Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Village Inn & Restaurant Reviews List

Village Inn & Restaurant

The Village Inn & Restaurant is located on the Russian River, the perfect spot for drinks and dinner. We feature Sonoma Wine Country cuisine, in a relaxed, casual atmosphere. A favorite return spot for local residents and visitors alike!
See more Village Inn & Restaurant details
65 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(65 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
(32)
4 stars
(21)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(47)
  • romantic(40)
  • special occasion(36)
  • fit for foodies(29)
  • neighborhood gem(28)
  • great for outdoor dining(27)
Village Inn & Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2003
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

As good as ever

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We are regulars at the Village Inn, so it would be easy to take it for granted. We really shouldn't!
Our most recent meal there was our second since the change of chef. It was EXCELLENT. Whilst we loved the former chef's offerings (particularly, the tombo tuna appetizer, the new menu is great so far too. The steak was superb, and the addition of a burger option to the menu, means even our 15 year-old son is now happy:-)
Add to that, Judy's warm welcome, Chris' wonderful cocktails, and the addition of some great wines to the all-Sonoma County list, you really can't go wrong. If you've never been, you should.....and if you have, you should go back"
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My meal was excellent and the ambiance was lovely.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My meal was delicious and the staff were friendly, attentive and accommodating."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful and romantic. Great views of the river!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Keep it coming!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2002
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This has become our "go to" restaurant. Judy and her team ensure a thoroughly delightful experience. There's a new chef in town and he's working his magic. Generous portions and boffo flavors. Service is timely and responsive. We'll be back, and often, too!"
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2002
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unexpected Charm and Flavor

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband & I were looking for a local restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We stumbled across the Village Inn. Its a little off the beaten path in Monte Rio. It definitely exceeded our expectations not only in portion size but the flavors as well. My husband had the roast chicken which was amazing. It was a half of chicken! I had the butternut risotto which was lovely. Judy the owner was an absolute star and provided us a comp dessert for our anniversary.
So happy we went and had a wonderful evening. We plan on going back and stay at the inn sometime."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Two great dinners at Village Inn

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had two excellent dinners at Village Inn Restaurant. I don't eat meat, and on the first night I had the butternut bisque and the butternut and mushroom risotto, both very good. On the second night, they made me a vegetable plate from side dishes served with other dinners: Mashed potatoes, sauteed collards, and baby roots. It was delicious and quite enough for a dinner. My husband had the bronzino with black-eyed peas that he liked so much he had it again on the second night. At his request, they made it without bacon. We really appreciated the way they tailored the meals to our individual wishes."
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The food was SPECTACULAR!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They had a limited menu which served them well. Odd service and wine list was not impressive. The server didn't seem to know anything about wine which felt odd for the area. But, they certainly made up for it with the food! Appetizers, salads, soups and main courses were all amazing! It felt like fine dining quality (beautifully presented) but for affordable costs. We were also pleased that they sat us away from a crying child in the other room. No offense to the family but this was NOT the place to bring your screaming baby. We could still hear the baby from the other room but at least it was a distant noise."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb meal in the boonies

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were spending a romantic week in Guerneville and read about the Village Inn. It was superb. We actually enjoyed it so much that we went twice in a week. The first time was a Thursday night, and we had a perfect meal with speedy service and a brilliant, knowledgeable server.
The second time was with a family member for a celebration, on a Saturday night, and the service was notably slow. Our waiter was rather ditsy but she did pick up as the evening went on. The food was equally wonderful though.
Excellent wine list and great full bar."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food - a delight for the mouth!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Average Restaurant w/poor service but great view

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were seated in the bar and asked about drinks immediately, which no one wanted. We asked for water and then were ignored for quite some time 15-20 min. A party of 10 moved in from outside on the deck next to us. It happens, but it was hard to talk over them. Menu has changed with new owners. We were told specials and then left alone for quite some time again. Food was OK, but nothing special. Still no water when we ordered after a 2nd reminder. Salad was delivered by another person other than the waitress in reasonable time. Still no water so third request made at over 30 minutes now. That request was successful some minutes later after the salad girl went back and found our waitress, however it was never checked on or refilled during dinner. Beet salad was fine, just more greens than beats. I had 4 scallops on top of a bed of fettuccini with summer squash for around $24. I was never offered pepper or Parmesan on top, which would've helped the bland flavor. It was fine, just nothing to brag about. My mom had roasted chicken breast over some potatoes and veggies and enjoyed it. My husband had a flat bread pizza appetizer which he said was fine but lacked flavor, and an interesting looking ceaser salad with a Parmesan crusted piece on top which he said was fine. The owner came in several times, but mostly to help the big party. She did ask us who our waitress was (I wondered why she didn't know whose station it was if she was managing the house) and she asked us how our meals were to which we replied "fine."
We did recognize that the staff was entirely new and the owner told us she had bought the place only several months earlier. So given that, we'll try it again and hope that it improves, because we've enjoyed this place for over twenty - five years and we want her to be succesful.
"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mr.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"4152034481
Been coming to the Village in for 30 years.
Always a pleasure any time of year.
Chef really hitting it out of the park under new owners. Who are proving gracious service.
An exceptional charming comfortable delicious oasis.
Cheers!"
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely meal: lovely place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a very, very tasty dinner at the Village Inn. Appetizers were very good - I had the flatbread. What was even more notable was the fresh salad. While I am not normally a 'salad person' it was great - interesting and tasty combination of testures and tastes. My Risotto special was yummy and my husband's rolled pasta dish was as well. There was a little 'wait-staff' shortage that caused small delays but the bartender, and front-door staff bridged the gaps.
One surprise was the not particularly exciting wine list. Nothing terrible, but nothing really notable either. (But our bartender made a very nice gibson!)"
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for romance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This place has great food. It also has a lot of charm.
It is great place to relax and have a good meal.
They a great wine list there as well.
"
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New owners - fresh menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The riverside hotel and dining room with a classic old bar has been restored very tastefully. The food was fresh and well prepared. Cocktails, bartender and server were pros."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Village Inn has been a Monte Rio favorite!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've seen the changes over the years and I believe the newest owners are trying very hard to keep it a Monte Rio, CA favorite. One thing I did notice is that there was no bar tender. I think one is needed especially on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights in the Summer."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2002
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2002
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2002
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful view and wonderful food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The staff was very friendly and attentive. We have a great table by the window, which gave us a view of the river. The menu was not extensive, but everything we ordered was very good. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the Monte Rio area."
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/17/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Who'd a thunk it?

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had an early Sunday dinner indoors in the cozy and charming bar area, with views of the Russian River out the window. The rustic flatbread appetizer was the first tip-off to great food. My adult children had the pea soup and the House Rolled pasta, which they loved. My wife had an excellent salmon and I really enjoyed the risotto with scallops. We finished it off with fabulous desserts - a banana split (split that serving between two or more!), and a couple of chocolate creme brulees. We poked around outdoors and saw the attractive outdoor dining areas on multiple decks and the rooms of the inn connected by wooden bridges and walkways. Made me want to spend a night or more there!
The service was very good but not great - our server seemed disinclined to smile for any reason and was sometimes out of sight for longer than we would like - but the place has a homey charm and the manager at the reception and bar was very welcoming.
All in, the price was reasonable for a special night out, and we left in time to catch the sunset at Goat Rock State Beach about 20 minutes away. A very pleasant surprise for a restaurant so remotely tucked in along the banks of the scenic Russian River. Who'd a thunk it?"
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Romantic, with a view

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you haven't visited The Village Inn in Monte Rio, then you're missing out on a great treat. Got an anniversary? Visit VI. A special occasion? Visit VI. Just want to have a great meal in a nice quiet atmosphere? Visit VI. I can't recommend this place enough. Friendly and fast service, nice owners, an incredible locale, and the food is fantastic."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Village Inn Restaurant, Monte Rio, California

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our Friday evening dinner was the best of our trip to California. We all enjoyed the wild salmon and it was perfectly delicious. The relaxing evening by the Russian River was just what we hoped it would be."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unbelievable meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My cider-brined pork loin was cooked to perfection and served on a bed of yams, string beans and sauteed slivered apple. Desert was fruit cobbler a la mode, vanilla bean ice cream....wonderful! Portions were also very generous for entree as well as dessert.
I can't wait for our next visit to try something else on their menu.
Thank you Chef Oliver for your wonderful dining experience.
Nms"
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Off their game...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"While the salads were delicious, the Calamari appetizer missed the mark, being extremely rubbery and lacking flavor. The New York steak, that was to be cooked medium rare was barely almost gray in color and as dry as the Mojave desert with no flavor.
I've loved this restaurant for many years, but this dinner was a disappointment, sorry to report."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Local favorite with change of ownership

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Village Inn is historic and charming and the food has always been good. When I went in early December, 2014 there was a change of ownership. So now we are hoping the quality will continue to be what we have always enjoyed."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome Place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The ease of booking our dinner and the awesome food made our dinner a memorable event. Chef Oliver will not be the best kept secret in Monte Rio very long. The spot is a perfect getaway venue for anyone."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

NYE Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went to the Village Inn Restaurant for the first time on NYE for the prix fix. This is NOT the night to try a place for the first time and we will go back to give it a fair shot. Everyone working this night was very friendly and fun. The wait staff were very nice and service was good. The food left something to be desired. I don't cook or use much salt so I'm sensitive to it. It seemed like the kitchen didn't use ANY salt at all. The food was good but every course needed seasoning. That being said we still had a very nice time. I would really like to try and go back in warmer weather as the outdoor areas look really nice."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Village Inn & Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Truly Wonderful!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My husband and I went for dinner on Christmas Eve....the atmosphere was festive, warm and tasteful...the food was beyond amazing....from start to finish. We finished off our evening with a nightcap in their cozy bar. The entire evening was really wonderful!"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Village Inn & Restaurant
Based on the average of (18) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
16 out of 17 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate