Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle

Acclaimed chef/owner John Howie returned to Seattle in early 2009 with his second Seastar Restaurant, located on the corner of Westlake and Denny Ave., above Whole Foods Market. The inspired menu rotates seasonal specialties and northwest favorites, while our Raw Bar offers a host of ceviche, poke, sushi, and freshly shucked oysters. The understated atmosphere of our dining room suits any occasion, casual or formal, and our award winning service staff looks forward to carefully attending to your every need. Welcome to Seastar Seattle, the city’s premier seafood dining experience.
55 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
(55 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
(40)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(33)
  • special occasion(29)
  • notable wine list(18)
  • romantic(18)
  • good for groups(16)
  • great for lunch(13)
Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle Reviews List
Review 1 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2013
 2014
Dined on 2/02/2013
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/02/2013
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/25/2014
 2012
Dined on 10/25/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/25/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2011
 2010
Dined on 10/16/2011
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2011
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/09/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"NYE dinner before going out at Seastar and it was great!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Wonderful View, Great Location, Great FOOD!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have diner at numerous restaurants but this one is a must try! We had a great time dining here, the food was awesome, the service good for the price and the drinks rock it! Another awesome dining experience."
Dined on 5/10/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I'll miss you!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I came in from time to time and when I heard you were closing this location, I had to take my wife for one last fantastic dinner at Seastar. While they still have the Bellevue location, it's the convenience and the great people and food that brought me to the Seattle location. Until such time that you open a new Seattle location, I'll be waiting."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and drinks but....

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was amazing! The drinks were fabulous! We made reservations for New Years eve dinner and weren't disappointed. We had one main waiter but our water glasses were constantly full and our dishes were cleared within second from other wait staff! It was a fabulous dining experience except for the fact that we were sat in a corner right next to the kitchen. We were so uncomfortable at this table we almost left. Personally there shouldn't even be a table there, we could here the kitchen staff singing terrible and crude rap lyrics to songs and shouting profanities at each other. There is a huge wall of windows which we saw other people being sat at and would much rather of sat there. It definitely took away from the whole experience. If the food hadn't been so good it would have been a complete bust."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great meal, but a little pricy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was delicious and service impeccable. It was quite expensive, but I guess you pay for quality! To bad this location is closing. The server said they are going to open a new Seattle restaurant, but no timeline or location yet. At least the Bellevue restaurant is still available in the meantime."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The BEST seafood restaurant is Seattle!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Everything about Seastar in Seattle is great! The ambience, the service, the food -- all top notch! We had an appetizer mussels in a Thai curry sauce -- sublime! The crab and corn bisque was laden with strands of crab and oh so rich! The sesame crusted Ahi tuna is stunning both in looks and taste. When I heard Seastar in Seattle was closing (due to a lease issue), I had to have my Ahi tuna fix one last time! (It's still available at Seastar in Bellevue.) Our friends really enjoyed the swordfish with artichoke hearts and capers in brown butter sauce. I'm looking forward to its re-location soon."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Top notch food and service! Seastar tower is a perrenial winner. Chilean sea bass was perfection. Truffles made my girlfriend nearly....."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Flawless Meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Fresh, high quality ingredients meticulously prepared. We especially enjoyed the scallop ceviche on the raw sampler, the dungeness crab cakes with a kaffir lime vinaigrette, the black truffle scallops, and the ahi poke was better than most we've had in Hawaii. The servers were knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. Wonderful dining experience before the Nutcracker, but it would have been a memorable evening even had we not had plans afterwards."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic food and wonderful service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Best seafood I've had in a long, long time! The scallops I ordered were done to perfection and I'm still thinking about them 3 days later. The seafood ceviche salad was also wonderfully delicious. The wait staff was very attentive without being overly so and were extremely personable and friendly. Definitely a place we will be returning to."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We Are Sorry They are Closing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have lunch here from time to time. We like everything about the place (food, ambience, service) and we are sorry to know the restaurant will close in early 2015. We wish them good luck in finding a suitable nearby location soon."
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2003
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I was looking for a great seafood restaurant in the Seattle area that was different from the standard picks. I chose great! The service was very professional and very attentive, but I wish our server had a little more personality. Maybe it is the restaurant rules to be subdued. The food was absolutely amazing. The Sword fish and the Chilean Sea Bass were prepared to perfection. Be prepared to have an expensive bill. Well worth it!"
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

incredible in every way

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My colleagues and I were visiting from out of town and after reading reviews and asking locals we de idea on Seastar. We were definitely not disappointed. The salmon and king crab were impeccably seasoned and cooked, and the apple cranberry pie rivaled my mother's. The server was attentive but not hovering and even gave us each a token gift of a homemade truffle. I was sad to hear the restaurant will be closing due to building renovations. One of the best restaurants we've eaten at in a long time."
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2004
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tasting Menu was Fabulous

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The tasting menu was fabulous, beautifully presented with wonderful flavors. There were 5 courses, each one was excellent. My favorite was the sea bass in chablis cream sauce with black truffles, but all courses were delicious. Service was terrific."
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Choice Dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My friends and I were there for a birthday dinner. In ALL details it was a magnificent evening.
I do hope they open in another spot in Seattle. The Bellevue location calls me now.
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for everyone

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"While being pricey enough to be a restaurant for a romantic evening or special occasion, the restaurant is also surprisingly family friends. I went with my 8 year old niece and we arrived 30 minutes before the rest of our party. They had crayons and a kids menu to color and several affordable entrees on the kids option. The waiter even walked over to the hotel to get chocolate syrup to make chocolate milk for her."
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

sad it is closing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Look forward to enjoying it's good and service couple more times before it moves it's staff to Bellevue"
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Will miss Seastar Seattle

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Although we don't dine often at Seastar Seattle, we always looked forward to the wonderful experience. We knew this would be our last visit and we were welcomed in a warm way. Thank you Seastar!"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Seastar Restaurant and Raw Bar - Seattle
Based on the average of (34) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
29 out of 29 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic