with family! We went the day after the Stanford game & had an amazing time with our family. Great conversation, great service, & they even took a to-go order for us & had it ready right on time! Overall, it was a great experience. Two, very enthusiastic thumbs up!"
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straits Restaurant - Burlingame
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>