Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cafe il Nido Reviews List

Cafe il Nido

Here's a city gem as hidden as a Mafioso in the witness-protection program. This courtyard patio tucked away between the Manhattan Apartments has that" La Dolce Vita" atmosphere.
See more Cafe il Nido details
145 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(145 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 145 reviews
5 stars
(56)
4 stars
(64)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(69)
  • neighborhood gem(63)
  • special occasion(63)
  • fit for foodies(51)
  • great for lunch(36)
  • great for outdoor dining(31)
Cafe il Nido Reviews List
Review 1 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 02/02/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2008
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yumm

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Perfectly prepared salmon with a delicious Tiramisu to finish"
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 03/04/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was brutal and the food was mediocre"
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

very enjoyable Food was good, servive fab!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We came to this restaurant for dine-out and the food was only mediocre. We weren't greeted very warmly either and we felt as though the staff just wanted us to speed up and leave as quickly as possible. On a positive note, the patio looks like it would be nice in the summer."
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great value

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2007
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I was pleased and surprised on several levels with our dinner at Cafe il Nido.
The Dine Out menu was more extensive and varied than other restaurants that we looked at. Service was attentive and responsive without being overbearing. Food service was prompt.
Food quality was good. All of our dishes were tastey. Portion size was good.
The room is small and intimate. The restaurant was busy, but noise levels were ok.
Worth a repeat visit."
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We enjoyed our food very much

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/01/2014
 2014
Dined on 24/01/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 24/01/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 19/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 15/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A quiet place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"3 work colleagues attended for an annual celebratory lunch. The quiet ambiance and excellent service were perfect for our needs. All of our food was excellent, with high marks for the Funghi appetizer. Small but excellent selection of wines well matched to the food. We will be back."
Dined on 12/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Whats your issue...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Not sure what people see in this place or why we were treated poorly. We made reservations at this restaurant well in advance so that we could have a nice dinner before NYE festivities. When we arrived at the location never having been there before, we weren't even sure if it was open. We were not greeted at the door and were looked up and down as to why we were even there. It wasn't like we weren't dressed up and we have eaten at much nicer places with no trouble. The service was rushed and abrupt...possibly because the manager of the establishment was "pounding" a fine rosé when ever returning to the bar. The very young female servers seemed to be running scared frantically topping up our water. When leaving we were told "excuse me I just need..." while pointing at the check book. Really made us feel like we were not going to pay...
We would like to thank the chief because the food was very nice! Fresh, flavourful and well plated. It would be fare to say that the chief is under paid as we believe that he/she is keeping this establishment a float.
We were greatly disappointed by the service we received and will not recommend Cafe il Nido. However the name of the restaurant made for some humorous jokes throughout the weekend!"
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"it's tucked away, but it's a total hidden gem, AND the staff were great. 6 of us went there for our new year dinner and I would definitely return, I've already recommended to more than a handful of people. thanks a lot Cafe Il Nido, you guys were a great start to a great night."
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We enjoyed our dinner at il Nido. We recommend it others too"
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Italian food. Good selection of wine.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 28/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/12/2015
 2009
Dined on 22/12/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 22/12/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/12/2015
 2007
Dined on 23/12/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 23/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A fabulous little oasis in the city"
Dined on 22/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good but not fantastic

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My family went here for a birthday dinner for my adult aged son (it was his choice). The ambiance was nice and quiet, the service was excellent but the food was just ok. I had the calamari which ended up being squid rings, no batter served with a tomato sauce. Can't say that I liked it was the tomato sauce overpowered the calamari. We also had the Polpettine which are meat balls, tomato sauce and grated pecorino cheese. These were pretty good so no complaints.
For dinner, two of us had the lasagne. It was pretty good except for a touch too much salt and not enough mozza. My daughter had the carbonara and she said it was good. My husband had the salmon and he said it was delicious.
All in all, we won't be coming here again as it's too expensive and the food taste wasn't quite up to my standards (guess who the foodie is).....and our bill was around $250 incl drinks!!."
Dined on 03/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 04/12/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 04/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Il Speedo

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"From the time we sat down, ordered our food and a glass of wine, to the food arriving and finishing the meal was a total of 30 minutes. Decent food but no atmosphere for a dinner with my wife. Wham bam here's the tab. Will not return."
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great gluten-free options

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife has celiac disease and was ecstatic over the number of good gluten-free options, and the food was wonderful"
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, not a great environment

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2012
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant is kind of tucked in the back of a little building and not particularly attractive. The service was adequate. When I called to inform them that I would be 10 minutes late for my reservation they made it seem like it was a big deal but then when we arrived there were many tables empty for the duration of our visit. The food was very good and authentic tasting Italian fare. The wine list was limited but we were still able to find something that paired well with our meal.
Overall this place is probably worth a try if you dine out often but certainly not worthy of a special occasion."
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Excellent Italian food. Hot and tasty. Attentive service. A little gem!!"
Dined on 16/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 13/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 13/11/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 13/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not worth the high price tag!!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We came back to Il Nido as we had a $20 gift certificate that we had received from a previous occasion where my steak was not done to order. We wanted a place with a good buzz but not too loud to be able to have a good conversation. That part was great. The owner is friendly but our meal went downhill from there.
I had the specials of the day. Portobello mushroom soup and steak with a peppercorn sauce. The soup was heavy and lacked texture of flavours and was an unappealing dark brown gravy in appearance. The steak...very bad!! The first cut into sinew was a bad sign and the quality of the cut was really disappointing. The portion was not large and neither were the portions the non-descript vegetables or potatoes.
My husband had the carpaccio which he thought had too much lettuce (not just arugula) and his overcooked breaded veal with a marsala sauce was heavy and looked like the sauce had been darkened by an oxo cube. Our friends had Caprese salads to start and the tomatoes looked rather anemic and unappetizing.
Two of us ordered lemoncello cheese cake and were told they were sold out. How crazy is that when they only have two cakes and the rest is gelato. The Spanish coffee I ordered did not come with sugar-coated rim which is pretty standard and it had amaretto in it which it should not have.
The service left a lot to be desired near the end. A glass of wine was removed without the glass being empty although they brought another glass when this was pointed out. There was also a language barrier that made the experience somewhat difficult and that had also been the case on our previous visit.
The shock came at the end of the meal. We had four cocktails, a beer and two bottles of wine for the four of us. Our bill, minus the gift certificate not including tip, came to $400. I would have expected some "omgs or yums" at that price and not the underwhelming meal that we had."
Dined on 07/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Yummy food"
Dined on 05/11/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food and even more amazing service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Me and my lunch date ordered 2 pastas. Having lived in Italy, I have quite a high expectation for the pastas at authentic Italian restaurants in Vancouver. The moment I tasted my first 'forkful', I knew I was in the right place. The flavours had soaked into the pasta, and the pasta was cooked just right. To top it off, the owner of the restaurant served us one of the best tiramisu that I have ever had, on the house! Our experience there could not have been better. It's a hidden gem - literally - as in it's hidden behind the walls of a Starbucks cafe on Robson. I would recommend this restaurant to all of my foodie friends and will definitely be going back there again soon."
Dined on 05/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/03/2011
 2010
Dined on 28/03/2011
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 28/03/2011
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Perfect Business Lunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 22/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Il Nido has just the right atmosphere, quiet enough to have a conversation but private enough that you can do so in confidence. The food is always perfect and the service excellent."
Dined on 22/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 23/10/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 23/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Have dined at Il Nido a number of times and it has always been an enjoyable experience"
Dined on 21/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Cafe il Nido
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 21/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 21/10/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>