Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Garden Court Reviews List

Garden Court

Featuring innovative intercontinental cuisine, the famed Garden Court offers a superb dining experience in a glorious setting. This historic landmark serves breakfast and lunch daily and an enchanting brunch and afternoon tea on weekends. The Garden Court features a stained glass dome, Italian marble columns, Austrian crystal chandeliers and is noted on San Francisco’s Historic Register as Landmark #18. Our Executive Chef invites you to try our signature crab salad lightly dressed in our own Green Goddess Dressing, a true Palace original created in 1923.

See more Garden Court details
386 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(386 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 386 reviews
5 stars
(135)
4 stars
(115)
3 stars
(64)
2 stars
(47)
1 star
(25)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(206)
  • great for brunch(129)
  • romantic(123)
  • great for lunch(105)
  • good for groups(71)
  • fit for foodies(52)
Garden Court Reviews List
Review 1 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Lost elegance

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The palace hotel is San Francisco's equivalent to the Plaza in N.Y.and the
Savoy in London. I cannot believe how they have cheapened this grand garden court, The buffet in the past was elegant with amazing service and food, now its like any other average hotel buffet. The hostess gave us a awkward table crammed in a far corner when we had reservations and plenty tables open, not to mention neither hostess even smiled once the whole time we were there. although our Waitress was wonderful all of us agree, not going back. We stay @ the Mark Hopkins and do club level buffet breakfast which is beautifully done and wished we had stay and just done that. Bring back the sophistication and quality that this grand hotel deserves
"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

High Tea not as good as in the past.....

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"It was disappointing to find the little sandwiches served on a flat glass plate. I beliene that in the past everything was served on beautiful tiered platters. I don't know if I would return again."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dissappointment

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We were SO excited to have brunch at the Garden Court during our stay at the Palace Hotel. Were were extremely disappointed with the service and quality of food. We would never go back."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/20/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely lunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The staff and food was excellent! The birthday dessert was very special. We appreciated the quiet atmosphere. The only negative was that we missed the former elegant ambiance."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/27/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Beautiful but bad service

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We've been in many 5 stars hotel and this is the worse. It's resonable for being pricy because of 5 stars hotel but the food and service is bad. We asked 3 employees for hot water for the tea and waited for almost 30 mins. The lady who took care our table is nice, she's the only one that smiled, she gave my 5 months old baby a crown even we didn't order the princess tea. She was too busy because of taking care many tables."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Beautiful venue but food is just okay and overpriced."
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/18/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Breakfast vs Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I took my parents here when they were in town. It reminds me of The Plaza in New York City. I preferred the breakfast menu from the brunch menu. It was cheaper and have a nice selection. Service was good, not great."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Too expensive for afternoon tea compared to other places like it. I was shocked."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Quiet elegant place for a business lunch.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2004
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Outstanding, although my table had a chunk of the wood ripped out. I informed the waiter."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful place for afternoon tea

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I brought my daughter to tea for her birthday and she loved it! We would go again for another special occasion."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2004
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

so sad

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We were so looking forward to our holiday tea, but it was a real disappointment. We paid $240 for 40 minutes of inattentive service, average sweets and lukewarm tea. The room is so beautiful, but not worth the price of poor tea service."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Belated Christmas present.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We had lunch as a late Christmas present for the lady in my life. The service was courteous and professional. The food was delicious. The ambiance was all it should be. I would definitely recommend it to anyone as a unique and enjoyable San Francisco experience."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

I would not recomend this place it was overpriced

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I was really unhappy with our tea. It was way too expensive and the tea was cold and the sandwiches were poor. We got the kiddie tea but never asked for that for the kids they just did it. The service was terrible, The scones were mini and the desserts were a joke. I not only wouldnt reccomend this I will actively tell people not to go. It was a glorious waste of money."
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Christmas lunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I wanted to booke aa reservation for a Christmas lunch and was unable to get in until after Christmas.. I was treating my daughters for the holiday. The Garden Court was decorated nicely for the holidays. I was surprised to find the restaurant almost empty for a 12:30 reservation. Service was just okay. The food was good however I felt that the lunch was overpriced. It was a fixed priced lunch for either a three corse or two corse meal. Choices were not amazing. The best part of the lunch was dessert. It was nice and my daughters enjoyed our meal but I would not necessarily book this again given the pricing. I don't think it was a good value."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The food is terrible.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The garden court in palace hotel is gorgeous. The lunch we had was a set menu: $60 for two courses and $70 for three courses. The halibut I ordered was so dry and salty it was unbelievablely bad. I cannot believe that for $60 they cannot serve more decent food. Will never ever return for food there ever."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Garden Court for New Years Day Brunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We have been going to the Garden Court for an annual New Year's Eve Day brunch/lunch for about 25 years , beginning with our own toddlers and now the "toddlers" have children of their own. Staff are unfailingly incredibly attentive and kind. The architecture and history are amazing. The food is decent but not amazing, although the presentation is beautiful. A great place to enjoy a respite from the business of the city, soak up old San Francisco, and help kids practice good table manners."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I booked a table at the g

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just what was expected!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Iconic and iconic experience. Fabulous setting. Great Santa Claus."
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Major disappointment

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"This used to be a special restaurant. Now, the food is only moderate and the service was terrible. Menu choices were very limited and very expensive for what it was. I ordered lobster bisque, but had to wait 10 minutes for the spoon. The crab salad was a big plate with whole lettuce leaves on one side, cut tomatoes running a line at a diagonal and a clump of crab on the other side. I expected a nice salad with crab on top."
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We had a very good meal but the price was high!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/30/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The Garden Court has been ruined!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"On 12/23/15, we saw how the Garden Court is devastated from so-called "renovations" made 3 months ago! The plush carpets, chairs, & marble/gold tables in the hallways are replaced with Cost Plus type furniture & an abstract gray/blue carpet that looks like it's been worn for years. The grand hall wall display cases are gone, which used to house the Palace's history of photos & artifacts! A horrible "new" abstract carpet is now in the Garden Court, there are no longer potted palms & gorgeous floral arrangements, & the room is now divided by tall walls to create an Internet Cafe lounge! You can't see the Garden Court, as the walls now block the room. It now looks like a Denny's restaurant with no tablecloths & cheap dented tables!"
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very disappointing Christmas Eve

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"For over 10 years, my family and I have come to the Garden Court for Christmas Eve lunch. On this day, service is generally slow, but this year was a horrible experience. We will never go back. They had almost no decorations- they stopped the holiday carolers. The menu was incredibly limited and lacked options. The food quality was also very low- fish was over cooked- soup arrived cold- salads were drenched in dressing- veggies were either over cooked or half cooked. Additionally, it took 45 minutes for the food to come from when the starters had been completed. We asked for a drink/ beer/ wine menu over 3 times and then just gave up (the servers also did not know what the bar could make). Also, the waiters and manager just did not seem to care that the experience was not a positive one. In general, this used to be a beautiful family tradition for us. This year it was a waste of time and money- we will not be returning."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Garden Court
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service makes a difference

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Having been a waitress at one time, I know what it takes to provide great service. Our server was good until it came to serving the meal. Our side dishes never appeared during our meal. I saw her deliver side dishes to a table of 10 who had been seated and had their orders taken after our table of four. When she was told we never received outs she said they were coming, I told her we had finished and were ready for the 'self serve' desserts. We would have to take them to go ultimately. When I requested a reduction of the set price, she refused and said we had our sides as requested "to go". Not the kind if service or consideration I would expect from the Garden Court.
I will probably go to the brunch at the Ritz Carlton next time."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>