Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sola - Bryn Mawr Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Sola - Bryn Mawr

At Sola, our mission is to be regarded as an outstanding fine dining destination & a valued treasure of the Main Line & greater community.
We strive to serve contemporary cuisine in an intimate & pleasing room with the proper level of service (not too much, not too little). We want our guests to enjoy the window of time that they spend with us, savoring their food & wine & enjoying the company of their friends & family.
Our intent is to always remain a BYOB, knowing how important that is to many of our guests. Sola will provide a dynamic menu, driven by what is available fresh for the season. The expectation is that everyone will find a number of choices that appeal to their palate.
Our wish is that most of our guests will become regulars & will view us a spot they can enthusiastically recommend to their friends & can rely on when hosting visitors.
44 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(44 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • neighborhood gem(25)
  • special occasion(17)
  • romantic(14)
  • good for groups(2)
  • great for outdoor dining(1)
Sola - Bryn Mawr Reviews List
Review 1 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Restaurant!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been going to Sola for years and find the food, service and ambiance to be consistently excellent. I strongly recommend it."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very yummy!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was excellent! Everything we got was so great! It was a bit pricey though, but the truth is, you get what you pay for and they make sure of that at Sola."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We met a friend there to hear about some major changes in his life while sharing a leisurely meal together. The folly in our plan became obvious after the third time in 10 minutes that our waiter asked us if we were ready to order - he'd described the specials, we'd just opened the bubbly and had yet to take more than a sip each. Our menus remained unopened on the table, and we were clearly taking a few minutes to relax and prepare for a good meal. No, we were not ye ready to order. Of course, conversation was tough because of the amazingly high noise level, so we relented after the third try and ordered our meal. Our friend found the fois gras appetizer to be just OK, as was my wife's octopus - nothing to write home about. I had the duck confit appetizer special, which was duck but not confit......it was a nice leg with good taste, but it was just a leg of duck. The Cornish hen was similarly ordinary, and the seared tuna my wife and I ordered separately was equally dry and bland in both portions. So the service was pushy and the food only fair - but I got to rub elbows with the guy at the next table - every time I turned to my right.......yes, it's also a bit crowded. There are too many excellent restaurants in the area (many of which are also BYOs) for us to return."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It is definitely a very nice space for a romantic/special occasion if the noise level is a little lower than the night we were there. Fortunately, we were seated in a table that was in the back and a little separate from the other diners, as there were 2 parties of 8 which were quite loud. However, the food and service was terrific. Will definitely go again."
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Saturday night Main Line fine dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"All four of us had a very good dinner Saturday night. The dining room is small and quiet. The menu is large enough for variety, but not overwhelming. The food was very, very good, running the gamut for us from foie gras to salmon. The service was outstanding; everyone there could not do enough for us, and we were a fussy group; they accommodated us on everything. It is one of the very few restaurants in Lower Merion that I feel is on a par with a good Center City restaurant for a Saturday night dinner out."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Met another couple for dinner on a Saturday night and this intimate BYOB. Our reservation was for 6:15, the only time we could get that evening. The small dining room of 12-15 tables filled quickly, though. When full, it felt cramped, but not really uncomfortable. The noise level also never got to the point where it was a strain to maintain conversation.
As soon as we sat down, we were offered water and they opened and poured our wine. The waiter and servers were all highly professional and personable. The menu is limited in options, but there is something for everyone. The food is straightforward, but still creative, and was exquisite throughout, although we thought that the entrees were a bit small. While the service was attentive and the tone was always courteous, it became clear during the course of the evening that they were counting on us leaving by a certain time for later reservations.
While they weren't pushy, they did come around frequently to see 'how everything was'. We dined for just a little over two hours and would have spent a bit more time enjoying our wine and our company who came in from over an hour away. However, we began to feel guilty about holding the table, so left and ended up going somewhere else for a nightcap (and a little more food). Again, I do understand the need to turn tables on a Saturday night, but don't think that two hours is an unreasonable expectation for dinner. In all, it was an enjoyable evening with excellent food and service. We'll definitely be back.
"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Sola is a expensive cozy restaurant on the mainline. The food is pretty high-end but still has a homey feel to it. They don't have a lot of gimmicks at Sola In preparing their food but all in all it's a pretty decent experience. I was disappointed that something I have loved there before was not on the additions menu and asked about it... the next day they called me to tell me to call ahead and they will have it for me in the future.. how is that for awesome??
They didn't have a lot to choose from on their minimalist menu which was refreshing although I would have loved a few more appetizer choices. I settled for a carrot tomato bisque that had a hint of ginger. I usually order Fish or something exotic when I go out to eat but, this time I decide to go out on a limb and order some beef. I had a nice piece of hanger steak with tasty potatoes and a bitter Green that was the broccoli family. I enjoyed the dish but didn't think it matched the price. Two other diners at my table order the tile fish, one ate the whole thing while, the other left half of the fish on the plate leaving me to question whether it was good or not. she assured me that she liked it so i will believe her. I tried to lick my husbands plate because the puree that the fish sat in was really delicious. The able next to us had the signature dish of braised short ribs which looked delicious. I have had that dish before at Sola and really enjoyed it Will revisit it next time. Sola is a very crowded restaurant on the Saturday and my parting thought was it was almost too crowded and could use an expansion. all in all Sola remains a lovely little BYOB with high end well cooked food.
"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

lost it's touch

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2006
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2006
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This restaurant used to be great and has really gone downhill. The octopus appetizer has two pieces of octopus and 12 pieces of potatoes. The steak was served cold. Been there many times in past 10 years.... not going back. Too bad...."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good but slipped at bit

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"we've been to sola many times. while it's far better than most of the suburban restaurants it falls a solid notch below the best places in downtown philly. i didn't always feel that way - rather, i find that the dishes are getting a bit stale and the overall flavor quality and texture declining a bit."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellence all around

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Sola never disappoints. Excellent food, professional service every time. The New Year's Eve menu offered superb foie gras, fennel salad, ahi tuna, rack of lamb and so much more. A true gem on the Main Line!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We always enjoy dinner at Sola. Beware of the corkage fee. Our friends were put off by the $4 charge to open a bottle and the additional $4 charge for a couple of glasses of ice."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Best restaurant on the Main Line--but corkage fee ($4/bottle) was an unpleasant surprise."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent food, excellent restauraut, great service and quiet nice atmosphere. New management is very accomodating- perfer them."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a good meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Go to Sola often and enjoy it every time.
The service is great and the food is even better. BYOB seals the deal for sure.
"
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Choice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was our first experience at Sola but it will not be our last. We chose the 'price fix' selection and it was outstanding. The restaurant did not have a crowd, it was after Thanksgiving and the weather was awful. My wife had been cooking for a week and she needed a break ... this was the perfect choice. Quiet atmosphere, great service with equally great food. Four course dinner which turned out to be three teriffic entrees and a very good desert. Owner/Head Waiter (Brian) has a very good menue with a variety of interesting choices, which is another reason why we plan to return."
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sola - Bryn Mawr
Based on the average of (28) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
22 out of 24 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic