Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Wexler's Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Wexler's

Wexler's serves a delicious menu of New American BBQ in an intimate, rustic-chic spot situated in the city's Financial District. Using a California farm to table approach, Executive Chef Charlie Kleinman puts a tasty new spin on tradition by pulling inspiration from various regional BBQ styles and creating unique new dishes using California's bounty of fresh, artisanal ingredients. You will find smoked meats flavored with house made dry rubs alongside dishes driven by the freshest produce Chef Kleinman can find. From smoking our own chilies to making our own onion powder, Wexler's is committed to using and creating the best ingredients. A strong lineup of American beverages (American cocktails, beer, and wine) complement the flavors of the food.
99 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(99 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
5 stars
(41)
4 stars
(39)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(50)
  • great for lunch(39)
  • neighborhood gem(28)
  • special occasion(11)
  • good for groups(10)
  • romantic(10)
Wexler's Reviews List
Review 1 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always great! So sorry to see them closing.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We visited Wexler's again this week to "pay our respects" to one of our favorite SF restaurants. They have given us consistently stellar meals and amazing cocktails since the very first week they opened. It's with a heavy heart I am watching them close their doors. SF's loss!"
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2001
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

GREAT food. Sad to see this place close!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2000
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sorry to see ya go

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wexler's is one of my favorite spots in the City. Fried Green tomatoes remind me of home. The staff is laid back and the food is always on point. We'll see you soon."
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Pork shoulder was unbelievable and you have to order the BBQ scotch eggs!"
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2000
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2000
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Skip Wayfare Tavern and head two doors up to Wexler's. Superior in every way."
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2004
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Good food but took awhile"
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice night out

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good good, slightly overpriced, but would like to see a larger cocktail list. Overall, nice night out. Desert was probably my favorite course of the night."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2002
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently Awesome!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love Wexler's Fried Green Tomatoes. They're a little taste of home. I could go there and just eat that but I'd miss out on a lot."
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful host-Matt Wexler

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wexler's is our favorite neighborhood spot in the Financial District. Matt tends the bar and is always ready for conversation. There are so many things we love about this spot. The octopus salumi was excellent. Love the biscuit and pate starter--amazing! I always come back for the banana cream pie. The lemon chess pie is great too."
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food, friendly but slow service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was again absolutely great. The service was so friendly, but very slow. That would be my only less than positive comments.
I will go back again!"
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2004
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Small, simple, delightful

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Some of the menu items I'd seen mentioned (like Brisket Banh Mi) weren't available, but the relatively small menu gave enough choices to enjoy. My cornmeal crusted flounder with sunchoke hash & tasso was perfectly prepared--and the little gem salad with smoked blue cheese and avocado hit a high note as well. I tasted my spouse's plate of pork--simple but very good--and we both enjoyed the banana-bourbon cream pie--truly outstanding. Service was attentive, not obnoxious; it's a small place, which is just right for a special occasion, but it looked like there's just one table for a slightly larger group...maybe they could put two tables together. Anyway, a real find! Hope to come back soon."
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had been to Wexler's a couple years ago and it was good. I saw it in Check Please Bay Area and wrote down the specialty dishes to try and am I glad I did!! The BBQ Scotch Egg is AMAZING!! I don't even like soft or hard boiled eggs and this is so delicious. I wish I had like 3. The short ribs are so soft and tender and the meat is so full of flavor. The banana dessert is beyond amazing. I like bananas but never order a banana dessert, ever. This one is not to be missed. I also had the Mission Dolores drink and it was great. Services was out of this world; attentive, knowledgable, personable and overall great. Can't wait to go back."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu choices were very creative and delicious. I would recommend it to anyone. Great date night in the city after work."
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wexler's is a hit!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my staff for lunch there for a little celebration. The food was wonderful, service accommodating, and overall experience was great. I am going back next week with some other friends!"
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A favorite

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Love Wexler's. Lunch or dinner. Have moved to Chicago, but still make a point of dining at Wexler's when I'm back in the city. Fantastic food, servers friendly and knowledgeable, and a great space."
Dined on 3/26/2015
 1999
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food & ambiance, service can be a bet slow

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is always interesting and delicious, the physical space is nice, wait staff is nice as well but can sometimes be a bit slow or forget to bring your drinks or other item you ordered. I've had different experiences there the many times I've gone, but it's a go-to place for me when I am lunching with one or two other people where we need to have the ability to have a conversation that isn't drowned out by the din that exists in many downtown restaurants. I think the owners really seem to listen to what the customers want and change up their menu periodically with new and inventive dishes, which makes it fun to return."
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Horrible first experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I arrived early for my reservation, and was welcomed to sit at the bar or be escorted to a table., I opted for the bar. The bartender looked at me while standing in front of me , I said hi, and he walked away with no response. I got no service whatsoever until my friend arrived, at which point I already wanted to leave. We then ordered food, after the bartender did not give any help or input which we asked for. The drinks , and service were both equally horrible, the food was good, but such a small amount for the price.
1 beer, 1 cocktail, 2 appetizers - $ 69 dollars later"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous Food and the BEST Manhattan on the Planet

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love Wexler's -- food and cocktails are divine. They smoke their own bourbon and cherries, so their Manhattan is incredible. The food is creative, prepared and served with care and pride. Took two of our foodiest (should be an adjective here in SF if it's not) friends on Sat night and they adored it."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

where's my table?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food
good service
We made a reservation through open table and they did not have a table for us. After waiting 10 minutes, we sat at a group table."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Upscale dining with a great welcome

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great choices from a menu that tells me the kitchen is really cooking this. (I always wonder when there are twenty entrees how they can really all be fresh and not at least partially premade and/or frozen and micro-waved.) The scotch eggs are so delicious and my fish was very flavorful and with the garbanzo beans a wonderful taste and texture combination (as well a striking color presentation). A real go-to place especially in this neighborhood. The front-of-the-house staff made us feel so welcome and the kitchen staff made us happy."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food; terrible service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I made reservations but had to wait 25 minutes to be seated. They gave us menus while we waited, they said so we would be ready to order when we were seated. Once seated, we waited another 15 minutes for them to take the order. We had specifically made the reservation so that one of us could make the ferry to the east bay; the next boat wasn't for another 2 1/2 hours. My wife had to run out the door right after eating to make it to the ferry on time. When it came to paying the check, I was left waiting an additional 15 minutes, because the "system was having issues". It's a good thing both of us weren't taking the ferry. It was not a good experience despite the food."
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Lunch Spot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Needed a decent place to meet a girlfriend for lunch in the financial district. This is a good spot if you want something nicer than casual, but not too formal.
We had the chicken wings which were pretty awesome. I had the po boy. My girlfriend had the bahn mi. Both were good. I'd definitely come back."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lunch was great as always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lunch was great as always but I forgot that it does get a bit loud right at noon. Next time I have a business lunch here I think I will make the reservations for 12:30 or 1 which would be perfect."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

quite noisy, understaffed, table wasn't ready

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"on the other hand, the staff of 4 that was on hand were extremely efficient. food was tasty, but pricy and portions were very small. for the money i paid, 3 shrimp were not sufficient."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Wexler's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

fantastic

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"delicious food and cocktails
the space is simultaneously comfortable and elegantly designed
Service was excellent: welcoming, professional, casual"
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>