Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Tropisueño Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Tropisueño

Tropisueño is a very elegant looking, yet quite casual, affordable, and classic Mexican restaurant offering traditional regional dishes and a premium tequila bar.
34 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(34 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • hot spot(13)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • neighborhood gem(10)
  • vibrant bar scene(10)
  • good for groups(9)
  • late-night find(7)
Tropisueño Reviews List
Review 1 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2012
 2011
Dined on 3/19/2012
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/19/2012
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2012
 2014
Dined on 9/07/2012
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/07/2012
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/27/2012
 2014
Dined on 4/27/2012
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/27/2012
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great service but table disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I am not mad on Mexican food but it was good and filling and we enjoyed the cocktails. We were shown to a corner table looking into a cupboard but my husband didn't want to complain. Portions are generous and guacamole was delicious.Good location too."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Ok food, below average service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Tropisueno was an enjoyable experience the first time I went, so I returned a second time. On my second visit, I was shocked by how unaccommodating, unattentive, and unprofessional the service was. In regards to the food, the salmon I ordered was incredibly salty and over-seasoned. I'm not sure I'll return."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My second time at Tropisueno...delighted again!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Brought a friend here from out of town. Hint: the drinks menu is full of complicated things, but when we asked for sangria and a mojito (neither of which could we find on the menu), the bartender graciously obliged. And they were delicious! Reservation at 815: we were seated promptly at 810! Chips and salsa trip were great and complimentary. We ordered guac, too. Some of the best I've had at a restaurant, and no cola to in it yay! Our server was attentive but didn't hover. My enchiladas de nopales were to die for. I will definitely be back!"
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Reliably good food, busy and lively ambiance

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"When we arrived, they were ready - a table was already assigned and we were seated immediately. Our server was pleasant and efficient. Servings were generous. I have eaten here several times: at least 4 dinners, a couple of lunches, and a brunch. If you want waiter service, go for dinner. Other times you choose your meal by going through a line, then seat yourself. The food is reliably good and includes some choices that go beyond the ubiquitous tacos and enchiladas. Personally, I would rate the chili verde as outstanding."
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

consistently awesome! love this place!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Best salsa trio and amazing margaritas. They have a chipotle mango margarita that is to die for."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tropisueño
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Best Mexican food we've ever had. My favourite restaurant in San Fransisco. Fun and vibrant ambiance with margaritas that will knock you off your feet."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tropisueño
Based on the average of (24) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
14 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate