Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union Reviews List

Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union

Rio Rodizio is an all-you-can-eat dining experience like no other. Sit back, relax, and enjoy this popular Brazilian, Rodizio-style barbecue, where perfectly seasoned cuts of beef, pork, filet mignon, chicken, ham, turkey wrapped in bacon, and Brazilian sausage are slow-roasted on large skewers. The sizzling cuts of meat and poultry are brought to you and carved tableside by authentic Gaucho chefs. You may choose from as many different cuts of meat as you like. Featured meats include beef rib, top sirloin, flank steak, skirt steak, shell steak, lamb, teriyaki chicken and more. Our Rodizio is accompanied by traditional Brazilian side dishes like: rice, beans, fries, fried bananas… And an extravagant all-you-can-eat 30-item salad bar fit for a king or queen. Rio Rodizio also offers an ala carte menu and a sushi bar where the amazing fresh sushi is prepared to please your taste buds. Also a variety of delicious desserts that include freshly made cakes, tarts, and other temptations.
See more Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union details
63 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(63 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(27)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(29)
  • special occasion(20)
  • fit for foodies(16)
  • romantic(8)
  • vibrant bar scene(7)
  • great for lunch(6)
Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union Reviews List
Review 1 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place great food wonderful service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I enjoyed the karaoke the atmosphere was vibrant and family friendly. I never had such delicious pork and beef ever. The fish with cheese sauce and the roasted potatoes were to die for. Sorry I'm not able to give details with names of my dishes due to the potent tasry sangria we had. I recommend this place to all. We had one of the sweetest servers ever she was pleasant and timely. Wonderful experience 5 stars"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"the food once it started coming was good i think they should have better food options"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2003
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2003
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Bad Experience but Great Food as Usual...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This was our third time dining at Rio Rodizio and we still haven't gotten tired of it. First and foremost, you've got to be a big fan of meat to enjoy this place because the all-you-can-eat salad bar, while full of many different options, isn't really much to write home about. The hot dishes - ranging from fish, to rice and beans, to cream of zucchini soup tasted as if they had been sitting there for several hours without being attending to, which was probably the case. Similarly, the cheese and cold cut platters featured food items that were dried up and best avoided.
On the other hand, the rodizio (the real reason you go to this place anyway), was close to top notch, especially for what you pay to dine. Various cuts of prime rib, flank steak and sausages were continually presented to us along with an absolutely delicious rodizio garlic bread as well as roasted pineapple sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. The meat generally juicy and fresh, though we did run across a few less popular cuts that had obviously dehydrated from being put back in the oven multiple times.
Here's the kicker. We made our reservation for 9:00pm, with the understanding that they closed at 11:00pm. What we weren't told was that Route 22 was closing for repairs and paving and they were therefore closing at 10:00pm. Had I known this, I would have postponed our dinner for another night so we could enjoy our affair to a greater extent. It would have been nice to get a phone call letting us know of the situation or to have been told before we sat down and ordered that they were closing early. While we were never hurried, this weighed heavy on us as we rushed to get food down and get out the door.
That said, this one bad experience won't keep us away. In my book, rodizio for $35 is a steal, considering you usually pay upwards of $50. We'll be back and hopefully next time we'll have more time to dine."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Churascarria in Union

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I have had great Churascarria experiences starting at any of the Fogo De Chao places and Texas de Brazil. Rio is fair, but the choice selection for the meats and the salad bar are not the same. But if you need your steak fix, Rio is an ok selection."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"music is too loud !???? it's a restaurant or a club !!!"
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was okay, nothing too special. My pasta wasn't cooked all the way through. The steak and sushi was okay. It was confusing because they had a nice dining room set up .. But then had really loud club music playing in the dining room. The waitress was nice but forgot our drinks and then two different waiters came to our table asking if we had ordered certain things. Very chaotic."
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2005
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Girls Night Out

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"GREAT staff! Unique and delicious cocktails! Our server was FABULOUS to say the least!"
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a good time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was great. I had the rodizio and my boyfriend had the snapper special. The chef even came out to deliver the dish. Food was great and service was super friendly. Can't wait to be back!"
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

amazing food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Amazing couldn't be a better summary about how the food was. Different meats, different tastes, all with their unique flavors. Couldn't ask for a better way to enjoy my 1yr anniversary with my wife. We will definitely return."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Surprise fine after landing at Newark Airport

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was good. Only one dining room was open open so it was a little crowded. Good service."
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was not good. We felt ignored the majority of the time. The rodozio had limited options and were not great cuts of meat."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been here many times before. There has always been a good variety of meats being brought to the table and a consistent flow of them throughout the dining room. However, this time it was very different. There were very few choices of meat. Many of the favorites of the past weren't even served. And, finally, there was a long amount of time between servers offering rodizio choices.
The variety and taste of the meats was not as good as in the past. The service was inattentive and slow. They also didn't serve the sides they served in the past (fries, fried bananas & brazilian bread balls).
All in all, it was a very underwhelming dining experience. We are much less likely to go here again."
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always a good time

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I'm a carnivore and my wife is pescetarian, so Rio always works for the two of us. The meat was a little over cooked the last time but was still tasty. The sushi was very good as well. The servers went out of their way."
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Didn't live up to expectations

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were looking for a new rodizio restaurant, and based on the website and the fact they did sushi, we decided to try Rio. We had a group of 8 adults and 1 child for a 7:00 sitting. The restaurant looked as nice as the pictures on their website. They offer an al a carte menu, as well as an all you can eat rodizio and buffet (midweek pricing $30) or all you can eat rodizio, buffet, and 1 specialty sushi roll (midweek pricing $35 which is a good bargain since most specialty rolls are $13 and up). The buffet was very nice: The salad bar and prepared salads were very fresh. They also had a nice variety of hot foods (not a huge variety, but enough to be satisfying) Rice, beans, fresh sautéed vegetables, roast chicken, chicken teriyaki, tilapia lyonnaise , and a few other entrees. They also offered fresh fruit but no other desserts on the buffet. Desserts can be ordered a la carte ( we tried the flan and the chocolate lava cake, both very good). The specialty sushi rolls were delicious! Two of us ordered specialty rolls and the whole table shared. Aside from dessert, the sushi was the highlight of the meal which was the disappointing part since the real reason we came was for the rodizio. The service was very slow. We kept waiting for a parade of meats, but it was very slow in coming. Sometimes the servers would serve the table next to us then disappear back into the kitchen. We learned to yell to get their attention to come to our table. The meat selection was limited and they kept bringing the same thing out, sausage, BBQ chicken wings, pork chunks wrapped in bacon, roast beef, ham, garlic beef kabob, chicken wrapped in bacon. Most everything was over cooked except for the beef which was either extremely rare or extremely well (I like mine medium rare and did not get one single piece of beef served that way). No premium cuts of beef, no roast pork. When we had eaten enough, they brought out lamb and pork ribs which I was too full to try! Bummer, heard they were good."
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Food Horrible Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was very good. The waiter not so much, he was very rude and never really came to the table much to ask if we needed drink. We had to flag down a person just to get water. I had better service from the Rodizio food runner than our waiter. Expect to be there for awhile."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good, but far from Great...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Rio Rodizio has continued to lose its step for the past couple of years. Our latest meal there - for our son's birthday (at his request) - left us feeling utterly disappointed by the quality of the meats, the less than fresh salads, the terrible drinks and the abysmal service. This will be our last visit to Rio Rodizio as there are too many other alternative Brazilian Steakhouses that deserve our time and sponsorship."
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/22/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My family has been coming here for Easter Sunday for the past few years and always had a great experience. Until today.... The salad bar area was empty. Nothing was refilled. We had to ask the waiter if they were going to refill and still waited over an hour for just bread and vegetables to be brought to the salad bar. The selections which are usually great were poor at best. No potatoes, no pasta, and an hour wait for mixed vegetables and bread. The only thing that was full was the rice and beans. The rodizio meat selection which is also usually wonderful was poor. They brought the same thing around over and over. I eat my meat extremely rare and there were pieces I couldn't eat because they weren't cooked. When we finally had enough of waiting and eating the same meat over and over we ordered cappuccino. The cappuccino was brought in beer glasses with whip creme because they ran out of cappuccino cups. On top of the cup it was lukewarm and so watered down with milk that we couldn't even drink it. When we said something to the waiter we were told they knew and ran out of a lot of things. That should be told when people are walking in so they have a choice to stay or leave. For five of us and an over $300.00 bill we have to go somewhere else for coffee and dessert. Rio was always on my favorites until today. Now we will be finding a new Easter Sunday and special occasion spot for the family."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2011
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Something Different

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Yummy food. Kids loved it! Service was a bit slow at times but it was a Saturday night and kind of busy. I would go again."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The food is very good and the selections are many.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was more impressed than I thought I would be. Food was very good and the salad bar was excellent with a very large assortment of food to try."
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great place to hang out and have good time

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Place is really nice food is good.. good for 2 or more people ... Lil expensive but it's worth it ... didn't like the watermelon sangria I'd go with regular one ... but everything else was fine"
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Unique experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The "salad bar" is enough for a meal by itself. It has chicken dishes as well as usual salad bar fare. Also there are beans & rice dishes. The Rodizio is where waiters walk the floor with over 10 different meat dishes. They carve a small piece for each person who wants some."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

brazilian

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"there was an abundance of food. There wS not enough seafood though. Food was tasty."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing on many levels

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Rio's web page is not maintained. We had a restaurant.com coupon and learned only after ordering that Rio no longer honors them. They have a note posted only at the check-in stand. Half the meat served was TOUGH. Yes, you can take all you want, but still it shows a lack of quality control. Rio includes a 15% gratuity on all checks, even though service might be poor. That results in a complacent staff with little incentive to please diners. Water glasses were not refilled, even though the 'water person' walked by our table several times with pitcher in hand. We had to hunt down our server just to get coffee/espresso ordered and again to get our check. Not worth the money paid. (This place was much better for the first few years after it opened. We will not return)."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2015
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Roadtrip Lunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Perhaps I've been spoiled by other Brazilian restaurants, but some things came up short at this restaurant. Service was a bit slow and some of the items on the salad bar were not up to par (plaintains, cold cuts). The meat, however, was very good. A decent stop while on the road as we were."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

No service

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was just unexistence. T he y have 1 server to wait on the whole dinning room, just imagine what a disaster."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rio Rodizio & Sushi - Union
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
7 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic