Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma Reviews List

Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma

With a commitment to your dining pleasure, we invite you to experience the unique regional cuisine of Sonoma County that is Tolay. We are proud to use only the freshest wild and farmed local products. We recognize and celebrate the amazing & abundant regional products available to us here in Sonoma County.
See more Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma details
26 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(26 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.5 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(8)
  • great for brunch(5)
  • great for outdoor dining(4)
  • notable wine list(4)
  • special occasion(4)
  • vibrant bar scene(4)
Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma Reviews List
Review 1 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Perhaps the worst restaurant I've ever visited

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I had read the other negative reviews, but we were staying in the hotel overnight and I just wanted to have a fun meal with my wife and daughter. I was amazed at how many things went wrong. Amusingly things were just as bad at breakfast the next morning, so this wasn't just a one-off issue. It was like the kitchen forgot, or never knew, how to make food. Combined with the glacial pace of the drink service and the overall shoddy decor, this was a remarkably bad experience."
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

I have exceeded the character review? STRANGE!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Average meal. Nothing bad but nothing exciting either"
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very accommodating to groups

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We are 4 ladies who get together to play bridge and eat. It is always pleasant here because of the table layout and waitress who is attentive and helpful. One of our group likes the smoke salmon. Very generous portions and generally very tasty. Kudos to Wendy."
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was good, but not outstanding, especially for what they charged. Our wait person was pretty distracted, as well."
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good food at reasonable prices for a major hotel (lower than I expected based on Easter Brunch we were there for). We had excellent service and had a lovely anniversary dinner. I had a great steak with excellent veggies and fingerling potatoes. Will go again."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love the NEW Menu!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you have not been here recently, it is worth a re-visit! New menu with some very good "comfort" food selections."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good dining experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a good experience dining at Tolay. The service was good and fast, although it wasn't crowded, so I can't say what it would be like on a busy night. The food was very good. The ambiance was nice; there is a glass staircase that we took a walk on for fun. The bar was a little bit loud. Overall, I'd recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

CA Traveler

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Inside the Sheraton Petaluna Hotel. A nice stopping spot before or after the Bay Area with easy off and on access to the 101 Hwy. Light and Airy ambiance with reasonable seating comfort. The selection was limited and well prepared; but reasonable for travelers on their way through town. The wait staff was very good and attentive. Overall a pleasant and not too time consuming stop along the way!"
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2004
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Filling Thanksgiving Meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Decided to try Tolay for their Thanksgiving dinner as individuals who were suppose to come to dinner failed to tell me their change of plans. But that was ok as my daughter and I enjoyed a fabulous and filling meal at Tolay. We went with the traditional Thanksgiving meal and neither of us could finish our meal as it was very filing and satisfying! From the soup and salad to the main course down to the dessert. We even enjoyed a fabulous bottle of wine! Everything was perfect except we only saw our waiter 3 times: when he took our order including our wine order, when he brought the wine which was waaaaay after the soup and salad (we couldn't eat the bread, soup and salad any slower then we already were), and when he brought our check. That was it. I have to say bringing the wine after the bread, soup and salad was terrible. There was hardly anyone that was in the restaurant at 4:30pm so why it took him so long is beyond me. And he never came to check on us, see if we needed more wine, anything else, etc. That is why I am only giving the service 4 stars instead of 5. All the other employees made up for his lack of paying attention to his customers. Other than that i would highly recommend Tolay for any meal and especially if you don't want to cook a holiday meal, this is well worth it!"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tolay - Sheraton Petaluma
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
5 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate