Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee Reviews List

Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee

Arabelle at The Hotel Plaza Athenee features modern American cuisine in a contemporary, elegant setting. A gorgeous room with a gold-domed ceiling is the backdrop for our innovative menu. A la carte and prix fixe menus options are available. Highly rated in Zagat 2012.Bar Seine is as romantic as they come.
See more Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee details
38 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(38 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(21)
  • special occasion(20)
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • fit for foodies(16)
  • great for lunch(12)
  • great for brunch(9)
Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee Reviews List
Review 1 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Went for Sunday brunch. Not a large selection but OK.
Very cozy and well decorated dining room. Pleasant, peaceful. Fresh flowers etc.
The bread/pastries basket had only one croissant, one muffin and one scone for two people.
The appetizer of smoked salmon was of an excellent quality (server forgot the toasts!) the steak and eggs we ordered were very good. Only negative comment is the cost of the bottle of wines: nothing under $65 for run of the mill wines. Also quality of the coffee served could be improved; I take it black no sugar and you can really taste the good to the so-so coffees. Nicholas, the Manager who attended us was very nice and informative. The servers were very attentive too. Not sure we will be back due to the cost of wines.
"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/10/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Try its lobster. Very good. Better than lots of famous for lobster restaurant."
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Let me begin by saying how surprised I was to find that my bottle of Pellegrino water that is normally $2 in 7-11 and $7 in a fine dining restaurant was $13. Not to mention that my wife's chamomile tea, one bag and hot water, was $10. This alone made me cringe enough to never return. But let's move past the overcharging, and get to the actual experience. The food, while tasty, was nothing special, in particular. When I saw that this restaurant was ranked a very highly on opentable, I was expecting something unique and special. Especially for the price. When I'm paying top dollar like this, I have expectations that were not met here. If this meal had been served to us at a standard lunch place, for standard lunch prices, I would've been overjoyed and probably would have become a return and repeat customer. But when I'm charged $31 for vegetables (mostly mushrooms) and a handful of gnocchi, I tend to consider it a bit of a rip off. The service was attentive, yet oddly brusque and a bit awkward. When my wife, who is pregnant, opted to only get soup and salad, the waiter loudly derided her with a "That's all?" The manager, who obviously cared and was well-meaning, came off as desperate to please, which is a vibe that doesn't make for a very comforting environment. Speaking of the environment, turn down your lights. This is meant to be an intimate, elegant dinner, not a diner. Finally, if you're going to keep your bread in a warmer, don't forget to fill the moisture compartment. The bread we received was harder than a rock."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food is wonderful however we were surprised at the unmentioned extra fee of $18 for lettuce and avocado that was added to my $24 crab cakes. My salad was almost more than my husband's steak! We were guests of the hotel and didn't feel like complaining, however it has left a bad taste with us. Will stay there again, I imagine, but most likely dine elsewhere."
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Must Visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Bar area is small and darkly romantic, dining room has a luxurious feel, with pale pink wall panels, wispy gold curtains and a gold-domed ceiling. You are presented with a cozy, comfortable, yet elegant setting. Not for those with modern tastes. The menu was limited yet every item we had was prepared with fresh seasonal fair , great presentation. Each item was a treat to eat. Service was very attentive and above average. My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner a truly special experience."
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing Service!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Just went there for a quiet business lunch, the service was the best I have had in the City!!! Love Love Steve..."
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So Fabulous.....

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's the Hotel Plaza Athenee... nothing else need be said... it speaks for itself. I entertained a very wealth African business associate here for lunch & he just loved the atmosphere & the food was more amazing that I remembered.
I just love how wonderful & quint this place is... it's timeless.
"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The staff were professional, courteous, and friendly. Lovely ambiance. My daughters and I went for breakfast on Mother's Day and the food was excellent. Hats off to the chef. We will definitely go back for Sunday brunch. Thank you for a wonderful morning."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tranquil and beautiful

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Elegant old school beauty. Very good food not wonderful service. The brunch bread basket is to die for!!!"
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our Easter Brunch was spectacular, thanks to the great staff and service. The food was fabulous. Everything was top quality and the staff continuously refreshed all of the offerings on the appetizer and dessert tables. We will certainly return!"
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful and serene

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Truly lovely. Like being in Paris. Spacious, elegant, and quiet. A real pleasure."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

I NEVER have to go back there again!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Arabelle is tired in every way. It could use a major re-do, beginning with the wait staff. Those guys hovered over us from the minute we sat down, pushing to take our order, then pouring wine every other minute in large quantities, and then hanging very near to our table chatting with each other, staring at us while we ate. One waiter in particular is more suited for work in a diner. For the price, we could have gone anywhere in the City and gotten superior service, ambience and food."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

East side fine dining

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Outstanding restaurant that we have frequented for many years. Check to see if main dining room is open. If not, there is a warm room off the bar. The preparation is always of top quality."
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was good; the bill ($100 per person, for a breakfast) was ridiculous !!!
Tha Plaza and the Carlyle offer a superb brunch, a better ambiance and service, a larger choice ... and compared to Arabelle prices they would look cheap.
"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quiet find.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sometimes not easy to find a quiet unhurried dining experience in Manhattan but this is the place. Food was excellent. Service was attentive, kind of formal but unpretentious. Decor was classy. If you like to be around energy and people when you dine, don't go here. It's quiet but a nice treat."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A real find

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have been here a number of times and will continue to return. The food, service and ambiance are excellent. What makes it best for us is there is almost no one else there-its like going to your own private dining room."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Amazing Service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great resturant and amazing service. Atmosphere was superior. Food was average for set Christmas menu too expensive. We hsd a good evening."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Christmas Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Christmas at Arabelle was exactly what we expected...great menu with delicious dishes, an outstanding wait staff (especially Tony), and beautiful decor. The only criticism we had was that it would have been the right thing to include coffee with dessert on the prix fixe menu."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fine food. Excellent service. High prices.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food prices a little high. Ridiculous high price - $9.50 - for coffee and ice tea each. Elegant quiet spot with great service. Great bar and lobby."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Romantic & elegant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Beautiful restaurant, reached through an appealing and cozy bar. The dining room is elegant but not stuffy-- though sadly it was not very busy, which it should be for the quality of service, the beauty of the room, and the deliciousness of the food. We shared the garganelli pasta with braised short ribs, which needed a little salt but was otherwise excellent and very satisfying. My companion had the duck with braised endive and leeks, which was delicious, and a side of wonderful black lentils, and I enjoyed the organic chicken.
We would definitely come here again, and hope more people discover this tucked-away gem!"
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Arabelle at the Hotel Plaza Athenee
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate