Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Joy Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Joy Bistro

Joy Bistro is the cornerstone of the newly hot Queen Street East strip. With its cozy feel and candlelit warmth, Joy delivers a diverse menu with generous portions, modest prices and big, big flavors. Service is friendly, knowledgeable and unpretentious. Believe it or not, this gem morphs seamlessly from breakfast/brunch to lunch and into dinner. Wine lovers rejoice! Joy boasts a simple, but solid wine list with many bottles, unbelievably, under $30.
6 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(6 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 6 reviews
5 stars
(1)
4 stars
(4)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(2)
  • fit for foodies(1)
  • great for brunch(1)
  • great for lunch(1)
  • notable wine list(1)
Joy Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Joy Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/12/2012
 2011
Dined on 26/12/2012
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 26/12/2012
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Joy Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 07/04/2013
 2010
Dined on 07/04/2013
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 07/04/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Joy Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overall Satisfaction

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were a group of 6 and were pleased that Joy Bistro was able to accommodate 2 extra people at the last minute on New Years Eve. We were seated at a nice, big, round table and the room was tastefully decorated. Our sever was knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour.
The only surprise of the evening was that we were not aware it was a Prix Fixe menu for New Years Eve. Many of us were perusing the online menu prior to arrival and, at first, thought we were limited to the Prix Fixe which was disappointing. But our server and the cook let us order just about anything we wanted off the regular menu. As it turns out, most of us stuck with the prix fixe anyway!
The food was absolutely delicious! Korean Fried Chicken, steak frites, braised short ribs...all perfect!
Service was just the right speed, drinks were well taken care of, and we had an overall excellent experience."
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Joy Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good but not outstanding

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Glad we ventured into the East end of the City and away from the chains. Had an enjoyable meal with good service but nothing was notable."
Dined on 27/11/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Joy Bistro
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
3.5 / 3
Energetic