Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Havana NY Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Havana NY

Open for lunch and dinner Monday through Saturday, Havana NY gives you the true Cuban experience. Hearty dishes, fresh seafood and prime meats, daily specials and an inviting staff keeps our customers coming back year after year. Whether you're seeking a full course meal, or our famous Cuban sandwich, or refreshing Mojito, Havana NY is the place to kick back for the City's premier Caribbean cuisine.
80 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(80 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
5 stars
(39)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(37)
  • neighborhood gem(34)
  • good for groups(24)
  • great for lunch(20)
  • romantic(17)
  • special occasion(13)
Havana NY Reviews List
Review 1 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/30/2011
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2014
 2014
Dined on 10/03/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/03/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and the drinks were both fantastic."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Cuban dishes

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"All of their foods have plenty of flavor and are of generous portions with choice of white or yellow rice and black, or red beans. The entire meal is very filling and satisfying. Just enough spices, but watch out for the garlic sauce...very potent, but delicious....garlic breath, if you don't mind. The portuguese bread is nice and soft in the center with a chewy crust. The ox tail is every tender, as well as the pork dishes. The steak dishes are prepared to the requested doneness and the shrimps are cooked just right, not dry and chewy. The wait staff is very attentive. Lunch or dinner, it is always good, very crowded and busy, which can make it very noisy and difficult to carry on a conversation.
Sorry to hear Havana will be relocating to another place in the area soon, but can't wait for it to reopen."
Dined on 4/01/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

not one disappointing experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"They are moving to a new location. Can't wait to go there again."
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Authentic Cuban Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent restaurant with outstanding food. Customer service was fanatastic. Atmosphere was comfortable and cozy. During our visit we heard from our waiter that it will be closing on April 4th since the building has been sold and they are having to move. Hopefully they will find a new location soon. Customers can provide their email address and the restaurant will update them when they find a new location."
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Cuban food, something different in midtown

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good Cuban food. Location is great for midtown events. A little pricey but everything we had was delicious. Happy hour until 6:00 is a good deal on drinks as well."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Friendly service and great Cuban food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I found Havana NY on OpenTable when looking for a place to take a colleague for a spur of the moment lunch after a meeting in Times Square. It turned out to be a great choice. The service was excellent from the moment we were greeted at the door, and both my colleague and I enjoyed our lunches (arroz con pollo for me, shrimp for him, with maduros on the side). Portions were very generous and prices were reasonable. I'd definitely be happy to return if I found myself in the neighborhood again."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2002
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Food and Friendly Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A real gem near Times Square and Penn Station / Madison Squar e Garden. Went with my family, who are foodies, especially my two teenage sons. Our server was super friendly. We ordered three specials (ceviche, sea bass, and pork) which we excellent. Very nice sized portions (i.e. on the larger side without being enormous).
The caipirinhas were a tad disappointed - very little cachaca and mostly sugar and sparkling and lime."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Guac & Plantains YUM

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were there for pre-theatre happy hour and dinner. Although we had reservations, we were seated at a tiny table in the bar wich got very loud by the time we left. The lobster empanadas were tasty but the guac was excellent--not inexpensive but the potion was generous. If we had stopped there we would have given a much better review.
We ordered the special paella for two and it was very disappointing. The mussels tasted like they were old and reheated, the octopus was robbery and the salmon was virtually nonexistent. I picked the shrimp out and ate some rice and didn't want the rest. Our waiter was pretty attentive until we got our entree, and he wasn't seen again. So we told one of the guys who was hovering our meal wasn't good and he asked "what do you want me to do about it?!" I said, to be fair, we did eat the parts that were edible and that I'd be happy to pay for half the price. When he brought the check over, he'd deducted $7 off the bill--about 20 percent of the price of the dish. So based on that, we paid the bill and left--no tip because they didn't deserve one. I would not go back."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was great ! Service excellent ! However I did find it a bit pricy . But it was a celebration so I didn't mind !"
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Celebrated my birthday here. Good was outstanding. We had the pork special. Had a pitcher of white sangria with dinner-highly recommend. For dessert the churros. Yummy!"
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very helpful waitress & delicious food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My boyfriend and I had reservations for dinner before a show at MSG. Due to snow we were over an hour late (we commute from Hudson Valley). We told the waitress we had to be out in less than an hour and she was extremely helpful. Even telling us which dishes come out the fastest.
The drinks and the food were amazing!! We will def be going back!!"
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sea bass rocked!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Brought my friend who is from Cuba and she said the food was fantastic and the art work on the wall made her feel so good. She has already recommended your restaurant to someone else. I've introduced 4 people to your restaurant now and intend to continue doing so."
Dined on 2/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"First time, very friendly & warm atmosphere. Great Happy Hour Margarita's and Steak w/Chimichurra Sauce was outstanding!!! Recommending to all my co-workers!!!! We will be trying the lunch menu next!!!"
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Cuban

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We love Cuban food and Havana NY did not disappoint. We attended with our kids prior to an event at Madison Square Garden (walking distance away). The atmosphere was very nice and the waitstaff was very attentive and friendly. We ordered empanãdas and stuffed plantains as appetizers and both were delicious. The ropa Vieja was as good as my own and the marinated pork was great. All meals came with rice and beans as well as a choice of another side. We would definitely go back."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed the food as usual, and service was great. Love coming here"
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a homerun

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Hands down one of my favorite restaurants in the city. I've been here at least 20 times at this point between dinners and happy hours and I've never ate or drank something here that I didn't love. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OUTSTANDING FIND!!!!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"MY FIANCEE AND I CHOSE THIS PLACE BECAUSE OF THE PROXIMITY TO WHERE WE WERE SHOPPING. WHAT A CHOICE!!! THE FOOD HERE IS OUTSTANDING! MY FIANCEE HAD THE PORK WITH MOJO SAUCE AND I , THE FISH SPECIAL. I DEVOURED MINE! SHE RAVED ABOUT HER DISH BUT WAS UNABLE TO FINISH HER PLATE. THE NEXT DAY AT HOME, SHE WAS EVEN MORE VOCAL ABOUT HOW GOOD HER DISH WAS WHILE HAVING IT FOR LUNCH. NOT A PLACE TO BE MISSED!"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, nice service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were lucky to score a table for 5 at the last minute. We were warmly greeted, and glad to see it
wasn't too noisy to catch up with old friends. Because of the touristy, mid town local, our expectations were not high...we were very pleasantly surprised! We started with a mixed appetizer platter, not bad, but I wouldn't recommend it. Our entrees on the other hand were all excellent! The best a nightly special, pork shoulder wrapped in a banana leaf and braised with bourbon and garlic.
It was tender, perfect, and huge, as were all the portions. Second best was the seafood Paella. Its a bit different than spanish style, using arborio rice, and a bit wetter, but delicious, and perfectly seasoned. The Arroz con Pollo, was good, if not not amazing, as was the mojo pork.All the servers were warm and friendly and if your staying in the times square area, I would strongly recommend you give Havana a try. I would go back. My only complaint was the drinks were overpriced as compared to the food prices.
"
Dined on 2/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went to Havana NY for lunch and had a wonderful experience. Service was friendly and informative and gave great menu suggestions. Food was delicious! we will be back."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Surprise

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great restaurant with outstanding food. The waitstaff was attentive and very helpful. The food was authentic. Enjoyed the ambiance and the bar area pre-dinner. Great place to go before catching the train."
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Awesome food and service!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our third time dining here and always consistently good! Had the chilean seabass special it was superb!!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Turning over the table

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2004
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was the second time I have eaten at Havana. I enjoyed my food very much but after our table- we were a party of 2- spent 210.00 we were asked to turn over the table. Considering that there were open tables available I was more than upset. If we were sitting on 2 cups of coffee for 2 hours I can understand the concerns of the restaurant- but we had 4 drinks, 2 appetizers, 2 main courses and desert drinks. In future I will be patronizing a more hospitable restaurant."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice place

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good for after work drinks or a themed dinner. Service was just ok."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I went to Havana NY for my birthday lunch with my co-workers and it was amazing. It was our first time there and the service was great, the noise level was not loud at all and the food was yummy. I would highly recommend this place for lunch but make sure you reserve beforehand because the tables did get fill up pretty fast.
Thank you Havana NY!"
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

small haven of yummy food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The only complaint I have is being seated 30 minutes after a confirmed reservation. What I will say is it was worth the wait, because from appetizer to entree all of the food was yummy! It is a small dining area, hence a wait for a table. Would definitely go back!"
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Havana Cabana

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food, great drinks, great welcoming service."
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Drinks!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Friends and I go at lunch time. Great food. Great drinks!"
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Bad service

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We tried to get a seat (Had a reservation) by the front because thats the only place that honored happy hour. They would not let the 2 of us sit at a 4 person table (Place was empty at 445pm and it was 10 degrees out). They had some weird rule That Happy hour is not honored in the back of the restuarant. We left right after they couldnt make an accomodation. Too many dumb rules. Went next door to the skyglass rooftop for drinks and food. Much better view and we were able to sit wherever we wanted. We walked by the place a few hours later and no one was still sitting in that 4 person table they wouldnt let us have. Place miss out on a nice food and beverage bill."
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food could have been seasoned more.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had reservation but the assigned table wasn't very good. Had to ask for a different table"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not a What I Expected!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It was my wife and my anniversary. I thought it would be a special night before we went to the Usher concert at Madison Square Garden. Waitress was friendly when you could found her. But when the food arrived,it was not what I expected."
Dined on 11/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tasty and Friendly

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"On the way to seeing the Christmas tree at Rockefeller Center, friends and I chose Havana NY for dinner. We were not disappointed. The very friendly staff greeted us immediately, had our reservation and sat us in the lovely back room away from the lively bar. The food was excellent. Two of us had the Chilean sea bass, which was remarkable, cooked perfectly and with a tequila, mango sauce. The others had the paella, which was also excellent but they felt there was not enough seafood in the dish. The desserts were wonderful. Two ordered the chocolate mousse and two had the special pound cake, not like any pound cake we've ever had before. As for the drinks, the Cuban-style beers were wonderful. I recommend this as a lovely place to go to with delicious food and friendly staff who aim to please. The prices, except tor the paella, were on target. I would go there again."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Cuban Food and wonderful service!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went there on the reviews given by Yelp and Open Table. We were attending a musical that night and gave ourselves 2 hours, which was perfect!!! We chose from the specials served that night, a duck served with plantains and mango reduction and also a Pork shank that had simmered all day with beans and rice. Servings were large and very well priced plus presented in a stylish form. Incredible service, constantly someone filling your water or removing a finished plate. Noise level was what one would expect at a smaller restaurant but far from unpleasant in any way. LOVED the whole experience, would dine there again in a heartbeat. Reservations are a great idea, if you have a play to get to, it can fill up fast!"
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice waiter, good food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The waiter was very nice..recommended things to us and told us what not to order. Drinks were good and not too pricey..The waiter didn't push us to order too much food which sometimes they do. The scallops appetizer was delicious. The pork special was very good too."
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Absolute Best

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I can't say enough good things about our dining experience at this restaurant- the food was superb- the staff outstanding and the attention to detail - off the charts. I just want to point out that when I say kid friendly I don't mean to imply that there were a bunch of little kids there- what I mean by that is we had a one year old with us- and the entire staff took turns stopping by the table to play with him- promptly bringing him a small portion of food while ours was being prepared and just overall keeping him entertained while we enjoyed our dinner. I don't think any of the other guests were even aware there was a baby in the restaurant. Anyway my advice- make a reservation- do order the daily recommended specials- you won't be disappointed and leave room for their awesome deserts."
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

yummy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great Cuban food! seafood soup is delicious! Starlin our waiter was helpful and friendly."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good cuban food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"we enjoyed the cuban cuisine at the restaurant.
The food is very good and the staff is gentle and helpful.
The restaurant is not big but very cosy.
"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Havana NY
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent little restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The Cuban food was delicious and the atmosphere was very nice. This truly was the friendliest restaurant I have ever been too! Would go again and again!"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Havana NY
Based on the average of (40) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
33 out of 35 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic