Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Blue Cow kitchen & bar Reviews List

Blue Cow kitchen & bar

Blue Cow is an upscale, full-service New-American restaurant serving innovative sandwiches, seasonal cocktails, craft beers, small plates and entrees that showcase local farming and artisan products, inspired by taking the approachable and giving it a modern interpretation.
See more Blue Cow kitchen & bar details
20 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(20 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(5)
  • great for outdoor dining(5)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • late-night find(3)
  • vibrant bar scene(3)
  • great for lunch(2)
Blue Cow kitchen & bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Spot!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Absolutely wonderful food. The ambiance is great, loved the outdoor seating. Would definitely be back. Not a place for lunch if you are in a rush."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 2/05/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/18/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 1/05/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/19/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice pre-concert meal

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I were attending a performance at the Walt Disney Concert Hall for the first time and a friend told me about Blue Cow being up the street from there. I have been on a Vegan diet since September after suffering a heart attack and he said that they did have some vegan option s available.
So as I am starting to find, many places don'the keep their vegan options in stock. When I tried to order their veggie burger I was informed they were out, but we were still able to find some other options. We had some vegetable soup, shared some fries and a salad.
Service was friendly enough. We sat outside because the hostess said they had heat lamps. About halfway through dinner, ours went out and no one came by during that last half so that we could get it relit.
Overall, a nice spot in the heart of LA. Nice view of some of downtown's famous high rises. Great for a quick pre-event meal."
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great food, superb service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We needed a quick dinner before the Symphony and weren'the disappointed. Our waiter started by asking if we had an event to get to and what our timing was. Excellent advice on menu, especially drinks. My wife sent her beverage back and ordered up; was not charged for the first.
My burger was underdone but excellent. Great brew selection on tap, okay wine list. Outdoor seating delightful (entertainment district), but indoors quite loud and seemed crowded.
"
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our experience was great! We ordered a couple of appetizers - fries and Brussels sprouts- and the mango chicken salad. Service was fast and friendly. It was pretty loud, but it's to be expected because of the layout of the restaurant."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/03/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/03/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"One of the most delicious dining experiences I've had in ages! Their menu is flowing with fresh, flavorful and creative fare.
The staff is super friendly and willing to modify menu items per request.
I will be sure to return the next time I'm visiting LA!"
Dined on 11/03/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Classy deliciousness

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As a fan of Mendocino Farms, my boyfriend and I were excited to try Blue Cow. As a vegetarian and a carnivore dining pair, we both had excellent choices. Our exceptional server Danny recommended his favorite burger (the Royale with Cheese) to my beau, and kept our drinks refilled and our tummies happy. The food was absolutely delicious. My Market Vegetable salad was gorgeous and fantastic; it's hard to get excited about a salad, but not this one. We had a very nice time and enjoyed the atmosphere. Looks like a nice place to come for happy hour. If you're looking for a nice farm to table place to take a date, this one's a good choice."
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice downtown spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had dinner there before a concert the Disney Concert Hall. Very pleasant outdoor setting, very nice ambiance. Loved it !"
Dined on 10/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We are not sure how this restaurant was so highly rated, food was creative but did not have great taste. Fairly decent location if you're going to downtown or to a dodger game. Very limited menu with way too many ingredients and each item, seems like the chef is trying to just put everything but the kitchen sink in each menu item"
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was great and fast, and can't wait to go again with friends. Love the ambiance and how energetic the notice level is, it may seen noisy but that is because everyone is having a great time and it's not too loud to be unable to talk."
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our server was very attentive, without being intrusive. She was very cheerful and made this a great experience."
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blue Cow kitchen & bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/27/2013
 2009
Dined on 4/27/2013
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/27/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.