Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel Reviews List

The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel

We are Oakland's most romantic and beautiful lake front restaurant, set in a 1920s art deco supper club with panoramic view of Lake Merritt. Come enjoy your choice of fresh fish, juicy meats, fresh and local vegetables and our delicious cocktails!

With Happy Hour Mon-Thurs, 5 pm - 10 pm, you can enjoy 2 for $10 wines by the glass and $5 well drinks. Then head into our dining room for a delicious meal.

On the weekends, come enjoy brunch featuring our Bottomless Mimosas and Bloody Marys!
See more The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel details
253 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(253 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 253 reviews
5 stars
(102)
4 stars
(98)
3 stars
(37)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(6)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(181)
  • great for brunch(108)
  • romantic(106)
  • special occasion(104)
  • neighborhood gem(92)
  • good for groups(70)
The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel Reviews List
Review 1 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/21/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I treated my friends to brunch and we had an excellent time.
The food, bottomless mimosas, and wait staff were great. I look forward to going back.
"
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Loved the enertainment

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food Was Disapointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The view is delightful. The entertainment was outstanding. The service was very good. The menu has only 4 main courses to choose from. Two of us chose pasta premivera. It had no taste. The pasta was dry. Two people chose steak. The quality of meat was poor. We had Cesar Salad which was very good. The fruit crisp was small but good. In the past we have been here for brunch and it was excellant. My recommendation is to go to the Terrace Room for brunch and skip dinner.
We paid with a debit card. The next day when I checked my bank account we were overcharged by $4l. Not a way to build a good business base."
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Worst Service On The Planet

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2005
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I have always considered the Terrace Room to be the most stunning venue in Oakland. Situated right on Lake Merrit, the views are stunning. I like to pretend its my own personal penthouse.
I have worked many private parties here and always had a great time.
Unfortunately though, the food is mediocre at best and the service this particular night was ABHORRENT. We waited just shy of two hours for our meals, they all came out several minutes apart, so we couldn't eat together, and the show we came to see was over before we ate.
I'm truly hoping this is an isolated incident, but sadly my boyfriend will not give it a second chance. I will because I love to bring out of towners here, but maybe just appy's at the bar."
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dance you evening away

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We have been walking around Lake Merritt for many years, always wondering what it might be like to have dinner at the classic Lake Merritt Hotel. We enjoyed our dinner and the group of guests dancing to their swing band. We need to get some dancing instruction for our return visit so we can be dance participants too. We had a fun evening."
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was perfect. Food was good; not the best meal I've ever had, but definitely would go back. Atmosphere is cool: old hotel, beautiful view. Really nice brunch!"
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The terrace Room is a hidden gem. Wonderful space, interesting food & attentive service.
Shaun's, our waitress was wonderful."
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/13/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, service and view!"
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service Was Very Spotty

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Our waiter disappeared on us on a few occasions so that we had to flag down others in order to find out what happened to two of our party of four's drinks. We had a couple other servers jump in during the meal. Spotty service didn't match the venue, nor the quality of the food.
We ordered the shrimp appetizer to share with 4 people, and it only contained 3 shrimp. I didn't blame the restaurant - the shrimp were delicious by the way, but the disappearing waiter absolutely should have given us this information in advance so that we might have placed two orders!
Awkward. We loved the band fronted by the talented Alexa Weber Morales.
"
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Unique location. Great food.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food is always good. Lunch was a bit pricey for corned beef and cabbage. Great view of the lake."
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great evening

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Fantasic dining experience. Food and service are great, and you can't beat the view. Then throw some great live music on top of that- it's a perfect night out."
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Of the 4 dinner entrees avai. last week Tuesday, they ran out of the chicken, at 6pm on a Tuesday night? The pasta primavera was delicious, vegetables perfectly prepared, but serving was very small, with almost none existent thin white noodles. Even after the delicious roasted carrot soup and bread, I left hungry. Am 5'3 and 130lbs. The entree took over 30 min to arrive, near 6:50pm, and the server wanted to take our dishes, still w/ food in it, at 7:25pm. She didn't offer coffee and quickly brought the check at 7:30pm when we refused dessert. She seemed in a hurry to rush us out, which was most strange. We had enjoyed Sunday brunch there two weeks ago and were charmed and enticed by a great waiter to return for dinner since the new chef came from the shuttered Bay Wolf restaurant. We were so looking forward to the lovely view and meal. We believe in supporting local businesses but they must meet us halfway also.
Perhaps we erred in remembering the lovely service at Bay Wolf, but the brunch waiter was so terrific. We understand that the lake merritt hotel is a nice retirement community and serve dinners to the residents, but good service does wonders to grow customers.
"
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 3/17/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/13/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not quite as good as before.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My wife and I having enjoyed going to the Terrace Room for several years. Our most recent visit was last Fri evening. Things were not as a nice. The young maitre'd, if you could call him that, made no eye contact and was pouty and totally unwelcoming. They had a jazz band that was so loud you couldn't have a conversation with someone sitting right next to you. Far from the gentle atmosphere we have been used to. The food was great but all portions were especially small. We left unsatiated. Disappointing evening but these things are fixable if they are willing. Hope so."
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/06/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/06/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Option for Lakeview Dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Had dinner with two friends last Friday night - there was a band playing and couples dancing -
not the place for a quiet meal but fun nevertheless. The food was very good - the new chef was formerly with Bay Wolf. Will be back to try brunch this spring.
The interiors could use some updating but overall a positive experience."
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good place for brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We very much enjoyed the brunch - food and service were excellent."
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Restaurant with view

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The Terrace Room on 2nd floor of Lake Merritt Hotel has a lovely vow of Lake Merritt. Good ambiance. Not noisey. Servers were very attentive and helpful. Cesar salad was good. The croutons were delicious. The hamburger seemed a little over cooked and dry. Fries were good."
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Accomodating

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Restaurant staff were accommodating given that we had a baby with us and preferred not to sit close to the band. They sat us farthest away from the band as we requested."
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The Friday night swing band was great and it was wonderful watching everyone dance. We had 6:30 reservations and hoped to have a nice dinner conversation. The music was incredibly loud and even though we were seated as far away from the music as possible, it was still impossible to carry on a conversation. I'd recommend going somewhere else for dinner and nice conversation, and then heading over to The Terrace Room for a drink."
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/19/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Awful Chicken and Waffles

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The View was Beautiful
The Chicken and Waffles was not good at all It was awful
My sister did enjoy The Jack London
Parking awful
"
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Romantic lake view dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel has a lovely lake view, with great service and delicious, good value food. I understand that the chef, who worked previously at another well-known neighborhood restaurant, is new to the Terrace Room. That explains why I believe that the quality of the cuisine has improved. An additional plus, was the live music combo we witnessed while visiting the Terrace Room. We will definitely be back!"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Waitress increased her tip

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I had a great night out for Valentine's Day until we checked out bank account the next day and saw that our waitress increased the tip that we left by $22. The food food was great but the service was disappointing to say the least. I understand the set menu and when we were ordering our salads we asked if it was possible to have no egg, to which our waitress replied "I'm sorry but there are no substitutions" after we ordered our meal from the set menu she let my fiancé know that they no longer had goat cheese ravioli as listed on the set menu and the substitution was mushroom filled ravioli. We tipped an appropriate amount for our bill only to find out the next day that our card was charged $22 more than what we left including tip. Very disappointing."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Although the food wasn't bad, the service was horrible. It took them almost an hour to take our order. We didn't leave because it was Valentine's Day and did not want to drive somewhere else to wait again. It took another 30 minutes for us to get our cards back after we had to walk out bill and payment over to our server because he came to our table a total of 2 times over the course of 2 and a half hours, as he seemed preoccupied with everyone else except us. I was also celebrating my birthday and had plans after brunch but was completely delayed because of the service."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The menu needs a make over. Poor seasonings.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Thr view is beautiful, great atmosphere, casual yet fancy. Pretty antique furniture."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for The Terrace Room at the Lake Merritt Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/11/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>