Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Riverview Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Riverview

Located directly on the shore of the East River at the Avalon in Long Island City, Riverview Restaurant commands the most spectacular views of New York City's skyline. Directly facing the United Nation with Citicorp Center, Trumps International Hotel and the Queensboro Bridge to the north and the Chrysler and Empire State Building to the south, Riverview is unmistakably, " A Room with a View".
38 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(38 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(19)
  • great for outdoor dining(14)
  • special occasion(12)
  • romantic(10)
  • good for groups(8)
  • great for brunch(6)
Riverview Reviews List
Review 1 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Riverview
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2013
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2013
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/25/2013
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/05/2011
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Riverview
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Just Average

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for brunch with several friends on a Saturday. Service was very good, location near the East River is impressive, as is the restaurant's décor; but the dishes were uninspiring. French dip was dry and without the usual gravy "dip." Breakfast items were standard fare on par with what would be served in most diners, but at higher cost. Perhaps dinner offerings are better."
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Riverview
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Riverview
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overall a good experience.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was a bit warm but I understand this time of year it's difficult to get it just right. It was too windy to sit outside so we sat inside they had the doors open but no breeze was making it in. I thought the view would have been better but it was a good experience."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Riverview
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

High quality seafood

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very nice food and great service. The weather was perfect for outdoor dining."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Riverview
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Decent food and great view, but service is bad

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We arrived promptly for our reservation but was told to wait by the hostess. Then she seemed to ignore us for the next 10 mins until we asked her again. We were given a table inside the restaurant even I explicitly asked for an outside table. Then the waiters ignored us again for the next 5 mins until we asked for the menus. By the time we ordered (around 7:30pm), the waiter told us half the things on the menu were not available. Given the below average services, we still gave 15% tips. When we walked out the doors, we didn't even receive a thank you or good night from anyone working in the restaurant,
Now the good part, the food was actually pretty good. We ordered the crustacean salads, rack of lamb and the duck. The desserts were a little sweeter than we like, but they arrived quickly."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Riverview
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice brunch spot with great views

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have been planning to try this place for some time and finally got around to it for Sunday brunch. The weather was great and the outdoor dining area was a really nice place to spend an hour. The food was good. We each had something different (pizza, breakfast, lunch). Like most American restaurants I have visited the service was fine, but a little too eager (to move us on). It wasn't that busy, but we felt hurried with plates being whisked away before we even swallowed our last bite. That aside, I still highly recommend this place!"
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Riverview
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We ended our 4 day visit to NYC here and it was the perfect celebration."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Worthwhile food and ambiance

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"With stunning views, an attentive service staff and excellent sea food, this gem will become a standard for us anytime we're in the area. Bar was a bit light not having any Bourbon, but easily overlook this minor drawback with the other highlights. Could easily become a regular here"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot for romance with a view

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant was not crowded (day AFTER Valentine's Day). Great view of NYC. Food was very good. Reasonable pricing for this type of restaurant (one with a nice ambience and view)"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Riverview
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

nice view with awful service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"View and food at the resturant were nice, service was awful. Never asked if I wanted something to drink, had to ask the manager for a glass of water, never received my dessert and got my champagne served in a wine glass. Place has potential but a new staff is needed"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Riverview
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was mediocre for the price, & the service was abysmal. Only saw our waitress once, had to flag other servers down to order dessert & pay. It took us over an hour to order dessert from the time we finished our meal & we had empty water glasses the entire time, which I've never seen before at any restaurant. We could've gotten up & walked out & no one would've noticed. It was such a poor experience that I'd never go back for dinner. The best thing about it was the view & the bartenders"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Riverview
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

loud parties

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The last two times we were at Riverview there were exceptionally loud parties going on. No reason to endure this-next time we will ask. If this wasn't my mother-in-laws favorite restaurant we would never go."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Riverview
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good enough for a winter brunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were looking for a place we haven't been and it was a cold rainy day. Service was great but it was also empty and food was good enough. I wouldn't recommend place for food. Id recommend it for the views in warm weather.
Probably a good hot spot for dinner in the summer
"
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Riverview
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Was good...

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had read some reviews that said service was hit or miss. We were one of the first for an 11am reservation for brunch. Service was there if you asked for it, but they did not hover. If you needed / asked for them, happy to promptly assist. Food was very tasty, nice brunch selection so both breakfast and lunch eaters were happy. Awesome views from waterfront over to Manhattan."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Riverview
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New Year's Eve 2014

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for 2014 New Year's Eve. The website wasn't clear that the only option that Eve was the package deal: buffet, drinks, belly dancer, music & dancing. That said, the buffet was plentiful, attractive, with good choices. The drinks & service of same was prompt. Definitely had a festive air."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Riverview
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great New Year's Party!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great new year's eve party.Food was delicious food,good and attentive service and fantastic music."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Riverview
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
9 out of 10 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic