Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

I Squared Kabobery Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

I Squared Kabobery

Known for their successful takeover of Hudson Bay Café, I Squared proprietors Sadri Madjlessi and Tanya Anderson partner with executive chef Nory Madjlessi to combine traditional Iranian and Italian fare into one bold menu. Chef Nory honed his Italian culinary skills under Giovanni LoCoco at LoCoco's and absorbed knowledge of traditional Iranian recipes and cooking techniques from his mother.
13 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(13 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(3)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(10)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • kid-friendly(3)
  • romantic(2)
  • late-night find(1)
  • notable wine list(1)
I Squared Kabobery Reviews List
Review 1 for I Squared Kabobery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Portion size and prices

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2003
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2003
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Entrees portion's sizes are VERY small for the price. Koobideh Kabaab (and all other Kabaabs) only comes with one skewer; increase the prices and provide two skewers for entrees. It's not worth it for the current price with one skewer.
Small wine list which is fine; however, wines that are available by the glass (only 4 choices for red!) and two of them weren't available! Wine list should be updated on a regular basis.
Same owners/operators as before it was closed."
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Squared Kabobery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Kabobs

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a neighborhood restaurant, run by a very nice couple who also run the Hudson Bay Cafe next door. The menu emphasizes Persian cuisine, executed beautifully with the highest quality ingredients. The lamb shank was spectacular... Highly recommended."
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Squared Kabobery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Should be packed every night.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great value, good food, pleasant decor, good service. Nice range of dishes from exceptionally well priced "homespun" blue plate specials, to pasta, to interesting appetizers, a daily soup, salads, and other entrees. A wonderful Merlot. This place just should be packed each and every night. It is a gem! Friendly proprietor/owner on premises."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Squared Kabobery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Items on the website menu were not even served at the restaurant. The only reason I chose the restaurant was based on the menu! The owner said he knew!!"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Squared Kabobery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food is just OK, nice service, large portions, same restaurant as before with a name change"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Squared Kabobery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pleasant little place in Rockridge.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Homespun (formerly "I-Squared", Italian-Iranian fusion), a pleasant place with a small bar near the Rockridge public library that , reopened last last year with a somewhat less interesting menu but warmer decor. The food is still very good; our asparagus soup ($6) was rich and creamy, our Iranian-style cabbage rolls ($10) were generously sized. well-spiced and juicy, grilled salmon ($16) a little dry but nicely presented, tiramisu ($6) light and fluffy.. Service was warm and gracious, Great value."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for I Squared Kabobery
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.9 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.9 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
3.3 / 3
Energetic