Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Girasole - Philadelphia Reviews List

Girasole - Philadelphia

Boutique authentic Italian Mediterranean restaurant & bar.
See more Girasole - Philadelphia details
189 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(189 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 189 reviews
5 stars
(76)
4 stars
(57)
3 stars
(31)
2 stars
(18)
1 star
(7)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(65)
  • neighborhood gem(51)
  • special occasion(42)
  • romantic(38)
  • good for groups(28)
  • notable wine list(14)
Girasole - Philadelphia Reviews List
Review 1 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We arrived at 6:20. Our entree arrived at 7:20. While we were late for our 6 p.m. reservation because of traffic, other parties around us had the same problem. We have eaten at Girasole a number of times. Yes, the food is quite good. We'll probably give it another try. But, guaranteed, if the service next time mirrors this last visit, we'll not be back. There was, by the way, no apology."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Hard surfaces make for a noisy room

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Even though the room was not crowded at all, all the hard surfaces make this room noisy. I shudder to think about the noise level when it is full of people. The food was good but more expensive than indicated by online sources including OpenTable. The location just off Broad street makes it a good choice for a pre-theater meal, particularly now that the Drake is home to a number of theater companies. It has a full bar and pricey menu designed for lingering."
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We went for a bachelorette. Although it is small they sat twelve comfortably, just recommend calling ahead for large groups as it is small. The mixed drinks weren't great however the food was awesome and the staff was attentive and engaging.. Overall it was perfect for a mid size group having a fun chatty dinner."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

CLOSE TO AN HOUR LATE AND THEY STILL FIT US IN!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"WE ARRIVED ALMOST AN HOUR LATE FOR OUR RESERVATION FOR 4 PEOPLE AND THEY STILL MOVED THINGS AROUND TO ACCOMMODATE US. GREAT FOOD AND BETTER SERVICE! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Went for restaurant week. When we walked in (730pm on a thursday night) there was only three other tables there. So that was alarming to start. The drinks ($12 each and waaaay overpriced) were horrible. My girlfriends margarita was so strong and was absolutely gross. In terms of the food, it was a mixed bag. We both enjoyed our main courses, she had the gnocchi and I had the orecchiette. Then dessert came. I had the tiramisu, which was ok. She had the risotto cheesecake which was absolutely terrible. It tasted like a cold egg with some cake crust. One of the worst desserts either one of us has ever tried. The atmosphere was not great and definitely not worth the price. I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone, there are so many other great Italian restaurants in Philadelphia. Dont wast your time at Girasole."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent for before the theater or the symphony

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I was a little concerned about other reviews suggesting very slow service, but we didn't have that problem at all. The service was courteous and prompt (not speedy, but prompt). The room has a quiet elegance, but the atmosphere is warm and even cosy. Just be sure you've allowed enough time to make your event. Our reservation was at 6:30. We had a three course meal, including dessert and coffee and were out of there by 7:30.
The food was excellent and so was the house wine. We went during restaurant week, but the regular prices seem reasonable. We'll be back when we go to the ballet next week."
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Ignored

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"My party arrived on time for our reservation. We were one of two parties seated at the time. We placed our order and notified our waiter that we had theater tickets. After 40 minutes we asked our waiter about our dinners. We were told they were coming, but they didn't come for another 20 minutes. In the meantime, all of the customers who came in after us, we're served. We had to eat very quickly and then we had to ask for our check 3 times. The worst part was that it was a fixed price dinner, but we had no time for dessert or coffee. Also, it was my idea to go to Girasole."
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Have had good meals there before, but the Restaurant Week dinner was only so-so. Calimari was a little soggy, & Veal Milanese was quite bland."
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a great Italian experience, nice glass of wine poured a montepulciano for 12.00 good value. Our homemade pasta with shrimp was very fresh, our service was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. Noteworthy menu lots of different Italian items. We really enjoyed it"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/16/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious and Nice Atmosphere

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The dining experience at Girasole was wonderful. The food was delicious and unusual. The waitress was good but spoke very fast and it was hard to "catch" all the specials she mentioned. My only complaint is that when I tried to book a table for two at 6 p.m., Open Table indicated there was none available, so we had to dine at 5:30. However, there were lots of free tables at 6 p.m. and it seemed we could have been accommodated at that time."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pre Symphony Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great spot to eat dinner before the Symphony at Kimmel Hall which is less than a block away."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner once again

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Chef angela always outdoes herself, fabulous ravioli with ricotta cheese and pears, simple yet delicious. Great fresh tuna seared rare with avocado and tomato. Fabulous desserts great cocktails and wonderful service."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service and ambiance was a delight, the owners came to the table and the chef as well to introduce themselves knowing we also used to be in the restaurant business. Great fresh food and fabulous dessert sorry we don't remember the name of it but it was like a custard."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Attractive space, enjoyable food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Pasta portions were not large but comfortable , with good flavor. Burrata appetizer was quite good and desserts were delicious."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Incredible service and amazing food"
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Really authentic neapolitan food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I took a Venetian friend who swears you cannot get bronzino cooked properly in the USA. Sbe was enchanted with the salt crusted fish which she pronounced perfectly cooked and moist. i have eaten at Girasole many many times over twenty years in all their iterations. Angela, the chef, and her daughter, Michelle, cook fresh, proper neapolitan food. Now that they both serve liquor and permit BYO it's even better. Highly recommended for people who want real Italian food and not South Philly gravy (not that there's anything wrong with -- we go to D'Angelo's for that)."
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Never disappoints

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Girasole is a quaint and reliable restaurant with very good food and and attentive service. Nice wine list and cocktail menu as well. The menu has something for everyone and nightly specials are offered as well. The Italian cuisine featured here is simple, savory, and very satisfying. Very authentic. Service is very good, attentive, and skilled. Will continue to patronize and recommend others to do so as well."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Their proximity to the Kimmel Center is a plus. I ordeedr a deviation of something on the menu for dietary reasons, and was pleasantly surprised at the "quality" of my dinner. Five different staffers visited our table during our meal. The only downside is the noise generated by the silverware against the granite topped tables."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Girasol - a disappointment

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We had eaten at Girasol many times before, but I am afraid our most recent visit may be the last. At the beginning, we told the waiter we had tickets for an event at 8 - we arrived at 6:30. At 7:20, we had not yet been served our entrees. No apologies, just - Here it is. The food was not as good as it had been, the service was nowhere near what it should have been. This is how a once good restaurant starts to descend into "out of business" in 6 months."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great as usual!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My wife and I have eaten here many, many times. It amazes me that every time we have eaten at Girasole the food has consistently been excellent. You owe it to yourself to try it and I am certain that you will return again and again."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fabulous from start to finish, enter on pine street even though the address took me to broad street, I'm glad I didn't miss it, the signage could be a little larger but finally we made it. We were greeted by the hostess very friendly and spoke Italian or had a strong accent, seated at a beautiful round table for two, immediately was approached by another Italian server who was very nice. He helped us through the menu and made our experience very inviting. Gnocchi, homemade pappardelle was excellent and a very fresh tuna and whole fish. Will return repeatedly"
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great New Year's Eve

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"When here with another couple for New Years Eve dinner. The price fix was excellent. Good price, good food, good service and just the right portion size. Can easily say the best I have had on New Year's Eve."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not What We Expected

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We hadn't visited Girasole in a few years, but thought it would be the perfect location and menu prior to our visit to The Nutcracker. We were the only diners in the restaurant as we were early, giving us plenty of time to enjoy our meal. The wait staff was just standing around, but when we were given attention, it seemed as if we were a bother. The food was ok - nothing special for Philadelphia; there are many other fine restaurants. The most disturbing thing was that a table of three arrived, sat down, had the water poured, and placed their napkins on their laps when one of the adults realized the remainder of their party was not there and, consequently made a phone call to discover these diners were in the wrong restaurant. When the table departed, the wait staff went rearranged the silverware and refolded the same napkins that had been opened and placed on laps and left them on the table for the next guests to use - yuck! Sorry, we wont go back!"
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Homemade pastas are great. Reasonable portions that you can actually finish in one sitting"
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food was excellent and the waiters were great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Girasole - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were there today the first time. Food was average,service was good."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>