Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

4 Fathers Colonial Gastro Reviews List

4 Fathers Colonial Gastro

Located just a few blocks from the Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross House and Elfreth's Alley in the historic Old City neighborhood of Philadelphia, 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro brings the flavors and ambiance of colonial America to your dining experience.

Our chef prides himself in putting out thoughtfully produced dishes that will please your palate and fill your belly.

While an intimate dinner for two is always a treat, an entertaining nightlife experience is always on tap at 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro. Join us for Happy Hour Monday – Friday 5-7pm and keep an eye on our events calendar for upcoming acoustic acts and special events.
See more 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro details
74 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(74 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(18)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(10)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(28)
  • great for outdoor dining(19)
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • great for lunch(16)
  • late-night find(11)
4 Fathers Colonial Gastro Reviews List
Review 1 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent choice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This was a last minute choice for restaurant week and I must say it was a great choice . The shrimp and grits were delicious. I couldn't stop talking about it at work the next day. I will certainly be back."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Restaurant Week

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Took our friend Brenda out for her birthday during Tuesday of CCD Restaurant Week. Common Wealth Old City (formerly 4 Fathers) featured some items off their upcoming menu and it's definitely worth a try. With kind of a Southern twist on the food, I had the Shrimp and Grits, Grilled Cheese within Tomato Bisque, and Pork Medallions. Everything was superb. My wife got the Short Rib w/ Kale au Gratin (wish I got that) while Brenda had the Salmon.
Another good place to try within a terrific Old City food landscape. Joe Battista, bravo!"
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice little restaurant in Olde City

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We were there for restaurant week. Food was very good and flavorful. Online menu stated dessert was included (4 course) for Restaurant week however at the restaurant we were told it was only a 3 course which did not include dessert. It would have been nice if the restaurant had either updated the Rest Week website or notified when they called people to reconfirm their reservation during rest week. Service was great and friendly."
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Name change?

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/19/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't bother if you want to have a meal!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is basically only a bar. We went in for dinner and found they had little to offer other than some bar food. It was pretty disappointing. We had a drink and left!"
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Casual fun, excellent service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had my pre-wedding party here. 25 guests. Party was so much fun. No frills but service was excellent and the food and drinks kept flowing."
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nothing at all stood out. The wine was terrible, we had to send it back, the French onion soup was ok. The burgers were tasteless, and the short ribs were dry and there were almost none on the sandwich. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant
Our server however was great.
"
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice Decor, Fun Food, Noisy Bar

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"They have a great beer selection and we took advantage of the happy hour prices. The menu is fun, with lots of Mexican dishes and old standards with a twist. Try the onion soup and or the arugula salad with shrimp - yum. For a quick bite before a show, this place is perfect. The problem was the large party seated behind us. It was so loud, we could barely hear ourselves! Our server was very nice, and attentive. Check it out the next time you're out for a happy hour."
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/29/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The burger was fantastic. Cooked a correct medium rare and very juicy on a fresh brioche bun. Shared the Mac and Cheese steak appetizer. Two large fried balls with Mac and cheese with some steak inside. Tasty."
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, great service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went with a group of 7. Everyone was satisfied with their meal. Food was delivered quickly and exactly as ordered. I had the Love Park (Grilled Squash, Zucchini, Fresh Mozzarella, Roasted Red Peppers, Poblano Hummus, Brioche Bun) which I thoroughly enjoyed. Great atmosphere overall and a solid beer menu. Waitress was friendly and made us feel welcome. She was also a great help with beer pairing! I would definitely recommend."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great service and great food. Was recommended by the hotel front desk."
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overall good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went during restaurant week. We sat outside on the side patio. This is a nice feature to the restaurant where you can enjoy being outside but away from the hustle and bustle of the street. There was a good selection of beer and we were able to enjoy a round while it was still happy hour. The menu had several items to choose from. Some dishes were simple and others creative and tasty. Everyone in our party enjoyed their food, especially the bacon wrapped figs. We were plenty full by the time dessert was served. The servers were knowledgeable and attentive. Overall we had a very enjoyable experience for a great price."
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dining with Friends

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went to restaurant with several friends. Quality of food good. Server wonderful and attentive. Crab cakes overly cooked on one side. Only one short rib on plate so literally had three bites of rib meat. Dessert outstanding."
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/06/2013
 2012
Dined on 7/06/2013
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/06/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for brunch at 4 Fathers with another couple and it was a great experience. We sat on enclosed outdoor patio across the street from Benjamin. Franklin post office. I had the mushroom omelette and my husband got the Gettysburger which was huge. Both were fantastic. My friend got Fried Chicken and waffles and her husband got Caprese omelette. Staff was friendly and attentive. Must try in Old City."
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Gastropub for restaurant week?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I came for restaurant week. Crab mac and cheese was good, french onion soup had a weird taste as well as the sauce with the crab cakes. Garlic mashed potatoes were awesome! We onyl got one plate of doughnuts at the end when I'm sure we were each supposed to get our own plate. All in all it was okay but I will skip it for next restaurant week and go somewhere more upscale."
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2004
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Last time I was there which was a year ago the food was great! My parents came to PA and I talked up a good game about the Mac-n-Cheese and how awesome the food. Well needless to say it was a disappointment this time around. All of the food was super salty!!!! Even the meat for the cheesesteak was salty!! More than likely won't be eating there again. It's very sad they changed the recipes."
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food took too long.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There was only one other couple in the restaurant whe we arrive and they were eating already. It took nearly 45 for our order to be ready. The wait was much too long. The food was good but not fantastic."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

nice enough bar but terrible food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"From out of town so found the restaurant on opentable and it had good enough reviews. Service was good enough, but the food was truly terrible. Might be because they seemed overwhelmed due to it being Valentin's Day but our food was completely dry and tasteless as if it was premade and just refired prior to be served. Looks like a popular place for drinks though so seems like locals already know about the horrendous food."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2001
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Better then we thought

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Some of the reviews on here made me nervous, but I needed to make a last minute reservation for 6 on Valentine's day for my 19 year old daughter and her friends. I reluctantly made the reservation. Surprisingly, My daughter was very happy with the place! She said the hostess was awesome and sat them right away even though they were early. Their waiter was pleasant and attentive, and although they had a special holiday menu, all the girls loved their food ( especially the pork chop, they said it was awesome ). I asked if they would go back and all of them said yes."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

so disappointed ..

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were soooo looking forward to eating here - but the Valentine's Day menu was different than the regular menu and so I ordered the Sablefish. The waitress said it was a very light fish - but unfortunately it had such a horrible lingering fishy taste I couldn't even eat it (and I am a salmon eater, but this was a terrible fish flavor you couldn't get out of your mouth!)
In addition, another member of our party asked if there was caviar on the scallops and the waitress so no - then while putting the plate down sid -Oops, there IS caviar - hope its ok (it wasn't).
I would love to go back and try their regular menu - their outside seating area looks so inviting, but I am afraid there are too many other great places in Philly to return here :(
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great place for first-timers

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I made reservations for my birthday dinner and it was fantastic. I went during restaurant week and the menu was awesome. Some of my friends order different things so I got to look at almost everything they had on the menu. The service was excellent. To put the icing on the cake, the chef walked my mother out to the car. I thought that was very kind of him. when he asked for a review ,I told him that I would do so. I recommend crab cakes or short ribs."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies, late-night find
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

not terrible, but not good.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I went on a Thursday night for restaurant week. The tables are so small, your practically sitting with the table next to you. While i was trying to have a conversation with my husband, i couldn't help but hear the people sitting next to us more clear than my husband from across the table. The drinks were good, the food was nothing special. My husband who LOVES ribs, was not happy with his meal. If i didn't have mashed potatoes to cover my crab cakes with i would have been highly disappointed. I wouldn't recommend to any of our Philly friends. Maybe a happy hour, but not dinner."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2015
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Let's just leave it at HORRIBLE

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Might be a good place to grab a drink after work because of it's location, but it's just generally awful. Mike Jerrick owes me a lunch.....I went after he talked it up on Fox29."
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2002
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

4 Fathers Gasto Disaster

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went for restaurant week and it was packed. The restaurant was very small and very crowded. It was obnoxiously loud as there was a group of approx. 20 that should not have been allowed to schedule such a large party. The outer door was left open for the majority of our dinner so when the inner door was opened a very cold gust of air filled the dining room. The tables we were sat at were outdoor tables and very small. My seat was wobbly and felt like it was going to break. The waiter was running around and was not the most attentive to each table. The one good thing that came from our dinner was that our waiter comped me a drink when I wasn't brought a spoon with my soup. Otherwise, for a gastropub the food was so- so and the draft list was lacking any real craft beers. I was overall dissapointed by the atmosphere, size, noise, food, attention to detail, and service."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Interesting and delicious menu choices

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Stopped in for lunch to celebrate a friends birthday and it happened to be restaurant week. I had the dates with blue cheese wrapped with bacon, very tasty, had soy dipping sauce also. Salad with blue cheese crumbles also very good, and third course sandwich was also great. Fence fries were nice and crispy. Service was fast and friendly. Great spot, will definitely go back!"
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

But the chef wasn't there, so....

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend and I decided on the spur of the moment to give 4 Fathers a try. When we got there, we learned the chef was hurt, so someone else had to step in. While the food was good, it wasn't stellar. For example, there was too much seasoning in the French onion soup. The fries were great, though. And our waiter was very attentive. We liked it enough, and understand that there was a kitchen problem, so we will give it another try."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pretty Good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"NIce place to go with a few friends or for a date night. Not too loud, so you can have conversation. The food was good. Not exceptional but good. You won't be mad you ate here. The crab mac n cheese doesn't have much crab, so don't get too excited about the title. But it was a good starter. The drinks were pretty good. I recommend the Dark and Stormy. It sneaks up on you. You might not feel a buzz right away, but just give it a second. You will. Don't try to keep drinking. Just wait. I don't think it would be good for a large crowd inside. Maybe during warm weather when you can sit outside. The serve we had was pleasant and helpful. No complaints, really."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for 4 Fathers Colonial Gastro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We walk by this place everyday after work and decided to stop in for the first time. They had a great deal going on for restaurant week so we gave it a shot. The drinks were fabulous and the food came out perfect. Our server was sweet, funny, and energetic. Very enjoyable time. We will be back again for sure."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>