Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Mitsuyoshi Restaurant Reviews List

Mitsuyoshi Restaurant

Mitsuyoshi Restaurant offers authentic yet contemporary Japanese cuisine in a simple and calming dining atmosphere. Over the years, our chef has perfected each dish on the menu to create a tasteful selection of enjoyable Japanese dishes.
See more Mitsuyoshi Restaurant details
42 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(42 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(19)
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • good for groups(13)
  • special occasion(8)
  • kid-friendly(7)
Mitsuyoshi Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very good restaurant. High quality food."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/29/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/09/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Terrible expirience. Waited forever. No one ever came to our table to serve us. We had to leave"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent! A true taste of Japan.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of Our Favorites

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been going to Mitsuyoshi for over 15 years and it never fails to impress us. The quality of the food is outstanding and the staff are so friendly. While it's not unusual to see teriyaki or sushi on the menu of many Japanese restaurants, the variety at Mitsuyoshi really sets them apart. From sukiyaki to saba to tempura and udon, we can always find something that is just right for our taste that night. We feel lucky to have a restaurant like this fairly close (20 minutes) from our house but to be honest, we would likely drive for up to an hour to get to Mitsuyoshi!"
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Neighborhood great Japanese food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A nice surprise close by. Great tempura, fresh sashimi, tender teriyaki beef. We'll be going back."
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food but the service is slow.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our family has been coming here for years and every time we come, the service and food are excellent! They never disappoint. We will be continuing to come for many more years. Thank you!"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Service was surprisingly slow.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Traditional Japanese Food and Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love this restaurant! The food is excellent and consistent and the sushi is always super fresh.
The employees are always cordial and the restaurant is clean and the decor is modern.
Order a great chef's special from their specials list or order any number of sushi from their extensive list. The dinner combos are great and you can enjoy three different entrees along with salad, fruit, and delicious miso soup.
Take a first date here or have a family dinner for 12. They can accommodate you with grace and kindness. This is my favorite restaurant and it always feels like home."
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice spot for lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Met with some friends for a mid-week lunch right when they opened at 11:30. Seated in a quiet alcove at a booth; great for conversation and catching up. Service was prompt, a bit aloof, but accommodating and professional. Lunch specials are perfect size and combination with small bowl of soup, a little salad, orange slice, and entree. Pork tonkatsu I had was fried nicely but quality of meat was less than restaurant grade. Wife's California roll was very nice and her shrimp tempura was hot and crisp. Our guests had donburi and beef teriyaki but didn't comment on food.
Very reasonably priced.
"
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Came here in a bind.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything near the Convention Center was booked due to a massive event. Came here because the reviews were decent and it was easy to get a table.
Service was spotty - our server was nice but seemed overwhelmed, though the place wasn't that busy - maybe they were short-staffed that night..
Food was decent. Pickled cabbage on table flavorful. Poke appetizer was good, but tempura sweet potato just a ball of fried starch. garlic edamame had a stewed quality rather than steamed. sea bass in miso was tasy if a bit overcooked.
i would not suggest anyone make a point of coming here, but in a pinch it was fine. lots of local families who seemed to be repeat customers - probably know how to order better than we did."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not worth the wait

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Where do I start? Before booking a reservation at Mitsuyoshi through Open Table, I took a quick look at the reviews on Yelp and the most blaring negative relates to poor service. Since I was not in a rush and I was in the mood for some good Japanese food I decided to "take a chance" on this restaurant. My first comment is the service exceeded my expectations for being bad. We arrived at 8:30pm and our sushi order still was not prepared by nearly 10pm. Yes, you are reading this correctly, and when we asked the server what the heck? He was fairly aggressive in his response that he "TOLD US IT WOULD TAKE AWHILE". I am not sure about you, but 1.5 hours is outside reasonable for taking awhile. Oh, and for those who claim this is an authentic Japanese restaurant, I would challenge that. Just because a place has native Japanese speakers, does not make it authentic. Overall the selection was limited (time and time again, they were out of something we were asking for) and when we ordered alternative B, etc., the quality was good, but not great. Mitsuyoshi is nothing more authentic than a Japanese restaurant in a mini-mall serving mostly non-native Japanese people and definitely, not worth the wait."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good sushi, but very slow service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I ate at the sushi bar. The sushi chef was very good. He was meticulous and talented. The problem was that there was only one sushi chef to serve the entire restaurant. Even at the vacant sushi bar, it was very hard to get an order in.
The chef was working extremely hard the entire night (I was there 2.5 hours and didn't order all that I wanted due to the wait). The quality and level of skill involved for the sushi was excellent. I had tuna poke, scallop, yellowtail, salmon, sweet shrimp, conch, and squid. They did not have toro or uni available, which was disappointing but better than getting served subpar and nonfresh sushi.
Perhaps, I was there on a bad night, and I'd definitely want to eat the sushi again, but I probably will not return because the good quality sushi still could not justify the wait."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Slow

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The service to start was very slow and it about 15 minutes for someone to even come to our table to greet us. We had about an hour to eat before we had to head back and it took 45 minutes for the food to come out . Nothing special, had a nice presentation but was not worth the price we paid for especially for the portion, time spent waiting, and no service."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mitsuyoshi Restaurant
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic