Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Village Inn & Restaurant Reviews List

Village Inn & Restaurant

The Village Inn & Restaurant is located on the Russian River, the perfect spot for drinks and dinner. We feature Sonoma Wine Country cuisine, in a relaxed, casual atmosphere. A favorite return spot for local residents and visitors alike!
See more Village Inn & Restaurant details
81 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(81 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
(37)
4 stars
(26)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(56)
  • romantic(48)
  • special occasion(43)
  • fit for foodies(34)
  • neighborhood gem(34)
  • great for outdoor dining(33)
Village Inn & Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Such a surprise!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I was surprised to see how beautifully this place has been restored. I have driven by it so many times over the years and it appeared run down and neglected. The new owners have done a beautiful job and it is a joy to see. I can't wait to go up and stay there for a few days. We had a seat by the window and could enjoy the view of the river. Our server was delightful. The new owner came by to chat and we couldn't have been happier. They had a mid week special for $29 which we couldn't resist but there are items on the menu that would please anyone. I hope the community will support this wonderful place. The food we had was homey and good. You can see the attention to detail in every aspect of the place. Go and enjoy!!!!"
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 4/08/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Beautiful view

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary there and while we did enjoy just about everything, I have to say the large group next to us was a bit loud, drinking, swearing. Thank goodness no kids. It also would have been sweet if they would have presented us with a little anniversary dessert instead of us paying for it. Just sayin."
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service needs work

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The new owners need to pay more attention to customers. There was only one waitress. We weren't brought our water and bread in a timely manner, we were charged for someone else's drinks, we were brought the wrong drink. The owner/hostess should have helped bus tables. Gone are the little appetizers before the meal. There just wasn't that homey feeling there was before. I would go back again because the food was great, but the prices are a little higher than before."
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Loved our night at the village Inn... Food was amazing but service was slow and they didn't come back and check to see if we needed anything. Dessert was amazing as well. The owner
Came by and said hello which was very nice.
"
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice, intimate setting in a great inn. Food was decent and menu balanced. The service was a bit on the spotty side, although friendly. It just seemed like our waitress (the only one servicing the dining room) had not been well trained. We wouldn't drive there just to have dinner but it was nice to have the dining room open in this rather out of the way location. A nice peaceful dinner given the far out location and with the peaceful setting and historic inn, all made for a nice overnight. (Note dining room and kitchen is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays and there isn't much else around)."
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Creative fancy food with a view ($$$$)

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went for Valentine's dinner and it was a prefix menu for $75 each. It's a cozy room. There was only one other couple and they tried to sit us right next to them. They did let us choose another table but it felt rather difficult to accommodate for a room of empty tables. I think they had a lot of cancellations later that night because it remained empty all night. (Two young couples left after sitting down, from sticker shock). The first thing the server told us was they were out of the oysters with caviar. So not off to a great start walking in the door. The Amuse was very small portions but good: foie gras with brioche bread was really good, the beets with goat cheese was okay. The potato leak bisque was very tasty with the white truffle foam on top. My risotto was good and a large serving. The striploin steak was good and came with one prawn. We enjoyed the wine, was a local russian river winery. We actually went to see it and bought some bottles to take home the next day. Overall it was good, and maybe we are just spoiled after living in SF for so long, but it was a $280 dinner and not what we are used to getting for that price point. Two $75 prefix's and one cocktail and two glasses of wine each. It is right on the water so would be nice for sunset or drinks. Good for special occasion. Nice staff and the service was good all night."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Not informed when booking of pre-fix menu

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"but nevertheless the food was pretty good. On the pre-fix there was only one veggie option, which did not have many veggies. The history of the place and the view is worth the visit."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Dinner was great! The charcuterie was outstanding! Great little dining room, and I'm sure the outdoor dining is beautiful in warmer weather. We stayed at the hotel and enjoyed our stay very much."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Find

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We came here for a romantic Valentine's Day dinner and were very pleased. We had a delicious reimagined wedge salad, amazing short ribs with mashed potatoes and root vegetables and sauteed greens. Every course was out of this world good. We finished with a wonderful cheese course. The food was fantastic, the wine list was great and well priced."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2003
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

As good as ever

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We are regulars at the Village Inn, so it would be easy to take it for granted. We really shouldn't!
Our most recent meal there was our second since the change of chef. It was EXCELLENT. Whilst we loved the former chef's offerings (particularly, the tombo tuna appetizer, the new menu is great so far too. The steak was superb, and the addition of a burger option to the menu, means even our 15 year-old son is now happy:-)
Add to that, Judy's warm welcome, Chris' wonderful cocktails, and the addition of some great wines to the all-Sonoma County list, you really can't go wrong. If you've never been, you should.....and if you have, you should go back"
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My meal was excellent and the ambiance was lovely.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My meal was delicious and the staff were friendly, attentive and accommodating."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful and romantic. Great views of the river!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Keep it coming!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2002
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This has become our "go to" restaurant. Judy and her team ensure a thoroughly delightful experience. There's a new chef in town and he's working his magic. Generous portions and boffo flavors. Service is timely and responsive. We'll be back, and often, too!"
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2002
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unexpected Charm and Flavor

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband & I were looking for a local restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We stumbled across the Village Inn. Its a little off the beaten path in Monte Rio. It definitely exceeded our expectations not only in portion size but the flavors as well. My husband had the roast chicken which was amazing. It was a half of chicken! I had the butternut risotto which was lovely. Judy the owner was an absolute star and provided us a comp dessert for our anniversary.
So happy we went and had a wonderful evening. We plan on going back and stay at the inn sometime."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Two great dinners at Village Inn

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had two excellent dinners at Village Inn Restaurant. I don't eat meat, and on the first night I had the butternut bisque and the butternut and mushroom risotto, both very good. On the second night, they made me a vegetable plate from side dishes served with other dinners: Mashed potatoes, sauteed collards, and baby roots. It was delicious and quite enough for a dinner. My husband had the bronzino with black-eyed peas that he liked so much he had it again on the second night. At his request, they made it without bacon. We really appreciated the way they tailored the meals to our individual wishes."
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The food was SPECTACULAR!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They had a limited menu which served them well. Odd service and wine list was not impressive. The server didn't seem to know anything about wine which felt odd for the area. But, they certainly made up for it with the food! Appetizers, salads, soups and main courses were all amazing! It felt like fine dining quality (beautifully presented) but for affordable costs. We were also pleased that they sat us away from a crying child in the other room. No offense to the family but this was NOT the place to bring your screaming baby. We could still hear the baby from the other room but at least it was a distant noise."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb meal in the boonies

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were spending a romantic week in Guerneville and read about the Village Inn. It was superb. We actually enjoyed it so much that we went twice in a week. The first time was a Thursday night, and we had a perfect meal with speedy service and a brilliant, knowledgeable server.
The second time was with a family member for a celebration, on a Saturday night, and the service was notably slow. Our waiter was rather ditsy but she did pick up as the evening went on. The food was equally wonderful though.
Excellent wine list and great full bar."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food - a delight for the mouth!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Average Restaurant w/poor service but great view

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were seated in the bar and asked about drinks immediately, which no one wanted. We asked for water and then were ignored for quite some time 15-20 min. A party of 10 moved in from outside on the deck next to us. It happens, but it was hard to talk over them. Menu has changed with new owners. We were told specials and then left alone for quite some time again. Food was OK, but nothing special. Still no water when we ordered after a 2nd reminder. Salad was delivered by another person other than the waitress in reasonable time. Still no water so third request made at over 30 minutes now. That request was successful some minutes later after the salad girl went back and found our waitress, however it was never checked on or refilled during dinner. Beet salad was fine, just more greens than beats. I had 4 scallops on top of a bed of fettuccini with summer squash for around $24. I was never offered pepper or Parmesan on top, which would've helped the bland flavor. It was fine, just nothing to brag about. My mom had roasted chicken breast over some potatoes and veggies and enjoyed it. My husband had a flat bread pizza appetizer which he said was fine but lacked flavor, and an interesting looking ceaser salad with a Parmesan crusted piece on top which he said was fine. The owner came in several times, but mostly to help the big party. She did ask us who our waitress was (I wondered why she didn't know whose station it was if she was managing the house) and she asked us how our meals were to which we replied "fine."
We did recognize that the staff was entirely new and the owner told us she had bought the place only several months earlier. So given that, we'll try it again and hope that it improves, because we've enjoyed this place for over twenty - five years and we want her to be succesful.
"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mr.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"4152034481
Been coming to the Village in for 30 years.
Always a pleasure any time of year.
Chef really hitting it out of the park under new owners. Who are proving gracious service.
An exceptional charming comfortable delicious oasis.
Cheers!"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely meal: lovely place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a very, very tasty dinner at the Village Inn. Appetizers were very good - I had the flatbread. What was even more notable was the fresh salad. While I am not normally a 'salad person' it was great - interesting and tasty combination of testures and tastes. My Risotto special was yummy and my husband's rolled pasta dish was as well. There was a little 'wait-staff' shortage that caused small delays but the bartender, and front-door staff bridged the gaps.
One surprise was the not particularly exciting wine list. Nothing terrible, but nothing really notable either. (But our bartender made a very nice gibson!)"
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for romance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This place has great food. It also has a lot of charm.
It is great place to relax and have a good meal.
They a great wine list there as well.
"
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New owners - fresh menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The riverside hotel and dining room with a classic old bar has been restored very tastefully. The food was fresh and well prepared. Cocktails, bartender and server were pros."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Village Inn has been a Monte Rio favorite!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've seen the changes over the years and I believe the newest owners are trying very hard to keep it a Monte Rio, CA favorite. One thing I did notice is that there was no bar tender. I think one is needed especially on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights in the Summer."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>