Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Chez Lucienne Reviews List

Chez Lucienne

We welcome you to Chez Lucienne bistro, the first authentic restaurant in Harlem where you will find signature French Classics with a touch of Provence. The front bar is perfect for cocktails before dinner where patrons will mingle like good friends in an upbeat ambiance. We have an exciting wine list with a fun cocktail program. Join us for mouth watering dishes such as Moules frites made 5 different ways, Bavette a l’echalotte, homemade Sausages, Saumon roti Moutarde grilled to perfection. Chez Lucienne’s dining is convivial with a friendly service and delicious food made with premium ingredients. The décor is warm with brick and mirrored walls, ceiling fans and dimmed romantic lighting, reminiscing of Colonial era. The bistro is in the heart of Harlem with its vibrant energy and history.
See more Chez Lucienne details
225 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(225 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 225 reviews
5 stars
(71)
4 stars
(94)
3 stars
(36)
2 stars
(19)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(105)
  • fit for foodies(81)
  • great for brunch(59)
  • great for outdoor dining(52)
  • great for lunch(51)
  • romantic(39)
Chez Lucienne Reviews List
Review 1 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Best fried calamari I and everyone at my table said. Prices are very reasonable considering the quality of the menu. I will definately go back and bring more friends."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very nice restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife and I stopped in for dinner before a show at the Apollo. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. And when a Christmas decoration fell unexpectedly in my soup, they immediately brought me a new bowl. The was a delay in getting my wife's appetizer so, they offered a complimentary glass of wine. The Coq au Vin & trout were excellent. We will return."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

delicious french bistro food, americanized

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"great burgers - supersize, super delicious. steak frites very generous portions, really worth the price"
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Classy place.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Most waiters speak French. Bistro food. Great Mussels. Very relaxed."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was excellent. I am always in search of a good merguez sausage and I found a terrific one. Served with couscous and appropriately spicy. Everything else was also terrific."
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious food,varied menu,good service,NOISY,

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything was very nice, but the loud thumping music Was overwhelming. People go to restaurants for good food as well as socializing with friends or family. Yelling across a table and cupping your ear to hear your dinner partner is contradictory to nice dining. Also, the loudness causes diners to be exposed to other people's conversation. This would not occur in a true French Bistro. I would love to return to this restaurant with friends and /or family but cannot do so with the noise level where it is. Even when the volume was lowered, it still thumped! Tin ceilings and brick walls are lovely decorative touches, but PLEASE recognize that these do not absorb sound but rather exaggerate it. Soft background music or jazz would be lovely. Thank you."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We Always Go Back

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's in our neighborhood and we love dining here. Just wish the music wasn't so loud so it was easier to visit."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Well worth a try

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Found Chez Lucienne on our way to Bill Saxton's Jazz Club. Mussels, Coq au Vin and bottle of Sancerre made for a great meal."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing for such a cute place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"was in the mood to try something different. live around corner.. staff was friendly but it appeared our waiter was out of it and kept getting orders wrong. Didn't really know the menu and didn't make any recommendations when asked. great ambiance but I wasn't impressed with food. Filet Burger was really overcooked. We didn't complain..just went with it but ..wasn't impressed"
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New Years Eve

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"No inflated menus or egos, Well done! Last minute reservation turned out to be a fun, tasty night."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

nice place great ambiance!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"great food good service, the table was a little too close from each other, but overall the ambiance and experience was fun"
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been to this restaurant several times and have been very impressed with its food and service. But that was for dinner. Brunch was excessively ordinary service was not great all in all a big disappointment."
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

January 30-31, 2015, Food Festival.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Attracted by an ad for a Food Festival, we enjoyed a delicious three-course dinner, with wine, for two for $69. We then lingered over after-dinner drinks. Lovely evening. We will return."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a Wonderful Dining Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Chez Lucienne never misses: very reasonable price point, consistently impeccable service, and delicious dishes. My beau and I had a wonderful St. Valentine's Day meal. (We're baby boomers and were surprised and delighted romantic music of 60s played softly in the background. Only request for next time is that DJ not skip 70s music, and make a less abrupt transition to today's popular music, which is not so romantic.)"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Exceptionally poor experience

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had previously identified Chez Lucienne as the top neighborhood spot for upscale dining, but my visit on Valentine's Day was my last. The restaurant jammed in tables for the holiday and kept the lighting bright. While I've enjoyed the jazz here before, the ambiance was set by a mix of sad 90's radio alt. pop.
The pre-fix menu seemed exciting, but the dishes ultimately disappointed. The lobster bisque tasted distinctly of boiled milk and contained two tablespoons of meat. I suspect they were running low during the shift and diluted the pot. My date received her soup but mine didn't accompany it, despite the fact that we ordered the same course. When my soup was placed on the table 5 minutes later, the bus boy initially delivered it to an adjacent table, where an empty soup bowl sat in the center. The other patrons and I directed the hapless server to my place setting; he dropped the bowl and dashed, leaving us without spoons.
When our lamb and steak finally left the kitchen, the bus boy from earlier delivered it to a couple two tables away, who were seated after we placed our order. We called to our waiter, who directed the bus boy back to the kitchen. He came to our table with the plates, then TURNED AROUND AGAIN and gave it to the other couple. The waiter told me it was intentional, and food is not served in the sequence it is ordered by patrons. I complained to the manager who smiled but never replied to me, speaking only to another employee, entirely in French.
25 minutes later (over 90 minutes after we were seated) our food had yet to arrive. I spoke to the waiter again, who for the first time told me that the kitchen had dropped our plates. This should have been communicated earlier, if it actually happened. The food arrived soon after.
2 of the 3 desserts from the pre-fix were unavailable by the late hour we ordered. Despite the careless, unpleasant service, no adjustment was made to our check and the waiter's excuse/apology was half-hearted at best."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great ambience, food, and service! Perfect for a date night, or girls night out dinner. Well made and great presentation of the food. Will go back."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mussel mania

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We go for the mussels. Get the dijonnaise. Fantastic!"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Kitchen

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was wonderful, when we arrived we were seated without a wait. However, my food came and not my husband's. Asked the waiter many times where is his food? After 10 minutes of waiting and my food was now cold, here comes the hubby's food! The excuse was they forgot to run the ticket....not acceptable. Didn't offer and resolution...a cocktail on the house would have been nice. Not even an offer to reheat my food."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went for Valentine's Day and they were PACKED. It still wasn't too loud, though, and my waiter was excellent. They had two options: a prixe-fix meal for two that included wine or a limited a la carte menu. I was dining alone and got the prixe fixe meal; I guess I thought they'd only charge me half since I was a) alone and b) didn't drink any wine, but no, full price. So that was irritating, but I can't really ding them for it since I did after all have the option of eating from the ala carte menu. Or, you know, asking if the price would be reduced before I ordered. So, in summary: excellent food, but don't get meals "for two" when by yourself."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great food - Dubious Service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I really like the food at this place. The wait staff try their best but it's always chaotic and confused. Quite often have to ask for water and bread. They still seem to be having the same ills a newly opened restaurant might have and there also seems to be a big turn over in wait and bar staff. We were there before going to see a show at the Apollo and I had to stay on top of the waiter to get us out of the restaurant on time for an 8:00 curtain and we arrived before 6:00. So Maybe someday the management will figure out what they're doing wrong. For now I'll only go in there when I'm alone and in no rush."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Change isn't always a good thing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I used to be a regular but stopped going as much when it started changing. The new menu is over priced. Although the food is still good, I'm no longer getting the value. Plus, they were out of crepes so the item I wanted was unavailable. The food was fine. However, it's no longer a no brainer when I'm in the area."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very comfortable cafe with an excellent diverse menu"
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but needs a bit of work at brunch,,,

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The management needs to improve service at the crazy brunch hour and the noise level is deafening. But food is very good and our waitress was lovely."
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/30/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great food. Good price

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everyone else enjoyed their food immensely. However my Cobb salad was nothing to write home about. I will avoid it in the future."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food excellent, Waiter was bad

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We came here as a party of 3 with an out of town guest. The place is charming, as always, and the food was absolutely delicious. Cannot complain about anything that came out of the kitchen at all. I think our experience was unique, because our particular waiter was not quite on top of it. Everything lagged because of it. He seemed to have poor communication with both the kitchen and the bar. The place was not busy during our late night dinner, but it took forever to get drinks, a tasting of the wine we ordered, etc... In fact, the aperitif didn't arrive until after we were finished with the appetizers, and the wine didn't arrive until after we started our main course, which is a shame. The auxiliary staff were really wonderful, and did all they could to make up for our waiter. Including refilling wine, and checking on the bar, etc. The only thing our waiter did in a timely fashion was run the credit card when we asked for it..."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

It's lost something

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We used to love this place, but it seems to have lost something over the 3 years we've been going there. The food was ok, but not great. I wish I had better news."
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Do not go when you are in a rush

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was good but the service was subpar. The reason for that is they need more waiters or at least let people know they are short staffed. We wouldn't get waited on until we called someone. Also, where we were seated was in a terrible position (in the center aisle, closer to the bar) where our elbows would bump with the heavy foot traffic. However, I did enjoy the meal, especially the grilled calamari but I couldn't eat comfortably."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

serve something special

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was seated immediately because I had a reservation. The server came over right away and was very pleasant. Very knowledgeable about the menu, thus helpful with ordering. After recieving our meal he was still very attentive. The entire staff help eachother and the entire experience was great because of it.
BTW, the salmon in white creamy sauce is delicious and the lobster ravioli was the best I've had. Really nice chunks of Lobster in it and the sauce was perfect. As a Marylander, I say the crab cake for a appetizer is a great choice!
"
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bon appetit at this Harlem bistro. Outstanding!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went on a Saturday night and the restaurant was hopping. Small dining area ,but a wonderful outdoor space. The owner came to our table and took our drink and dinner order. The food is delicious and even though they were packed, you don't feel rushed. Looks very much like a French bistro and the food rivals French restaurants downtown. Six of us went and everyone had a great meal. I will return to this hidden gem in Harlem."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2014
 2010
Dined on 3/21/2014
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/21/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service is bad, food is OK, in front of a bus stop

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"5 minutes seated before the waiter stopped by, and At least 10 minutes before we got any drinks
Got the food order wrong, and had to wave down another sever to get our waiter's attention
Food was OK, but it's kind of a street side cafe ... In front of a bus stop"
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Long-standing favorite

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Chez Lucienne never fails to deliver a great dining experience. For brunch on weekends or a nice, romantic dinner, we enjoy the food and the ambiance. Reasonably priced, all of the meals we have tried are top-notch. I've never had a meal I didn't enjoy. The meals are well-portioned and well-priced. The bottomless Bloody Mary at brunch is an awesome value. Walk right off the 2/3 and get seated!"
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Nice French restaurant in Harlem. Was surprised by the food and the service"
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Wait Staff is Awful

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"After ordering drinks, the waiter came back to tell my wife that they didn't have all the ingredients. So my wife changed her drink order. The food came out and yet no cocktails. Then the waiter spilled my drink on my back. Ruined the shirt. All he did was bring me some champagne. He NEVER offered to take back the unfilled drink to get a new one. The champagne was on the house but my cocktail was on me. Let's see cocktail- $14 + tax and tip
new shirt $35 + tax
Would you come back to this restaurant?"
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

2 woman for and early dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Allen the maitre'd made us feel very welcome and special. Love the mussels and the crepes. Complaints of slow service...did not happen because we were early 5:30 but Allen fills in to make sure things are getting done. Thanks for a great evening!"
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

DIstracted Team

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was pretty good, but the team was really distracted by their own conversations and needs - made us feel as if we were bystanders at an event rather than mellowly in a first date. We could not relax, the table space was very small for my quite tall friend, and although I came to the restaurant before the crowds arrived, and asked for an appropriately sized table, we were still squeezed into a tiny space (we did ask to be moved). When I go out to dinner, I kind of like to feel as if I am a part of the play - not a paying outsider. I like to feel welcome, not an intrusion. This may have been a bad day - I had been to a dinner here before that was fun and good (the waitstaff were different though, and there was real team spirit). Ah well."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and. Very attentive staff!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Always enjoyed this restaurant----much better than it's neighbor, Red Rooster"
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

MY WAIT PERSON WAS STELLAR

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"She even got down on her knees and fix the wobbly table!"
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Chez Lucienne
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Chez Lucienne

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is a very good Harlem staple which serves up good food in congenial brasserie surroundings. If you are attending the Apollo or any other event in Harlem, this is a great place to get a bite to eat before the show. Their prix fixe is excellent value. A real local Harlem restaurant."
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>