Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek Reviews List

Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek

Il Fornaio means 'the baker' in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.
See more Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek details
1030 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(1,030 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 1,030 reviews
5 stars
(440)
4 stars
(381)
3 stars
(140)
2 stars
(49)
1 star
(20)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(398)
  • great for lunch(367)
  • special occasion(366)
  • great for outdoor dining(312)
  • fit for foodies(281)
  • neighborhood gem(208)
Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek Reviews List
Review 1 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/05/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/04/2016
 2015
Dined on 5/04/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"What a Great experience we had at IL Fornaio! We came in for lunch today and we're promptly greeted by a friendly hostess, she asked us how are day was and made small chat all the way to the table. Our server was just as friendly and made us feel right at home. He told us about the wine dinners and cooking classes. Overall it was a great time at IL Fornaio."
Dined on 5/04/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 4/23/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2005
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

food ok, service cranky

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"waitress cranky, bumped into me several times while reaching over me"
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent restaurant week menu. Chicken delicious

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/27/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2003
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2003
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/26/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The service was a little slow but we were enjoying a birthday so we weren't super needy. She never asked if we wanted another round of drinks (until we finally were able to flag her down). We would opted to go somewhere else for a nightcap since we had trouble finding our waitress. Food was good and we liked the feel of the restaurant. We had a reservation for 6:45 but there was some confusion so we were seated closer to 7:30-7:45. Luckily, we were all in good spirits so it didn't dampen the night."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/24/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Anniversary Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Went to our favorite spot for our 26th Anniversary and were treated like a King and Queen that night. They had our table covered in a special red tablecloth. So cute everything was perfect."
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/24/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Il Fornaio Is Reliably Great

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My husband and I were planning on going to a restaurant near
the Lesher Theater, so we could park in one location. When
they were no available openings, we went to Il Fornaio. I
knew that we would have a great dining experience from
our past visits. This was no exception. Our waiter was
friendly, the ambiance was perfect and the food was excellent.
I love the spice packet they give out from the head chef...just
a classy touch.
"
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were here for dinner last Saturday and just had a fabulous time. Me made a 7pm reservation and were greeted promptly by a friendly staff member and we're seated right away. We were actually a little early but they got us in early. Friendly server who remembered us from last time took great care of us. All the food was served hot and just t ok our likeing. We were in a hurry to make a movie and our server made sure we.made it out on time. Great food and service. We will be back."
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came for Walnut Creek Restaurant Week. Visited 4 restaurants during Restaurant Week and Il Fornaio was hands down the best experience. Excellent food. Excellent service. The two biggest dish standouts were the scallops in the linguine mare chiaro and the ravioli in the cappellaci di zucca. Tiramisu and gelato were also on point."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fantastic as always!!!"
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Very good Italian menu (Toscana). Excellent service."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/20/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Restaurant Week

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Several former representatives on a County Commission reunited and greatly enjoyed the food, excellent service, and recommended wine. Seating was outdoors and extremely pleasant."
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I took my friend to lunch for her birthday (another friend took me for mine!) and we had a really nice time. We were seated in the pretty loggia area with the big windows, so you feel like you're outside even when you aren't. Lovely service wonderful lunch and such a nice way to spend a birthday."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fabulous veggie pizza!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We ordered the chicken salad and veggie pizza. They were both very generous portions. We loved their bread and olive oil. We even had dessert -cannelloni. So delicious. We were there for restaurant week. It was the first day of restaurant week. The maitre'd told me about the 3 hour free parking behind their building. Great. I had parked on the street and didn't put enough coins so I was worried. So I moved the car to the parking garage."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/08/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Tonight my girlfriend and I stopped in in for a quick bite after a movie. Although we did not have a reservation the hostess at the front desk was very accommodating and seated us right away. She had a pleasant smile and made us feel right at home. Our service was prompt and both our bus person and the waiter did a great job. I ordered the pizza Margarita and a small salad and they were both flavorful and delicious. My friend had the shell pasta and she said it was delicious. But the best part is the tiramisu dessert! IL Fornaio has the best in town. We will be back for another great time!"
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was very good. Waiter knew the menu and made good recommendations."
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Once again we enjoyed both the food and the service at Il Fornaio.
Highly recommended.
"
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Service was terrific

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Delicious salad, appetizer, and dessert. My friend and I had a wonderful and long lunch."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 4/16/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/14/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a great experience. We came in for happy hour and had great food and drinks. The service was also very good. I had the pizza Margarita and calimari and it came out fast and hot. The bar was busy but everything seemed to be running smoothly. I just love the decor of this restaurant, it definitely is one of the nicest restaurants in Walnut Creek . We come for happy hour at least once a week. This our go to spot in Walnut Creek."
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/05/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Il Fornaio - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 4/08/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>