Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Paolo's - San Jose Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Paolo's - San Jose

Certainly, other fine San Jose restaurants have opened in recent years, but none have defined that great Italian dinner for generation after generation as well as the one launched by Giacchino Paolo Aiello, better known as Jack Allen, and his wife, Geraldine. Only a scant few have that indefinable quality the Italians call il cuore - heart - exemplified by Paolo’s.
Since 1958 Paolo’s has remained a favorite of Silicon Valley locals and visitors alike. Second-generation Carolyn (Aiello) Allen, maintains her family’s commitment to their Italian heritage through the unique art and traditions of regional Italian inspired cuisine.
Maitre d’/Sommelier, Jalil Samavarchian, maintains a spectacular wine list and directs a knowledgeable and professional staff in this dramatic setting overlooking beautiful Guadalupe River Park. Their commitment to excellence and warm and inviting hospitality makes Paolo’s style as fashionable and contemporary today as it was fifty-five years ago.
200 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(200 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 200 reviews
5 stars
(100)
4 stars
(60)
3 stars
(24)
2 stars
(15)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(118)
  • romantic(93)
  • fit for foodies(72)
  • notable wine list(61)
  • good for groups(57)
  • neighborhood gem(38)
Paolo's - San Jose Reviews List
Review 1 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sorry it is gone

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Many happy years here. They were always consistent in execution and creative."
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Sad Goodbye

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"a delicious dinner to say goodbye to a favorite special restaurant in San Jose. Superior, friendly service, perfectly created cocktails, ample portions and entrees always cooked to perfection. So sorry to see this landmark spot close."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2000
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We have been going here for over 30 years.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Unexpected bad service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was horrible -- no water refill and one of the order was really salty. The other one is pretty good. Perhaps is because they are closing down. No one really care anymore."
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food was excellent, service was outstanding

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So sorry to see Paolo's close

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

If they weren't already closing...

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was horrible. 35 minutes late being seated & then waiter doesn't bring us menus for another 15 minutes. Takes another 20 minutes until he comes back to ask if we like bread & finally take our drink & food order. Ordered the orichette - they were out of it, but didn't tell me until they brought the food a half hour later & served me penne. Then says, oh by the way, no orichette -- would you like something else instead. Huh?! Why didn't you tell me that when I ordered or when you went to place the order in the kitchen or when you came back with the wine? Ignored us after dinner for another half hour until he finally stopped by to see if we wanted dessert. We were there for over three hours for dinner (wine & pasta - no appetizers, no salad) & I think we saw our waiter a total of 5 times.... On the plus side, my wife really enjoyed the gnocchi."
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Too bad they are closing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The sesame braided bread and cannoli were as excellent as all the reviews promised they would be. The food was great too. The wait staff was very frantic as if their penultimate night was extremely over booked. Despite open table showing many available time slots, we waited 30 min past our reservation time fo a table. Yet that was fine. We had cocktails and sat outside watching the crowd. Too bad they are closed for good."
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was extremely hot inside the restaurant."
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sorry to see another fine restaurant close

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Paolo's, excellent place to celebrate my birthday

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Beautiful venue and delicious food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My dad and I went the week before the restaurant closed, so it was understandably packed. It didn't seem like the staff were ready for that onslaught, so we didn't get seated until over 30 minutes after our reservation. The bartender who served me wine had a lot of attitude but I think it had more to do with how busy it was. The host and our waiter were great, fantastic service.
Dad and I both ordered the romaine salad which was one of the best salads I've ever had. We shared the cheese and meats appetizer which I feel could have had more cheese, but the bread was delicious. I had bolognese and my dad had something I can't pronounce, but he ate all of his plate and i finished my whole dish by the next day. Their Pinot Noir and Zinfandel were both delicious.
Doesn't look like we can go back even if we wanted to, but I'll be on the lookout for an equally classy establishment."
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A fond farewell!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"So sad that this special place is closing after so many years! Paolo's has always provided excellent food, wine, service and atmosphere. So many great memories of special occasions, great date nights and nice lunches over the years! Thank you Paolo's for being a part of our lives!"
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to Paolo's for our 3i8th anniversary. It is sad that they are closing. The ambiance was terrific, the sea bass was the best I have ever had, and the service (ask for Chelsea!) was fantastic. It is too bad we didn't find this gem before."
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sad to see it close! Lovely evening as usual!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Paolos is closing!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great restaurant, but Paolos will be closing its doors on 8/8/2015, they lost their lease, the owner is looking for a new place to start again."
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Paolo’s – we went for an early pre-musical dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Paolo’s – we went for an early pre-musical dinner. The service was great. We went for the tasting menu with wine pairing. It was fun as our server would give us the glasses of wine and then check back with us if we could properly identify the wine."
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great & excellent customer courtesy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very nice dining experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is an excellent place to have a dinner before a show at the CfPA, just a few steps away.
Great overall experience: excellent service and impressive wine list, including some very interesting choices from Italy and France (expect to pay 2x the market value of a bottle).
The food choices were very interesting, both antipasti and major piatti. We had
Antipasti
o Gamberi, two prawns with good amount of great sauce you can scoop with bread, liked a lot.
o Arancini, the fried rice balls, very good.
o Fritto misto, it was OK but nothing special, except plenty in size.
Dinner
o Vitello di Saltimbocca: very tasty and delicate, somewhat lacking a decisive spicy finish.
o Ossobucco di Vitello: excellent.
o Ceppo con Agnello: very good.
o Maltagliate: very good.
o Anitra con Olive a Dateri: quite original dish. Asked for the duck to be medium rare, arrived on the medium/done side. Nevertheless tasty and enjoyable, personally would love for it to have a little more spicy kick.
We ordered 2008 Brunnelo di Montalcino and it turned out to be an excellent choice supporting the meat dishes and pasta.
Good choice of desserts. Gelato affogato and cannoli were great.
The server, Jennifer, did an excellent job. The pace of food delivery was just right and we have spent a little over 1.5hrs there.
Total for 5 people was $375, including $30 tax and $135 for the wine."
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2003
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2003
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My Go To Spot for Pre-Theater Dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2005
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Just discovered Paolo's from a theater email. Great place for a pre-fixe menu. Fast great service. Great food. Walk out of the parking structure and the restaurant is right there. Walk out the restaurant and cross the pedestrian bridge and the theater is right there. It's a hidden gem. I'm going there for all my pre-theater dinners from now on!"
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Service and food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We arrived on Saturday night post show rush.
The staff and service was great. Very friendly and attuned to making sure we had a very enjoyable experience.
Appetizers thru dessert was great. They are willing to adjust food to your specific liking as well (such as adjust spice levels). Great mixologist.
"
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Paolo's Restaurant Dissappoints

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Treated my sweetheart to a much needed night out for a show at Broadway San Jose and decided to start the evening with a nice dinner at Paolo's Restaurant. Dinner started off well then unfortunately went downhill fast, we both chose to go with the nights special which was halibut and a soup of the day for a starter which was clam chowder.
The clam chowder was promptly delivered and appeared thin and watery, after the first spoonful we new something was amiss, the soup was very gritty as if the clams hadn't been cleaned properly, we both realized the soup had to go back so we promptly alerted the waitress and asked for a salad which she gladly accommodated although the salad wasn't anything to rave about either.
We ordered a bottle of over priced wine (typical for a nice restaurant) and awaited our meal. Meals arrived promptly and presentation was nice. They were plated with excellence and appeared delicious, however, upon digging in to the halibut we both found it to very dry as if it actually had been sitting in a warmer tray in the back, mashed potatoes were very much of the same, very dry although they were tasty. I can honestly say the saute'd sting bean vegetable was delicious however my sweetheart had the pleasure of twice biting down of sting bean stems which were as long as the vegetable themselves,
All in all, we were not pleased with Paolo's and after paying a hefty sum for a meal that wasn't that pleasant the experience reminded us of why we prefer to prepare a nice meal at home before going out or at least sticking to the fine dining we have already tested and know what we can expect. Needless to say, we probably won't be visiting Paolo's again anytime soon which is unfortunate because we love attending the Broadway shows at the Center For The Performing Arts which is only steps away from the restaurant."
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect dinner for Theater crowd

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We chose to dine at Paolo's since we had tickets for the San Jose Center for Performing Arts. We just walked across the Guadelupe bridge and were there. it could not have been more convenient!"
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This was a terrific find.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Paolo's is so convenient for before theater dining, especially if attending the San Jose Performing Arts Center. The wait staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful making sure our meal arrived in plenty of time to enjoy it and still make curtain without stress. The food was delicious. Our entire experience with Paolo's was great, from arrival to departure. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and look forward to returning."
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Favorite date spot

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2005
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Overrated. Convenient to theatre. Wouldn't return

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Maitre d' was too busy figuring out seating and training the hostess to crack a smile or tell us what was going on. The food was mediocre. Bland salad, tough Saltimbocca, decent pasta. Nice waitress but with the theater crowd crashing all at once the service was spotty."
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2008
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Paolo's - San Jose
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>