Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Refinery Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Refinery

The Refinery is Vancouver’s best way to experience a new world eatery with an old world feel. The room designed with the environment in mind has used sustainable materials, led lighting and energy efficient equipment.

A food primary restaurant, this cocktail and wine bar with a 75-seat capacity will house Granville Streets only fresh, market-style eatery. Chef Kirk Morrison takes pride in introducing elements of charcuterie, cheese culture, cured seafood, fresh breads, antipasti and all things Market fresh. Remaining a step ahead of the competition through exemplary service, great value and the creation of a unique high quality dishes paired with amazing wines and beers from BC and around the world.

A traditional, yet unique, menu and atmosphere will create a sense of 'belonging' for locals and tourists alike. Giving people the sense gathering in a small village in Europe, while being in their own backyard.

~The Refined Ones
47 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(47 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(13)
  • fit for foodies(11)
  • neighborhood gem(8)
  • romantic(8)
  • vibrant bar scene(7)
  • special occasion(6)
The Refinery Reviews List
Review 1 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2012
 2010
Dined on 11/02/2012
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Overall decent for first timer"
Dined on 11/02/2012
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 24/05/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 24/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 13/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 09/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 09/05/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 09/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tapas and drinks were great

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"would recommend to anyone looking for multiple Tapas style choice, we had eight of them. Great cocktails, using Fresh squeezed juices
we will be back
"
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/12/2014
 2012
Dined on 27/12/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 27/12/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/09/2014
 2012
Dined on 11/09/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/09/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for the dine out menu.
Everything was good except for the proportions.
"
Dined on 25/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

trendy decorated however warn and cozy atmosphere

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Perfect for group gathering!
the dine out menu is tasty with decent price of $18. It highlights the muscle of the chef!
portion is enough. After finish the dessert, it make you feel just full. However,I still added an appetizer as a La cart. Awesome and I believe it will be perfect to pair up with a special drink .
Warm service"
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice place to mingle with friends

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Friendly service. Chic decor.
Good food. Creative cocktails.
Enjoyed a nice meal with friends.
"
Dined on 29/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

great ambiance mediocre food and service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 29/01/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The design of the restaurant is very nice. Cool devour and nice furniture. It is located on the second floor so there's a bit of a view and its nice and separated from the bustle of the street. Location is easy to get to.
The food was uninspiring. The pork belly which is typically juicy and flavourful was overcooked and bland. Both appetizers weren't very good either. None of the food was inedible, but it wasn't particularly good. The plating was nice. The desserts were great and the best part of the meal. The drinks were good and the selection was admirable.
Not a place I would probably go to dinner again, though I might go to hang out at the bar."
Dined on 29/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food! Hidden Gem

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've been to Refinery several years ago for an alcohol and food pairing event. Dine out 2015 was the first time I went there for food on the actual menu. My gf and I enjoyed every bite from start to finish. I would go there ago for a regular dinner or to try another alcohol pairing event"
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dine Out 2015 - Awesome Lemon Goat Cheese Cake

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2012
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went here for Dine Out 2015. Service from the host and waitress were excellent, and the environment was warm and inviting. Had a sparkling cocktail that was well-muddled and had layers of flavour.
Starter - Octopus Carpaccio: A little plain, could have used a sauce or a touch of citrus, and had small, very bitter pieces of some vegetable that everyone at our table decided to pick out of the dish. The Octopus was sliced thin and fresh, but the dish was somewhat bland. The Main was Pork belly, and though it was cooked expertly, it needed more of the cherry syrup/sauce to contrast the savoury of the pork. Portions were small, which makes sense because it's a tapas-style resturant, but still left the restaurant hungry.
Biggest win of the night - the lemon goat cheese cake. I would go back for this one dish if they ever have it again. I love tart desserts, and this was a perfect balance of citrus/sour and sweet. Who knew a goat cheese cake would be SO delicious.
I probably would not go again unless we're in the area and feel like having a stellar cocktail, but it would very much appeal to people who live off Granville, or like a casual bar for the evening that is beautiful, but doesn't take itself too seriously."
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Ideal dine out place.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 28/01/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed the night thoroughly. Good food, with better presentation.
Very good service along with a great ambiance.
"
Dined on 28/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was spotty at times, soup came with bacon the first time when I requested without then Luke warm the second time I got it. Lamb was good but mostly bone.. Lemon cheesecake was good. Cute little place I like the decor a lot. Mostly banquettes which is my favorite. Good overall experience, I'd go back"
Dined on 28/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good location, okay food.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Its dine-out menu so maybe the regular time food are better?
Having said that,
The service was good. The waiter was fairly attentive to all the tables without being too imposing The food took awhile to come and mine pork belly was tough and burnt. Should have asked for another one but I didn't really want to let other in the group wait. The cocktail was interesting. We had the prince of yang and i really dig the salt on the lip of the cup but otherwise felt the drink was a little too herby and sweet for my liking."
Dined on 21/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service and ambience were nice but I was disappointed with the food. Portions were small, likely due to Dine Out. The pork belly and lamb were on the tough side. The lemon cheesecake did not actually have any lemon in there other than the curd on top and the chocolate mousse was more like whipped cream with chocolate flakes in it. I did like the raspberry coulis on the bottom of the mousse though. Perhaps the food quality is better when it is not during Dine Out."
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Tiny portions

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2006
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2006
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went for Dine Out 2015... Surprised by the tiny portion sizes. They were half the size of a 'tapa'/appetizer portion. My main course was 3 one-inch slices of pork belly. Delicious but way too small. My friend got the cheesecake and it was less than a quarter the size of a typical slice of cake. Disappointing. Should have increased the price of the menu if they couldn't create a decent dinner menu for that price. We shouldn't be hungry after 3 courses!"
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Small portions and unremarkable flavours

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went here for dine out with some girl friends. Service was good as were the drinks but that's where it ended. The portions were extremely small (like 2, 1inch squares of cheesecake). If the food had been very rich and flavourful I would be fine with small portions, however I was extremly disappointed. Oh well, won't be going back."
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent service and great drink menu.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I reserved a table for two about one month ahead for my Vancouver trip. As soon as we arrived and I they welcomed me by name and continued to use my name for the rest of the evening. The owner came over to great us and gave us a great corner table away from a large party that was going on. The food that we tried of their tapas menu was superb. Large portions as well compared to what we're used to in Toronto. The cocktail menu was large and the drinks we had were great. The music (DJ) played some great old school beats and the usual top charts stuff as well. It may have just been for the party.
The only negative I would say is that their wasn't a clear path to the washroom from the dinning room past people dancing. Not really a big deal.
I will be going back again my next time in Vancouver."
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 09/01/2015
 2011
Dined on 09/01/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"When your evening is about the people, the mood and the discussion, as much as it is about the food, tapas is a great option. The excellent food gets woven into the experience. Three of us spent a couple of hours on a Friday evening catching up and enjoying a casual meal (and some nice wine). I'll be coming back."
Dined on 09/01/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Refinery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent service, great food, fair price

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was excellent, very friendly staff. Food was delicious and the prices were very reasonable. I would definitely go there again."
Dined on 02/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Refinery
Based on the average of (25) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
15 out of 18 recommend this product
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic