Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa Reviews List

Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa

Alternative Phone # 914-631-1980

Situated on sprawling hilltop acres overlooking the Hudson River, the main tower of Castle Hotel & Spa forms the highest point in Westchester County. Castle Hotel & Spa is a medieval-style structure that was meticulously transformed into a luxury hotel, offering guests royal-quality service and luxurious guest rooms.

Guests will enjoy sumptuous, award-winning meals at Equus Restaurant. Uniquely modern Auberge-style, natural French- inspired cuisine based on locally sourced ingredients using the finest quality and freshest ingredients are experienced at Castle Hotel & Spa.
See more Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa details
252 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(252 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 252 reviews
5 stars
(123)
4 stars
(78)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(17)
1 star
(11)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(143)
  • special occasion(143)
  • scenic view(114)
  • fit for foodies(83)
  • great for brunch(54)
  • great for lunch(46)
Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa Reviews List
Review 1 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Dined in the Oak Room for 2-1/2 hours without being rushed. Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience as well as the food."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

food did not live up to overthetop description.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/24/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/03/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Fantastic as always!"
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Brunch is nice

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/13/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Excellent Morrocan Lamb for dinner. Wait staff was very attentive. Brunch was very special too!"
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Trying hard, but missed the mark

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I came here with my boyfriend to celebrate our Christmas together, since we'd be with our respective families for the actual holiday. The restaurant ambiance is beautiful and you are treated like a VIP from the moment you walk in. The menu was nice and we were excited to try a few things that sounded good on the menu, but in execution didn't quite work out. The foie gras terrine, for example, sounded great, but was severely lacking flavor. We decided to try two of the small portions of pasta to get a variety and we loved the ricotta cavatelli, but were disappointed in the spaghetti carbonara. The server described this to us as having a lot of flavor, but as soon as we broke the egg on top, the yolk seemed to dilute the flavor of the pasta too much, not leaving much of the original ingredients to stand out. A couple more things that were awkward: the bread that was brought to us after we ordered was a bit hard. The server's explanation of the specials and the menu items was not very clear. And I loved the sorbet, but I was not told that there were three scoops and I chose two flavors and was not given the choice of which flavor I'd want the extra scoop of. Also, there were graham cracker crumbs at the bottom of the sorbet, which I was also unaware of, and I don't particularly care for different textures in my sorbet. The highlights were the Moroccan spiced lamb, and the ricotta cavatelli, as mentioned earlier. Overall, I think I'd try another restaurant in the area next time for dinner."
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Over priced for what was offered."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Up-state quality

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Visiting New York City for Christmas a more intimate setting for Christmas lunch was required. Equus @ Castle Hotel delivered to our expectations. Not big on drinking Equus also paired a suitable list with the courses that complimented the food very well, which left us feeling the meal had been enhanced with the recommendations. Coming from Britain ( a little cheat of a comment as I grew up in nearby Croton) we had an impression of what rural America was like and Tarry Town was a beautiful setting that made us feel festive despite unseasonal heat!
All the staff made us feel at home and encouraged us to discovers its many nooks and crannies. Other halls set up for family Christmas events made us look enviously on!
Should we return to upstate New York we shall certainly make the Castle a stop and will book to stay!
Thank you for making it a Christmas to remember."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not as good as it used to be

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Went over the xmas weekend for dinner and seemed very quiet. We have been here a few times already and came around the same time last year. This time, there didn't seem to be very few people there dining and decor was less than last holiday as well. Food was ok but seems to be on the decline for the price. A bit disappointed this time around."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A nice atmosphere restaurant!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Fabulous service and stunning dinner!
I really enjoyed a Christmas lunch with my friends.
"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Disappointing- we made reservations well in advance with credit card and they called us twice to confirm wand we were explicit on email and phone calls that we wanted a nice quiet former table. They seated us in the middle of the restaurant in between two tables with children- we asked to be moved and got a nicer table but still not corner as we had reserved
Appetizer was very good (lobster and caviar) maine course (duck and filet) were both brought out at first way under cooked- and then when came back of course then overcooked.
Desert was cold- I know Christmas, is a busy time and we like the atmosphere of the Castle, but frankly on balance very disappointing
"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We love this place. We dine here frequently."
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food but poor service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food was up to our expectations. However we expected better service from a restaurant of this caliber. The waiter was not knowledgeable regarding the menu and had to ask the chef every question we asked. I did the wine pairing and wasn't given my last pairing and had to ask for it. Expected much better"
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Less than impressive

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The Christmas decorations were greatly abbreviated as opposed to last year, which is why we go during the season. The new chef's creations did not impress us. The lamb was fatty, and the vegetables too greasy. In retrospect the restaurant has deteriorated in food quality. We have dined there every Christmas for the last 10 years. NEVER AGAIN."
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Sadly disappointed...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for a special occasion and was really looking forward to a memorable evening. The service was very poor though - the young waiters (there were a few) didn't seem very experienced or confident. Need more staff training!
We happened to overhear the table next to us ordering some side dishes which prompted us to add some to our order, as we hadn't done so already. The waiter agreed we would need some (although didn't ask us at the time of order). We ended up with our entree being served and the side dishes arriving quite a while after (we'd already practically finished - had to put our forks down and wait) which was rather poor of a restaurant of this calibre. The white wine wasn't cold enough to be enjoyable. The food was just ok - nothing special at all. We're fish eaters though, so cannot comment on the meat.
On a positive, the setting is special - restaurant did have a lovely ambiance and you could have a nice conversation as it was quiet enough. But poor service and mediocre food definitely brought the whole evening down to a negative experience which is a shame because we'd love to find a special local restaurant to enjoy."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/12/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/13/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

A very Bad Service Experience since we sat down

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Using one of Zagat's criteria to rate restaurants, I will tell you that Service at Equus deserves ZERO points!
I will chronologically write below the experience I had on 12/11/2015 at Equus with bullet points:
8:00PM: Arriving at the Restaurant.
8:20PM: After being seated, my wife and I waited for over 20 minutes to have someone ask us and if we wanted something to drink and what type of water we would like for the table.
8:30PM: When asked for bread, we were told that we needed to place the order first before getting any. Seriously?
8:40PM: While ordering food, I asked the waitress if he could explain me what the Lamb’s plate was all about… He responded that it was just Lamb with Rice – one of his favorite dishes! I asked him again that I would like to know a bit more about the plate because I didn’t fully understand what it comes with the Lamb… Losing his coolness, he asked me what exactly I didn’t get about the plate and said that it was totally self-explanatory… I am copying and pasting directly from the Equus menu what it comes along with the Lamb: Blue Moon Acres Black and Tan Rice, Charred Persimmons, Salsify Chip. Do you think it is self-explanatory?
9:00PM: Main dishes arrived, but the waitress handling our plates messed up with them and gave me my wife’s instead of mine. I even asked her if what she was giving me was the lamb and she said yes. Obviously, when I tried, I noticed that the plate belonged to my wife. No big deal, we switched plates; however, this type of things CANNOT happen in a place like Equus. We went there to eat, but having a great service comes along with the very high expectations of being there. This time around, the service was just NOT there.
Lastly, it was common ground to have my glass of wine totally empty, waiting for our waitress to get noticed and do his job. This is totally unacceptable to say the least."
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Small portions

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I liked everything except the portion size - to spend $150 on lunch for two people and still be hungry is frustrating.
I couldn't believe when waiter came over with platter of rolls and only gave us one each!
"
Dined on 12/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overpriced

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2006
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Equus is best for people who are staying at The Castle Hotel. The food is overpriced. They also have no beers on tap."
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exceptional service and attention...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Fireplace room is such a romantic, elegant dining room. The service was exceptional and the attention we were given made us feel like VIP's. Truly a restaurant to celebrate a special occasion. The food was delicious."
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Equus @ Castle Hotel and Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had an amazing time with my boyfriend. Took him here for his surprise 23rd birthday dinner and we both loved it! I appreciate how they took the time to ask small details regarding the event (asked for his name and age and surprised him with a chocolate mousse treat with a candle). The food was fairly priced. Would recommend for a weekend slurge."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>