Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Virgil's Cafe Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Virgil's Cafe

Virgil's Cafe is a locally owned and operated casual gourmet restaurant featuring fresh local ingredients and seasonal wine-paired menus. Located in the heart of historic Bellevue, Kentucky, we offer our customers a wide array of internationally inspired fare, wine tastings, art openings, charitable events, and informal cooking instruction.
103 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(103 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
(53)
4 stars
(35)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(60)
  • fit for foodies(56)
  • romantic(28)
  • special occasion(27)
  • great for brunch(23)
  • great for lunch(17)
Virgil's Cafe Reviews List
Review 1 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/21/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

local spot disappoints

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"we brought our kids here. Have been a few times before. There is a good vibe once you enter. We had to ask for a server to give attention to us. The portions are meager, our son ordered the caesar salad, and our daughter commented about there being "5 leaves of lettuce" to eat. ( it came on a bread-sized plate ) -- the ceaser did get a thumbs up on taste! ( just wish it was bigger ). as for the other portions, the steak au poivre was not as described: tiny serving of meat, fries scattered on top with tons of sauce. the Cioppono was very good, and decent portion. the tournedos got a decent review by our daughter. we didn't order desert but some of us were still hungry upon leaving...."
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We recommend Virgil's

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I really like this restaurant. It is a little off the beaten path, but worth a visit for sure. It would be great for a special occasion or romantic evening , as well as for no occasion, just as a treat for yourself. Some items are a little pricey, but worth it. Go - I
think you will be glad you did.
"
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome in every way!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our first time at Virgil's and it was outstanding! The food was awesome, the service was amazing and the atmosphere was quaint. Highly recommend Virgil's and we will be going back."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Virgil's

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Loved everything about it. Will definitely check it out again."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food and decent pricing

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We enjoy Virgil's Cafe and had not been there in some time so happy to go back. There are so many good things about this restaurant and I do recommend it, just don't expect a very large menu or choices, it is not that sort of place.
Our server seemed distracted and a bit off which was not usual, service is typically good here, not super but good.
I had a steak dish that was quite tasty but more chewy than I like, could have used some pounding or tenderizing. And my frites were a little soggy, sad face. The salads were great and my friends shrimp creole was lovely so overall good tastes, quantity and visual appeal."
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food & Service were exceptional as always.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner for four friends on Thursday night

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We ordered 3 different entrees. Steak, roast pork, and shrimp and grits. All were very good. We tried the chocolate mousse for dessert, also great. Prices were moderate. $118 for drinks and dinner, not bad at all. Northern Kentucky has mostly chain restaurants, and this is a bright spot."
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hidden gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went here for lunch and it was very nice, except was very cold (temperature-wise). Food was very good with a nice menu. Everyone in our party saw several choices they would have liked to try. We'll be back again for sure."
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Was actually excited to try Virgil's. Had several friends enjoy their meals. We went on a Friday evening. We had a 7:15 reservation. Arrived just a few minutes late. The host was great. Got us to out table quickly, brought our first round of drinks, and even gave us a great overview of the menu. Our server was attentive, but did not really have a good grasp of the menu, prep of food, and presentation. We started with the mushroom rarebit---spectacular! One of the best apps I have ever had! The fennel salad was good, fresh, unique. This is when it went downhill. My wife went simple with the French onion soup, inedible. Way to salty, mushy. By the time it got to the table, it had just become a coagulated mess. I had the special---16oz bone in ribeye. (Doubt it was 16oz.) The pepper seasoning was good. But the steak was too thin, fatty, gristley. Was definitely not "chef chosen" steak. The asparagus was overcooked sitting under the steak. Terrible presentation. Didn't even want to try desert! (That is rare.) I think that I would be hard pressed to return especially with the ever growing restaurant scene in our city."
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our 3rd time to dine at Virgils this year. Always good food and better than average service. Don't be in a hurry, which is fine with us."
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dining with Friends

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Entertaining out of town guests and thought of Virgil's Cafe, after touring New Riff Distillery in Newport. Impressive selections to choose from, like Salmon, homemade pasta, steak selections and delicious bread pudding and other fine desserts. The wine parings offered by staff were perfect. We have visited several times and the service and food is always excellent. Try to sit at the Chef's Table-adds a bit of fun to your dinner! I know we will return, soon! Thank you for a wonderful dining experience!"
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 10/26/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Definitely a cut above, and a great value

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Charming small neighborhood restaurant in a restored, repurposed early 1900's home, Virgil's has become our go-to place for a nicer than normal lunch or dinner. Imaginative food, nicely presented, without being fussy. Excellent service, not overbearing. Locally sourced ingredients when possible. Limited menu, but there is variety in all categories: meat, fish, veggie, pasta. And the menu changes at least seasonally, if not more often. Both of our meals were excellent, the pan seared salmon over risotto and asparagus, and the three meat and cheese on flatbread. Would definitely order again, were it not for all the other appealing choices. The little round room slightly offset from the main dr is a special atmosphere for 2-4 people. We avoid the table in the bar room -- too noisy, and busy with wait staff going in and out of the kitchen."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Try something new!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Love how the menu changes all the time. GREAT for Brunch, waiter was very friendly with the regulars - seem to careless we were there for our second visit or had visitors from out of town. They still enjoyed it along with all the shops in the area."
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible service

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The establishment was a very cute place. However We had terrible service and luck with our food. We were there a long time before we received any real attention."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Virgil's Cafe is really a neighborhood gem. I am so happy I was introduced to it a year ago and I get excited every chance I get to go back! The steak poutine is out of this world! The restaurant is really great for any age even though I'd say it's ideal for people 21 and up because it's a great place at night to go with a group of friends or a date to eat and drink some wine. The art is fantastic! The servers and bartenders (and all staff) are the kindest people in the you'll meet in the greater Cincinnati area, not only because they are knowledgable but because they really make everyone feel like an individual and that is what makes great hospitality. I could go on and on about what makes Virgil's easily in my top 3 restaurants in this area!"
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have eaten here several times for lunch and dinner over the past few years and have yet to be disappointed. The food is creatively crafted and the service is always excellent. Most recently I had the fennel salad for lunch, which was both unusual and delicious. For dinner in the past, I've had Matt's étouffée which is a fantastic entree. Virgil's is a small, intimate restaurant. We have been part of groups that numbered up to six. Larger groups would likely dominate the room. I will keep Virgil's on my short list."
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Local gen

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Matt the owner/chef stops by every table to talk about the dinner and make sure you are happy. The staff are great and the food is delicious"
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Beef Stroganoff

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I visited Virgil's with a friend. They had Beef Stroganoff as a special so I ordered it. I am super glad I did. It was very tasty, had a lot of depth of flavor. My friend ordered the poutine. She really liked it. I like poutine and I tried it. I wasn't overly impressed. The pieces of meat I had had gristle in it, that made it kind of ick for me."
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent food; entertaining waiter!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Delicious food but our server was slow and rude.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great Sunday brunch find. Best Frittata and Bloody Mary's!"
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Just what I've been looking for

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I am in town working. My days are long and I've been looking for a friendly place with great food to to get that "at home" feel. I found it
Love the vibe, music and service and the owner personally makes the rounds to make sure it's all good."
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Virgil's Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>