Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Taverna Plaka Reviews List

Taverna Plaka

Taverna Plaka - where you are invited to join in the Plaka tradition of plate sharing & the celebration of life, of love & the pursuit of simple pleasures. Feast on a variety of Mézé & drink to Dionysus finest!
See more Taverna Plaka details
70 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(70 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
(36)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(48)
  • special occasion(38)
  • great for outdoor dining(25)
  • neighborhood gem(22)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • late-night find(17)
Taverna Plaka Reviews List
Review 1 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/04/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

WOW!!!! We had the best time of our lives!!! OPA!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We will be back again, again and again!!!!!!!!! We celebrated my sister birthday on Saturday, Jan 16th...everyone was so happy and are still talking about the great time they had.....I want to celebrate my birthday next month here, also!!! OPA!!!!!"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

NYE Experience not so great....

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We came here for NYE this year, and I was less than pleased w/ the experience. I made a reservation the day before.... The restaurant called to confirm our reservation, but did not let us know that there was a prefixed menu starting at 9, which is when our reservation was. Would not have been a problem if they made us aware, but we were with some picky eaters.. so would have been nice to know. We walk in, and were not even acknowledged by a host for a few minutes....The DJ was pretty bad, what seemed like a retired wedding DJ.. The waitress did not even take our drink order for another 15 mins. Yes it was NYE, but it was not even close to packed inside. Once we placed a drink order and food over everything came out all at once. We barley had time to put dressing on our salad before the main corse was there... Food was ok, I am Greek and have had better, but overall not terrible. Just wish they had spent a little more time tending to tables vs throwing napkins and cleaning tables."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Opa!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My family had no idea what to expect. The food was fantastic. If you don't know Greek food, it is easy to enjoy for newbies. The belly dancers come out and dance for each table. Sometimes even on a table. My husband and stepfather were persuaded to get up and dance with the rest of the crowd which is a miracle because these men don't dance ever. My family had the best time at Taverna Plaka."
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place to celebrate birthdays!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2007
 2007
Dined on 2/28/2007
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 2/28/2007
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2008
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2005
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/25/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Early Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We snuck in early ( we were the first ones there at 6:30) to avoid the belly dancers , dancing and hoopla. Thus we had a good casual Greek dinner. Ther service people are very nice. I can see it being a great place for a party dinner later on after 7:30"
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice last minute find

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Taverna Plaka was a nice experience. We enjoyed the food and belly dancer."
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Greek food and atmoshpere

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We've been coming here for years, and the foot is the best it's ever been, and the Greek wines are a must try. It's traditional Greek cuisine, with middle-eastern belly-dancers make it a fun night for families, birthday celebrations, and bachelorette parties."
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2003
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2003
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/16/2013
 2010
Dined on 2/16/2013
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/16/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The atmosphere Is a boisterous one, that stood out to me. They encourage you to stand and dance on the tables and chairs and tip the belly dancers. We had so much fun. The bar tender is worth her Salt, the white wine list was not too my liking, not a semisweet in the bunch and the one desert wine was super sweet. The food was not that tasty to me, though my table mates seemed to enjoy some of the food. Go for the ambiance, sit at the bar and have small plates"
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mother's Day

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were in Atlanta for our daughter's graduation and tried Taverna Plaka for dinner. The food was edible, nothing exceptional. The spinach pies reminded me of what I buy at Costco frozen and the entree was not seasoned, rather bland. A great disappointment. The waitress was very nice and attentive. Too bad the food won't bring us back when we are in town."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Authentic Greek Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My family and I were seeking traditional Greek with lamb gyros, not a lamb and beef combination. We were pleasantly surprised to find this local, authentic restaurant so convenient, and offering very flavorful, traditional Greek dishes. The food was very good, the service was great, and staff welcoming and friendly. They also had a dancer with music, not too loud, to offer the right ambiance. Overall, a great experience and I would recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Really excellent food and service. Thank you!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Roast lamb and orzo was so tasty. Food came out fast too."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun Dinner Always!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great time as always, although a little loud because of the music. Not the place you want to go if you want to have a romantic chat, but fun for birthdays."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Night!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great Night, great food felt like we were in Greece!"
Dined on 4/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Would have given 5 stars but for decible level!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2004
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The appetizers were great! And I love the idea of dancing, music, and entertainment during the meal, but the music is way, way too loud! My ears were ringing when we left. It would have been so much more enjoyable if the music were just slightly less loud."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and fun!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We took my mother here for her birthday. She had a blast dancing with the bellydancers and got a kick out of getting up on the table to blow out the candle on her cake, per our server's instructions. And the food was delicious! We shared lots of small plates and entrees—all of which were very flavorful and well presented."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Surprisingly vibrant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We picked Taverna Plaka on a whim and weren't sure what to expect. I must say it was much more vibrant than we expected. There were two birthday parties (large groups) when we arrived and they were having quite a good time. When the music goes up the belly dancers come out and move around the restaurant getting folks involved in moving their hips. Next thing we know napkins are flying "Opa!" is shouted and there was dancing on the tables. It was more fun than expected. The food was good, but to me a bit overpriced for the offerings. I did get two cocktails and both were a bit on the weak side in my opinion. Our server was attentive and service was fast and polite. Overall it was a good experience and I would recommend that friends check it out."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Belly Dancer heaven

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We arrived at 7:30. We were seated immediately. The waitress came to the table immediately. The manager came over and threw napkins up in the air and welcomed us. Drinks came fast, Appetizers came fast, and entrees came fast. Our meal was relatively quiet, but several big birthday parties came in and then all the fun began with dancing on the tables etc. Food was great, server was great! Fun time!"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great experience for groups

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A snowy night but we came with a limo group so great for us just a little empty on a Friday night more so then the restaurant we went to before this one (Imperial fez). The concept is great, we danced on the table and the belly dancer was great too. (Opa!) The napkin throwing is hilarious. Must go again when the weather isn't bad. The appetizers and drinks are great and excellent Greek flavor."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bell dancer lose bottom on accident

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"She was dancing great shaking great then all at once her bottom drop down almist to her Feet she quickly pull them back up and then and ran of and one man in there yelled umpap and every body start laughing her bush I do say was trim up real nice for a 40 year old woman what a night and a good show and buy the way the food was great"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

entertaining and something unique!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This restaurant experience is a novelty with the entertainment being bellydancers! It's a great group experience for fun and napkin throwing! The food is ok, but nothing wonderful. Service and staff are delightful."
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Bring your party to Taverna Plaka

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Wait staff very attentive, food was excellent. My group of 10 loved it! I had an executive with me that really enjoyed herself, and my whole team was talking about the belly dancer. Make sure to tip her...she is great. OOMPAH!"
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Taverna Plaka
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Opa!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a group of 7 (including a baby and toddler) and had a great dining experience on a Sunday evening. Our server catered to our needs in a standard manner and then went above and beyond! My baby was crying so he brought over a stack of beverage napkins (?)...and then threw them up in the air...OPA!! My two year old had her mouth dropped thinking "Who's going to clean this up?" Needless to say it kept them occupied. He brought us out some small tastings of appetizer and dessert that we hadn't ordered that was on the house. I have half Greek blood and grew up with my YiaYia's cooking, so trust me when I say- this food is awesome. I had enough to take home and eat for lunch the next day which is always a plus. Try the flaming cheese appetizer! My husband raved about his dish the most, roasted lamb, which the server said is in his opinion the best dish. We drove about 40 minutes to get here and it was worth it (I don't say that very often!)."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>