Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York Reviews List

Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York

Bull and Bear Prime Steakhouse is home to one of the most historic and well-recognized bars in New York City; the celebrated steakhouse offers Fresh Seafood and Prime Dry Aged Steaks. Quoted ‘one of the three best bars in the World’ by the New York Times. Bull and Bear's Wine Library is a private, intimate dining room adjacent to the bar that is perfect for special occasions and business dinners.
See more Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York details
395 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(395 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 395 reviews
5 stars
(194)
4 stars
(107)
3 stars
(54)
2 stars
(28)
1 star
(12)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(216)
  • romantic(142)
  • fit for foodies(94)
  • notable wine list(92)
  • vibrant bar scene(69)
  • good for groups(40)
Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York Reviews List
Review 1 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food. Service lacking.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/10/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best there is

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Wonderful food and service! I always come here When I visit NY."
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very good food with good service."
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Tata

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Ambiance n decor was fabulous! My Caesars salad was very mediocre. My steamed lobster was 75% green inside (full of eggs). Red velvet cake was all cream. I got half a cup of coffee. For the price, I would never go back or recommend this restaurant. I was so disappointed n would love to have a supervisor contact me"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/03/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great historic place at the Waldorf

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The food is excellent. The service impeccable. A great place to entertain business meetings . The bar is a nice place to start - one of the bartenders has been there 30 years. It's a nice relaxing atmosphere that helps create an enjoyable night."
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, quiet restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We had an early dinner before seeing a Broadway show so there wasn't many people eating when we arrived. Our waiter was lovely but perhaps approached us a bit too much, maybe due to the lack of other customers. however we did enjoy our meal, steak was fabulous! and if you are after a relaxing quiet place for dinner, maybe it was just the time but this would be it."
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We dined as a party of four and our bill was well over five hundred dollars which we expected. Along with this we expected better service. Our waiter was nowhere to be found for the majority of the evening. It made the dining experience less then it could have been. We actually waited 15 minute for him to take a drink order. We had to ask where he was multiple times"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Worst Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I'm not usually one to write bad reviews, I would rather say nothing at all. In this case I feel it needs to be said and hopefully something will be done to correct the issue. When I spend $400.00 on dinner for two and the service was horrible I think it needs to be known. We were greeted very nicely upon arrival hostess that sat us was very nice. Ten minutes after being seated we got water and biscuits after waiting 25 minutes my husband asked the manager if someone could get us drinks because no one had come to our table at that point, 15 mins after getting drinks our waiter came and introduced himself and said he would be back. The restraunt wasnt busy enough to even say that couldve caused such delays. When he finally came back we order our appetizer and dinner, it took close to 25 mins for a crab cake, and our food 30 mins after we finished our appetizer our meal arrived. Though the food was excellent the service ruined our experience. We spend alot of time in NYC on business and pleasure and unfortunately we will not come back."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Slow service and food was not great and was $$$$"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Night out at the Bull and the Bear

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great food and very attentive service. The staff was very professional and welcoming and we will definitely dine at the Bull and Bear on a regular basis. Loved it!"
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Shame about the service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I booked this restaurant for my partner's 40th birthday as we were staying at the very lovely Waldorf Astoria. The service was just not at all up to scratch. The waiter very pleasantly gave us his name and said he would be attending to us. Unfortunately a rather brash man and his family was seated behind us and due to him being very obnoxious to the staff all attention was taken up with them. I felt very disappointed as this was a real treat for us both and was ruined by the fact our waiter was never to attend to our table again. I struggled to get the attention of any staff members to get my bill and when it finally arrived we were left again for ages waiting to pay. I feel that as a resident of the hotel we should have at the very least received the same level of service that this very rude party did."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I enjoyed every second of it. Truly enjoyable!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/15/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

When you are stuck without an option

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We were at the Waldorf in January and due to the weather and limit of time we ate lunch one day at Bull and Bear. Menu limited, expensive and waiter seemed untrained and clueless. Really only an option of last resort."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/10/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous Steak

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My husband frequents many steak houses in NYC and said this was the best steak and Au Gratin Potatoes he has had in a very long time.
Our server was perfect ..... getting us to the Magic Show on time!!!
"
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2002
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not so good

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Not a great experience or value. It's a shame that the Waldorf has let this restaurant and the quality of its food suffer. Perhaps this place is just intended for tourists who don't know any better but as a New Yorker this place is not worth eating at."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb food and service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food was excellent and the service without compare. My only complaint was that the bottles of wine on the wine list were priced in the hundreds and up. The wines by the glass were of good quality and reasonable."
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Exclusive

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It was the 2nd time my wife and I visited Bull & Bear Steakhouse. Both times, we found it sober, elegant and tasteful. However, one should know that it is not cheap, but for a special occasion, it might be a good choice."
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Expensive but food is well prepared

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The neighborhood around the Waldorf is filled with overpriced restaurants. However, Bull and Bear does deliver on food ingredients, good service and well prepared food. I would eat here again when in this area rather than taking a taxi to another neighborhood."
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Classic

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We were staying at the Waldorf and wanted to relax at the hotel this particular Friday evening. The Bull and Bear is a great throwback to classic bars of yesteryear without the stuffiness one might expect. We started with drinks at the bar, enjoyed hearing about famous patrons from the fabulous bartenders.
Then, headed to the dining room and enjoyed great service in a relaxed atmosphere. There was no rushing. Very attentive service. Sinatra playing over the sound system. Food was excellent... I enjoyed a well prepared steak and my wife enjoyed a perfect portion of lamb chops. They serve a delicious lobster mac and cheese.
All in all a wonderful, classic evening
"
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice meal for Boxing day at our hotel restaurant.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We stayed in the Waldorf Astoria and wanted to experience their different restaurants. When we arrived the bar was very busy and we were directed into the restaurant area. It was relatively small, but large enough to create a nice, warm atmosphere. The food was lovely, with a great choice available. The service was also excellent."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Riding on age old establishment!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Little surprised, went out of convenience based on our stay at the Waldorf Astoria. Listed under special notes it was mt girlfriends birthday, and could they have a cake with candles, and left my cell number to discuss if required. No call No cake!!! We were left 2 hours for dinner, but found ourselves rushed, as we had tickets to see Billy Joel @ MSG, and we had trouble finding our waiter to pay without coffee or desert!. Honestly I've had much better steak."
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Reliable quality

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"As usual a great experience. Service friendly, food great american fare. Good choice of food and drinks. Old american quality! Would be great for a long leisurely visit!"
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Bull & Bear Steakhouse - Waldorf Astoria New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>